1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: The Legend > Technical problems and solutions

Technical problems and solutions Questions and solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:29 PM
Cutter Cutter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default Are you kidding me? Does anyone actually QA these patches?

Jesus christ, who does the QA for the patches that go to Steam? Anyone at all? First 1.7 makes everyone start all over because you can't get to the Islands. Now this latest patch won't even see your save games. Do you know unprofessional this is? Get it together for christ sake! It's bad enough this is the only game on my system that will actully crash to the point I need to do a hard reset, but this sort of crap is unwaranted. I'm going to talk to Steam about returning this game and giving me a credit for something else because I've had it with this crap! what's there is a wonderful game guys, but there's a reason the QA process is important to game development, and it's obvious it something you drastically need.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:42 PM
Dees3173 Dees3173 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Same issue here...will give it a couple of days to see if this is fixed, and if not, will also try and get steam to issue me some kind of credit. Let me know if you're successful in your effort
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:06 AM
Rallion Rallion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Agreed. This is ridiculous. I'm generally a pretty laid back guy, but I waited two weeks for a patch to fix what's basically a save file incompatibility, only to have the next patch make it much worse? I started a new game in the meantime, and then they wipe that out too? Forget it.

I'll wait another week, because as I said, I'm pretty laid back. Even just some kind of tool I'd have to run manually to correct the save files would be fine with me. All I really want is to be able to play the game I paid for.

This is the first game I've played from this company, and unless they can get this taken care of in a reasonable amount of time it'll certainly be the last.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2009, 09:07 AM
Zarco Zarco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have to agree 100% this game is great I just wish I could play it without it having a million technical issues. The game up until now has been unplayable because of crashes, now my saves don't even work?

How many people are on the team testing this game? Is it just one guy with an optimal performance PC on one type of OS testing it for 10 minutes? You come to expect a certain level of proffessionalism in the computer game market, it's a competitive market and with this level of quality you will find it very hard to compete.

Please let me know if you are able to get a refund through steam, this is a joke.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2009, 07:21 PM
Cutter Cutter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Steam is trying to give me the run around but I'm getting them to escalate the problem. I'll go to corporate and consumer affairs, the BBB, etc if I have to, I'm sick of getting scammed by scam artists like 1C.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2009, 08:00 PM
mcmonagle54 mcmonagle54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Is there no way Steam could rollback the upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:36 PM
DNS DNS is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

This is ridiculous. After the 1.7 patch, it took 10 hours to play back to the point I was at. Sorry, but good as this game is, I'm not starting over again.

I'm a software engineer myself, so I can completely understand little glitches slipping through. It happens no matter how much testing you do. But when something as basic as save games breaks, it's obvious that no testing was done. Maybe Steam is different, but it's a platform you distribute on, and therefore you need to test against it.

I guess it's time to figure out how to get a refund on Steam.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:38 PM
damaged damaged is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

FYI, there is another patch rolling out through Steam right now (I'm at about 50% done), this might be a fix.

UPDATE: Saves are back.

Thanks to whomever.

Last edited by damaged; 05-22-2009 at 11:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2009, 09:24 PM
Robbo Robbo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Wrong disc inserted message since patch 1.7

Yeah, ever since I loaded patch 1.7 I get a message saying to insert original disc. It's the only one I got when I bought the game, what's up with that?

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:48 PM
phalzyr phalzyr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbo View Post
Yeah, ever since I loaded patch 1.7 I get a message saying to insert original disc. It's the only one I got when I bought the game, what's up with that?

Are you sure you got right patch? If you bought from Atari then no 1.7 yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.