Official 1C Company forum

Official 1C Company forum (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/index.php)
-   Technical threads (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/forumdisplay.php?f=191)
-   -   Windows® 8 Cliffs of Dover Fix (is here). (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=36078)

sYk0 11-19-2012 12:47 PM

Windows® 8 Cliffs of Dover Fix (Version 0.0.0.2).
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hi everyone,

Edit (18/Mar/2015):
Quote:

Source Code:
For anyone (Delphi developers?) that's interested, I have made the source code on BitBucket public.
https://bitbucket.org/wdcossey/cloder
Edit (11/Mar/2013):
Vesion: 0.0.0.2
Quote:

Change Log:
  1. Additional parameters specified to "CloDer.exe" will be passed onto "Launcher.exe".
  2. Minor enhancements to "CloDer.exe" & "CloDer.dll".
  3. I have left "CloDer.exe" & "CloDer.dll" unpacked (previously I used UPX), this should tone down (+-50%) the false positives from "heuristically challenged" anti-virus products.

*Update: Removed useless DropBox links.
Edit (09/Mar/2013):
Added MEGA download Link.
Edit (20/Nov/2012):
Quote:

Please find the download link(s) for the Windows® 8 fix at the bottom of this post (this is where you'll find any future updates, if any).
If you have any queries you are more than welcome to PM me.
Original Post (19/Nov/2012):
Quote:

This is my first post on these forums so I'd like to say hi to everyone. :lol:

It's worth nothing that I don't play "IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover" (don't judge me, it's just not my type of game).

Anyway, my friend approached me with a issue at the end of last week regarding "Cliffs of Dover", that it was not playable under Windows® 8 so I said to him I'd have a look at it for him (I finally got around to it yesterday evening).

Good news, I have managed to get it working under Windows® 8.
When I say working I mean to the point where the game says "Steam must be running to play Il-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover.", this is a lot better than crashing silently to the Desktop ;) (since I don't actually own the game I will not proceed beyond this point).

I'm just waiting on my friend to get home this evening (GMT+2) to test that the game does in fact run correctly, after he confirms this I'll release the tool to the masses.

Watch this space, hopefully you'll be back up in the sky in a few short hours. :cool:
Download Link(s):
v0.0.0.2:
7-Zip Archive(s):
  1. MediaFire
  2. MEGA
MD5: c78d44ed56565e1840a718fc04119993
Zip Archive(s):
  1. MediaFire
  2. MEGA
MD5: 694d183d07d8f57122ed202deadb4af6
v0.0.0.1:
7-Zip Archive(s):
  1. MediaFire
  2. MEGA
MD5: 3e470eed2313fa1bec31b592cca5cf23
Quote:

For more information regarding this fix please read the enclosed readme ("CloDer_Readme.txt").
Enjoy,
sYk0.

jojimbo 11-19-2012 02:10 PM

Would make alot of people happy sYk0, I was getting to like my Win7 partition :(

TonyD 11-19-2012 06:13 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, it certainly works OK. Performance is slightly better than Win7, but I think that this would only be the case with BullDozer - THG found no difference using a Core i7.

I've only done some limited testing to confirm it was working before sYk0 released it - a couple of BlackDeath runs and a free flight over Dover. Subjectively it seems a little smoother, with less variation in frame rates (similar to my experience with RoF), but this is probably due to the task scheduler doing a better job than my (patched) version of Win7.

The core allocation appears very different to what I've seen in Win7, which I guess is to be expected. The attached screenie is after completing a run in BlackDeath (reduced for ease of viewing)

ATAG_Colander 11-19-2012 06:29 PM

Just to clarify.
This seems to be a bug from the "software protection" program they used and not a CLOD bug.

broken pixel 11-19-2012 07:06 PM

Awesome work Sky0 & many thanks :-P. Someone should sticky this forum topic in the technical thread.

sYk0 11-19-2012 07:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATAG_Colander (Post 482451)
Just to clarify.
This seems to be a bug from the "software protection" program they used and not a CLOD bug.

You are correct, it is a bug with the ".NET Reactor" (or which ever .NET obfuscator is being used) protection (on "maddox.dll"), that doesn't entirely mean it's not a CLOD bug.

The "software protection" bug affects how the application runs ( under Windows® 8 ), therefore it's a bug within the application (be it indirectly).

satchenko 11-19-2012 09:48 PM

Any performance gain with CLOD running in Windows 8?

submarinex1 11-19-2012 10:27 PM

the guy who found the fix for this should be given a free game. nothing from 1c over issue someones fixed who don't even work for them.

roadczar 11-19-2012 10:42 PM

It works! Good job!

broken pixel 11-20-2012 01:26 AM

I'm sure it took no time for him to figure out a fix yet 1C devs would of never even tried to find a solition.

Maybe sky0 could optimize CLOD since 1C has indeed stopped support.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.