Official 1C Company forum

Official 1C Company forum (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/index.php)
-   IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/forumdisplay.php?f=189)
-   -   Building Pop Up (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=19214)

Tree_UK 03-15-2011 05:20 PM

Building Pop Up
 
Hi Oleg, in some recent video we have seen footage of an aircraft flying over a city, unfortunately the buildings were suffering from the old 'building pop up' issue that Il2 also complained of. Is this because we saw a very early beta copy in use or is the Cliffs Of Dover game engine already showing its age?

trumps 03-15-2011 05:26 PM

Tree, the only thing showing it's age is you! Blah, Blah, Blah, your a miserable old git, SHOVE OFF!

Craig

Sven 03-15-2011 05:35 PM

It's just a question Craig, but unfortunatly Tree put in a way which makes it almost look like he doesn't even want an official reply, only to start up an argument.

Quote:

already showing its age?

trumps 03-15-2011 05:42 PM

Tree doing what Tree does, butter wouldn't melt in that trolls mouth if you believed him ;)

Tree_UK 03-15-2011 05:43 PM

I would prefer someone who knows what they talking about to answer.

Oldschool61 03-15-2011 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trumps (Post 234651)
Tree doing what Tree does, butter wouldn't melt in that trolls mouth if you believed him ;)

Isnt your post "trolling" ??

*Buzzsaw* 03-15-2011 05:51 PM

Salute

It gets old, this continual whining.

Guess what, the game is a simulation, which is scaled to use computers of different power, with their game settings at various levels of detail. With less powerful computers, the requirement is to set distance draw nearer, just like every other sim out there. Unlike FPS's which have artificial 'fog' laid in to obscure landscape at as little as 300 meters distance, this is a flight sim, and requires the distance at which we can see to be extended WAY out, to 50 km or even further. To expect a home computer to be able to draw in detail, every single object at 50 km distance is ridiculous. So there will be some degree of 'popup' even in the most powerful computer. With computers of lesser power, the distance at which we see 'popup' occurring decreases, and it becomes more obvious, since the distance models are larger. The promotional videos we are seeing are from computers of average power.

If you don't want 'popup', then get the most powerful computer you can find. If you don't want to spend the money, then accept the limitations of your computer.

Get your head around that, and get it out of where its stuck, and you'll enjoy this game more.

The good news is, as computers catch up with what this game engine is capable of, 'popup' will become less and less noticeable.

kimosabi 03-15-2011 06:01 PM

If I can take an uneducated guess(Tree, you're a drummer so you're not in a position to take a swing at me for that), I suppose that pop ups will be in CoD as well. Too many damn objects to render at the same time for a regular everyday PC to run it without them. Monster rigs FTW!

:)

hashi 03-15-2011 06:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tree_UK (Post 234642)
Hi Oleg, in some recent video we have seen footage of an aircraft flying over a city, unfortunately the buildings were suffering from the old 'building pop up' issue that Il2 also complained of. Is this because we saw a very early beta copy in use or is the Cliffs Of Dover game engine already showing its age?

You seem a fan of implication by question. Perhaps you need to retake logic 101 and learn how to phrase questions that are constructive and not objectionable.
Is it at all possible that maybe...just maybe, a question consisting of "why did the the buildings suffer from the old 'building pop up' issue that Il2 suffered from" might ilicit a response from the devs?
I think your chances of getting an answer are infinitely higher if you don't seem to be trying your very best to iritate people. Unless of course you don't want an answer, and your intention is entirely to iritate people.

fruitbat 03-15-2011 06:13 PM

Its just a dumb question, typical of tree, and that anyone with half a brain should know the answer to.

clue, not everyone's computer is the same.

clue, you don't write software, only for the highest spec computer around.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.