PDA

View Full Version : arcade mode thoughts


LaRock O no Lie
09-06-2009, 04:42 AM
For one... I HATE arcade mode, but I have to play it due to not having my Hotas yet...

when attacking ground targets with rockets ( wich I must stress are NOT GUIDED in real life !!!!! ) actaully will fly like sidewinders... lol... I did an attack run on the tutorial I think and had a truck targeted... fired all the rockets but they didn't hit due to them veering off course at the last moment... or not even firing in a realist trajectory.... i flew past and accidently hit the fire button for rockets again, and they flew away from my plane and did a 180 in mid air and flew back past my canopy towards the target... WTF!!!!

also on arcade while dropping bombs is totally not realistic... ive never heard of a bomber dropping bombs perpendicular to the ground.... they drop parallel to the ground in every plan I have ever known that flew... You can also drop bombs and actually have them release from above your wings if you are diving while releasing the load. ( which I believe is totally and physically impossible in real life. )

as for bombers... the bomb site is really annoying... why no bombsite? anyone unlock the american bomber... b-17? or whatever it was, does it have the norton bombsite?

also... in sim mode on the cockpit view while dropping bombs how does that work??? I am sure Ill find out once I get my ace edge...

anyone do the mission where you bomb the destroyer on realistic or sim? In arcade it took 6 direct bomb hits to sink the destroyer... and about 32 or more to get the battleship in that same group... and that was just what I dropped on it.. not what my 3 other planes in my squad dropped... it was fun though, since the ships shot me down 4 times with their flak cannons....

also on the gunner view on any plane with gunner spots sucks... They need another view option... along with the regular inverted axis options... I say this because I like to have inverted gunner controls, but can't because its tied to the look around axis option in options.... small gripe, but it stinks because I need to pause and toggle the invert on and off if I need to gun. ( this might be exaggerated due to the fact that I have to press in the stick to look around in flight views.

Soviet Ace
09-06-2009, 04:48 AM
You can make it so the HUD is put to a minimal or non-existent on both Arcade and Realistic. I haven't played Arcade, but mostly Realistic and Simulator.

LaRock O no Lie
09-06-2009, 05:03 AM
The hud is what?

I guess I'll have to test it out... because from what i think it is its just the airspeed and altitude that shows up on the top left... and possibly the radar? really not sure.. im just doing arcade mode till I get my flightstick. Then watchout all you flyer online... cause the great Larock O no Lie is gonna eat your bulltes and die fast for a while until I relearn how to fly after using the stupid controller layouts that are defaulted and unchangable in this game! :-)

Soviet... how do you do bombing runs on sim? do you use cockpit or the horribly stupid virtual cockpit???? sorry, but in sim mode you should never be able to use that view!!! can you say advantage in FOV????

does the bombing reticule show on sim in the horribly cheesy virtual view?

Soviet Ace
09-06-2009, 05:08 AM
The HUD= The Map, Cheap gun arching position ie where to shoot your guns at. Your planes damage resignator (Where it shows what's seriously damaged etc.) and your Speed, Altitude etc. If you move the HUD down to minimal, it takes away the clutter off the screen, and you can be immersed into the game better. I have the HUD down to "none" on Realistic, as I don't like being told where to aim my guns when deflection shooting :D Plus, when ever I tried aiming where the game said, it was usually wrong and wasted the ammo.

EDIT: I just use the gunsight, since I'm always flying in cockpit. Except for the German planes at the moment.

LaRock O no Lie
09-06-2009, 05:16 AM
I don't get a deflection angle cursor in anything other then arcade mode... ( no care there for me, as I usually can do deflection on the fly in my head. and in arcade mode the deflection cursor is off a little all the time. like you said If I had limited ammo ifd waste it all on the first kill if i followed the deflection aide...) as for the map... I am sure its not there on sim so no biggie... The biggest gripe I have is with the cockpits. and how you look around with the various controllers, and no options to customize the controls... ( besides nop co-op modes )

really how awesome would this game be if you could do 16 player co-op missions.... online with your friends. i guess if you have enough friends playing you could break up into 2 parties and fly against each other online... but I am sure that will be hard to setup.

Soviet Ace
09-06-2009, 05:59 AM
Nope, Sim does not have the deflection cursor or anything that could give you some assistance. All you have, is your trim setting, and flap settings. You can't lock onto enemies, and follow them around like in Arcade or Realistic. You actually have to search around for them, keeping your head on a swivel, like always. Also, the planes are I wouldn't say a lot harder, but they're more difficult to control with out a flight stick. On the game pad (controller) you'll be fighting the stick a lot to keep the plane level etc. Also, it's a lot easier to go into a stall, since it's a lot easier to burn off your airspeed, and such.

LaRock O no Lie
09-06-2009, 06:15 AM
Nope, Sim does not have the deflection cursor or anything that could give you some assistance. All you have, is your trim setting, and flap settings. You can't lock onto enemies, and follow them around like in Arcade or Realistic. You actually have to search around for them, keeping your head on a swivel, like always. Also, the planes are I wouldn't say a lot harder, but they're more difficult to control with out a flight stick. On the game pad (controller) you'll be fighting the stick a lot to keep the plane level etc. Also, it's a lot easier to go into a stall, since it's a lot easier to burn off your airspeed, and such.

exactly....

but I must add, tht I would be able to control a plane in sim with the controller if I could swap the darned sticks functions.... but thats because I am right handed... and I am used to my left hand controlling the throttle and rudder... while my right controls flight... seriously this is the BIGGEST F-UP of the programmers of this game... ( not being able to swap sticks functions )


i Have played sim with the controller, but its impossible for me due to the look feature not being a toggle and the control sticks not able to swap... so once I get my ace edge I will be all set. I am sure I can land in sim even without a brake function on the hotas... since in flight sim x I landed a 747-jumbo onto a tazmanian runway that was not even rated for a jet... but thats cause I did the "yaw slide"???? where you yaw using rudder, kinda like your in a heavy crosswind. you point the nose into the wind, and use your wingtip to aim at the runway until right before touchdown.

this game would rock if I coulda used my PC flightstick with it on 360... i'd even buy the saitek rudder pedals ( whick I want for my pc anyway )

skullblits
09-06-2009, 06:35 AM
Im going to go out on a limb here and say arcade on the online game is Harder than realistic.

I shot sum newbie a million times and he would not die, i kill plenty on realistic

LaRock O no Lie
09-06-2009, 06:46 AM
I will have to believe you, since I will not play onlie with a controller... I can barely play offline with the controls in the game.

I would of guessed that online in arcade mode would be like in single player... where 1 bullet from my cannon instantly blows up a heavy bomber... :-)

maybe I should just go into online arcade mode and see how it plays... but id rather not cause then someone would be like LaRock O no LIe sucks at flying yadda yadda... and my only defense would be that I have man thumbs that can't do precise movements due to physical limitations of my brain and how I can't controll a plane using my left hand's thumb. :-)

rufuzmitchell
09-06-2009, 07:03 PM
For everyone having trouble using the regular pad. there is a second wireless controller set up.It will not show you the button lay out,but i found this on the net about these controls:


''there is a second layout for the wireless controller. (Strangely it doesn't give you a button layout but it's there). It switches the rudder control to L1 & R1 and the throttle to L2 & R2 and lets you use the right analog stick as a free look control. Since I don't have a flight stick I'm using this control method because I HAVE to have the throttle & rudder on separate controls. Having them both mapped to a single analog stick drives me nuts...''


''These are some of the button differences as far as I can tell:

Arcade:
Triangle: Bombs
Square: Rockets
Circle: Machine guns
X: Padlock view to target
L3: Change target (Hold to select mission target or something like that)

Simulator mode:
L3 - Flaps (combat/raised)
X - Set Trim

I think this control setup eliminates the quick map button so you have to press start to see the map.''


hope this helps and many thanks to JimmyCosmos on gamefaqs!;)