1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:01 PM
furbs furbs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,041
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip.ed View Post
This is going to get lost in this thread mate. I'd suggest making a new topic (unless I've completely missed it).

I did, but they deleted it.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:07 PM
JG52Krupi JG52Krupi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by furbs View Post
I did, but they deleted it.
No its in the bug thread mate.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:08 PM
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip.ed View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE-OF-ACES View Post
On that note, for those who don't have dedicated game PC, as in they have alot of 'other' software installed for work or what ever, and are 'not' that good at manually configuring their PC for game play.. Those types should consider looking at IOBit's Game Booster. It can unloaded alot of un-necessary programs and generally optimse your PC prior to launching the game.
This is going to get lost in this thread mate. I'd suggest making a new topic (unless I've completely missed it).
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip.ed View Post
This is going to get lost in this thread mate. I'd suggest making a new topic (unless I've completely missed it).
Quote:
Originally Posted by furbs View Post
I did, but they deleted it.
Ah.. were you talking to be Phil or furbs?

Because based on the previous page it looked like you quoted me, but I see that furbs responded instead
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:11 PM
SEE SEE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,678
Default

My BIOS doesn't feature an option to enable/disable Hyperthreading only 'Speedstep' which seems to be for the OS to determine CPU speed - I disabled it, not sure if it will make any difference though.

Nvidea CP has a 'Threaded Optimisation' parameter - is this similar to Hyperthreading or entirely different?
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:22 PM
Bokononist Bokononist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SEE View Post
My BIOS doesn't feature an option to enable/disable Hyperthreading only 'Speedstep' which seems to be for the OS to determine CPU speed - I disabled it, not sure if it will make any difference though.

Nvidea CP has a 'Threaded Optimisation' parameter - is this similar to Hyperthreading or entirely different?
I don't know what threaded optimisation is, but the disable hyperthreading option is only relevent if you have an i7 processor. It essentially creates 4 'virtual' cores to enable more threads to be executed simultaniously. It has benefits in certain software, video encoding and that sort of thing, but rarely has any benefit in games, and obviously in this case(CloD) it actually has a detrimental effect.
Boko.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:31 PM
SEE SEE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokononist View Post
I don't know what threaded optimisation is, but the disable hyperthreading option is only relevent if you have an i7 processor. It essentially creates 4 'virtual' cores to enable more threads to be executed simultaniously. It has benefits in certain software, video encoding and that sort of thing, but rarely has any benefit in games, and obviously in this case(CloD) it actually has a detrimental effect.
Boko.
Thanks, I just googled my Dual Core CPU and it doesn't have HT - the mobo supports HT and Quad Cores so at least I know to disable it if I upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 05-13-2012, 08:02 PM
d.burnette d.burnette is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokononist View Post
but rarely has any benefit in games, and obviously in this case(CloD) it actually has a detrimental effect.
Boko.
Also disabling hyperthreading will result in cooler cpu core temps as well.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X58 FTW3 MB| I7 920 cpu @ 4 ghz|6gb Corsair 1600 MHZ DDR3 ram|EVGA GTX 560 Ti 2gb |Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality | TM Warthog HOTAS | Saitek Combat Pedals | Track IR5 | Windows 7 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 05-13-2012, 08:22 PM
JG52Uther's Avatar
JG52Uther JG52Uther is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG52Krupi View Post
No its in the bug thread mate.
Correct. Bugs go in the bug thread.
__________________
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu               /image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2975&             dateline=1336686751


Q6600 @ 2.4 / 4 GB ddr2 / GTX285 1 gb gfx / W7 64
Whiners to fanboys in one move, who'd a thought it!
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 05-13-2012, 10:00 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ataros View Post
It is in the game menu. Network settings screen.
Ahh - after unchecking that option I suddenly got this line in my conf.ini under [NET]:

SkinDownload=0

Rather annoying that only gets into the conf.ini after changing it so you don't see it if its on the default setting (=1)...

Thanks!
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 05-13-2012, 11:24 PM
philip.ed philip.ed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE-OF-ACES View Post



Ah.. were you talking to be (ME?) Phil or furbs?

Because based on the previous page it looked like you quoted me, but I see that furbs responded instead
I meant you Aces. But I think Furbs responded because he made the topic I was suggesting towards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.