1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:01 PM
furbs's Avatar
furbs furbs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip.ed View Post
This is going to get lost in this thread mate. I'd suggest making a new topic (unless I've completely missed it).

I did, but they deleted it.
__________________
Furbs, Tree and Falstaff...The COD killers...
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:07 PM
JG52Krupi's Avatar
JG52Krupi JG52Krupi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by furbs View Post
I did, but they deleted it.
No its in the bug thread mate.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
Its a glass half full/half empty scenario, we all know the problems, we all know what needs to be fixed it just some people focus on the water they have and some focus on the water that isnt there....
Gigabyte X58A-UD5 | Intel i7 930 | Corsair H70 | ATI 5970 | 6GB Kingston DDR3 | Intel 160GB G2 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit |
MONITOR: Acer S243HL.
CASE: Thermaltake LEVEL 10.
INPUTS: KG13 Warthog, Saitek Pedals, Track IR 4.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:08 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip.ed View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE-OF-ACES View Post
On that note, for those who don't have dedicated game PC, as in they have alot of 'other' software installed for work or what ever, and are 'not' that good at manually configuring their PC for game play.. Those types should consider looking at IOBit's Game Booster. It can unloaded alot of un-necessary programs and generally optimse your PC prior to launching the game.
This is going to get lost in this thread mate. I'd suggest making a new topic (unless I've completely missed it).
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip.ed View Post
This is going to get lost in this thread mate. I'd suggest making a new topic (unless I've completely missed it).
Quote:
Originally Posted by furbs View Post
I did, but they deleted it.
Ah.. were you talking to be Phil or furbs?

Because based on the previous page it looked like you quoted me, but I see that furbs responded instead
__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:11 PM
SEE SEE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,678
Default

My BIOS doesn't feature an option to enable/disable Hyperthreading only 'Speedstep' which seems to be for the OS to determine CPU speed - I disabled it, not sure if it will make any difference though.

Nvidea CP has a 'Threaded Optimisation' parameter - is this similar to Hyperthreading or entirely different?
__________________
MP ATAG_EvangelusE

AMD A8 5600K Quad Core 3.6 Ghz - Win 7 64 - 8Gb Ram - GTX660ti 2Gb VRAM - FreeTrack - X52 - Asus 23' Monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:22 PM
Bokononist Bokononist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SEE View Post
My BIOS doesn't feature an option to enable/disable Hyperthreading only 'Speedstep' which seems to be for the OS to determine CPU speed - I disabled it, not sure if it will make any difference though.

Nvidea CP has a 'Threaded Optimisation' parameter - is this similar to Hyperthreading or entirely different?
I don't know what threaded optimisation is, but the disable hyperthreading option is only relevent if you have an i7 processor. It essentially creates 4 'virtual' cores to enable more threads to be executed simultaniously. It has benefits in certain software, video encoding and that sort of thing, but rarely has any benefit in games, and obviously in this case(CloD) it actually has a detrimental effect.
Boko.
__________________
"Tiger got to hunt, bird got to fly; Man got to sit and wonder, 'Why, why, why?'
Tiger got to sleep, bird got to land; Man got to tell himself he understand." - A
calypso.
i5 2500K@4.5Ghz | MSI P67A-GD53 | 8G DDR3 Corsair@1600 | Gainward
GLH 460x2 SLI oc | Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD | Antec Truepower New 750W
PSU | Win 7 64bit | Black Widow HOTAS | Freetrack 2.2/PS3 eyetoy
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:31 PM
SEE SEE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokononist View Post
I don't know what threaded optimisation is, but the disable hyperthreading option is only relevent if you have an i7 processor. It essentially creates 4 'virtual' cores to enable more threads to be executed simultaniously. It has benefits in certain software, video encoding and that sort of thing, but rarely has any benefit in games, and obviously in this case(CloD) it actually has a detrimental effect.
Boko.
Thanks, I just googled my Dual Core CPU and it doesn't have HT - the mobo supports HT and Quad Cores so at least I know to disable it if I upgrade.
__________________
MP ATAG_EvangelusE

AMD A8 5600K Quad Core 3.6 Ghz - Win 7 64 - 8Gb Ram - GTX660ti 2Gb VRAM - FreeTrack - X52 - Asus 23' Monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:02 PM
d.burnette d.burnette is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokononist View Post
but rarely has any benefit in games, and obviously in this case(CloD) it actually has a detrimental effect.
Boko.
Also disabling hyperthreading will result in cooler cpu core temps as well.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X58 FTW3 MB| I7 920 cpu @ 4 ghz|6gb Corsair 1600 MHZ DDR3 ram|EVGA GTX 560 Ti 2gb |Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality | TM Warthog HOTAS | Saitek Combat Pedals | Track IR5 | Windows 7 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:22 PM
JG52Uther's Avatar
JG52Uther JG52Uther is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG52Krupi View Post
No its in the bug thread mate.
Correct. Bugs go in the bug thread.
__________________
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu               /image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2975&             dateline=1336686751


Q6600 @ 2.4 / 4 GB ddr2 / GTX285 1 gb gfx / W7 64
Whiners to fanboys in one move, who'd a thought it!
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 05-13-2012, 09:00 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ataros View Post
It is in the game menu. Network settings screen.
Ahh - after unchecking that option I suddenly got this line in my conf.ini under [NET]:

SkinDownload=0

Rather annoying that only gets into the conf.ini after changing it so you don't see it if its on the default setting (=1)...

Thanks!
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 05-13-2012, 10:24 PM
philip.ed's Avatar
philip.ed philip.ed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE-OF-ACES View Post



Ah.. were you talking to be (ME?) Phil or furbs?

Because based on the previous page it looked like you quoted me, but I see that furbs responded instead
I meant you Aces. But I think Furbs responded because he made the topic I was suggesting towards.
__________________
Luthier: If not for your guys' criticism and incredibly high standards, we'd never have become what we are. Keep it up!

Source for the sceptical: http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showpos...11&postcount=9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.