1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Gameplay questions threads

Gameplay questions threads Everything about playing CoD (missions, tactics, how to... and etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81  
Old 03-10-2012, 08:59 PM
Killerwhale Killerwhale is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

I believe this is stronger than a wind, it happens in all aircrafts. I even have the wind option off

Last edited by Killerwhale; 03-10-2012 at 09:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 03-11-2012, 04:58 PM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,785
Default

Maybe the airfield is built on a slope.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 03-11-2012, 05:17 PM
Killerwhale Killerwhale is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Hi ATAG_Dutch, thanks for your responses. I was able to fix it by turning off everything in the "atmospheric and handling section". it seems Torch and Gyro effect is the problem, any idea why it might be?
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:02 PM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,785
Default

The Blenheim needs full left rudder and some left rudder trim to track straight until the tail comes up in any mission, whereupon you need to progressively reduce the left rudder as speed increases. Applying power gradually rather than suddenly, and dabbing the brake with full left rudder applied, also helps control the torque.

The reason for this is that the Blenheim's engines both spin in the same direction, which produces a lot of torque reaction, pressing the starboard undercarriage wheel into the ground and hence forcing the aircraft to the right until airspeed is reached. Even then, it still needs quite a bit of left rudder trim in the air in order to keep the 'slip indicator' needle centralised.

The effect of this torque reaction is exaggerated in the stock 'Cross Country Quick Mission' due to the presence of the wind and full fuel load.

If you're able to join the ATAG server online, selecting 50% fuel load or less and following the video guide, you should be fine even with all realism settings on (which is fixed by the server). Also if you download and install Teamspeak 3, there are a lot of the guys flying Blenheims who'd be happy to give you some one to one advice and guidance.

Hope you get chance to give this a try.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:38 PM
bw_wolverine's Avatar
bw_wolverine bw_wolverine is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 622
Default

Did my first ever Blenheim flight last night with Torian and Hooves helping me sort out the procedures. Happy to say that between Torian and I we took out the panzers in one run apiece.

I just might hop back in that old bird again. It was good fun. Until we got shot down by a 109, that is.

Please, if you see a Blenheim...escort it!
__________________
Pilot #1 (9:40 hours flying time, 3/0/1 Fighters, 7/2/0 Bombers). RIP

No.401 Squadron Forum


Using ReconNZ's Pilot Log Book

Last edited by bw_wolverine; 03-12-2012 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:04 PM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bw_wolverine View Post
Did my first ever Blenheim flight last night with Torian and Hooves helping me sort out the procedures.
Great! Sorry I had to leave before you got it off the ground, but it was 4.20am here!

Welcome to our lttle club!
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 03-13-2012, 11:02 PM
Killerwhale Killerwhale is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Hey ATG, in your videos, how are you able to ZOOM in so effectively, what are your zoom keys? I can hardly zoom. is it also possible to put your plane on autopilot, staying on course. a flight from England to cities in France can take long, how do you put it on autopilot.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 03-14-2012, 12:47 PM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,785
Default

Killer, I have the three FOV settings mapped to a hat switch on my G940 Joystick, but these are available by default using 'End/Page Down/Delete' keys (I think), but look in your 'views' menu to change them if you wish.

The Blenheim doesn't have an autopilot.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:08 PM
Killerwhale Killerwhale is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Will you sell that joystick to me
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 03-15-2012, 12:44 AM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,785
Default

Ermmm....no.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.