PDA

View Full Version : Does 1280x768 also have black bars?


223thatsme
04-13-2010, 07:00 PM
Hi.

Can someone please let me know if 1280x768 resolution also has the black bars on right and left side of the screen?

I know 1280x720 has black bars and 1280x800 doesn't...

... but what about 1280x768?

Hmmmm... really would like to know as that is my monitor's native resolution.

Much appreciated!

loreangelicus
04-13-2010, 08:27 PM
Are you sure you are looking for info on resolution 1280x768 and not 1365x768 (16:9 aspect ratio) or 1024x768 (4:3 aspect ratio)? Below are the resolutions and related aspect ratios that I know of:


List of 4:3 Monitor Resolutions
Resolution - Aspect ratio
640x480-----4:3
800x600-----4:3
1024x768-----4:3
1152x864-----4:3
1280x960-----4:3
1400x1050-----4:3
1600x1200-----4:3
2048x1536-----4:3
3200x2400-----4:3
4000x3000-----4:3
6400x4800-----4:3

List of 16:9 Widescreen Resolutions
Resolution - Aspect ratio
852x480-----16:9
1280x720-----16:9
1365x768-----16:9
1600x900-----16:9
1920x1080-----16:9

List of 16:10 Widescreen Resolutions
Resolution - Aspect ratio
1440x900-----16:10
1680x1050-----16:10
1920x1200-----16:10
2560x1600-----16:10
3840x2400-----16:10
7680x4800-----16:10


We can't really check for you if there are black bars or not since it really depends on your display, and we may have different displays.

Check your display's aspect ratio (4:3, 16:9, 16:10) and max resolution settings, then cross-check the appropriate resolution settings for it. If you use a resolution setting that does not match your aspect ratio, then you will definitely get black bars on your display's borders.

223thatsme
04-13-2010, 09:24 PM
Thanks for your reply.

Actually I'm not so worried about the black bars, but am worried about this effect...

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b290/ZakF/kb2009-01-2901-23-46-62.jpg

That floating green bars in black space might be just weird enough to be distracting. I really hope that it will be corrected in a patch.

loreangelicus
04-13-2010, 11:25 PM
Hmmm... I'm guessing you have chosen 1024x768 (4:3 aspect ratio) in the video options in KBAP, and that you have a 16:9 or 16:10 widescreen display.

You usually get these display errors on the side borders when you choose the 4:3 non-widescreen resolution while using a display that is widescreen. Try choosing in KBAP video options a 16:9 or 16:10 resolution (see original list I posted).

Daliz
04-20-2010, 10:54 AM
I get black bars with every 16:9 resolution.

kal2
06-11-2011, 05:44 PM
to remove the black bars on any game
i only know how to fix it only for ATI cards, Nvidia might have the same option
anyway
open ATI CCC
Go to---> my built in displays--->proprieties (built in display)---> and click on full screen

i hope it fixes it :)

oracleman
09-07-2011, 02:33 PM
Any new with this issue?

I've got ati hd5650. Tried this M$ link with no luck! http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_other-gaming/windows-7-with-ati-black-bars-in-games-get-rid-of/2ff8212d-8656-4ced-9da1-21deed2c6c2a

Anybody knows if is planned a patch to solve this issue?

Thanks in advamce