1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: The Legend > Technical problems and solutions

Technical problems and solutions Questions and solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:15 AM
I say I say is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Any chance of a patch addressing 64 bit operating systems?

Hello

Like many others, I run a 64 bit operating system and thus I can't play Kings Bounty.
I've been through all the different possible solutions, so I know there's no patch, DirectX or NVIDIA update or .ini tweak I can do to make it work.

So my question is - will there be a patch to address the issue?

With 3 gb and more RAM becoming increasingly common, the issue must hit a great deal of people...

Thanks.

Edit - Actually, here are some numbers:

http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey/

So more than 20% of Steam users run a 64 bit operating system. And more than 40% of them have 3 gb and more of RAM.
How about giving the developers a bag of money to fix this? Seems like Kings Bounty is doing pretty well, at least it gets a lot of press and visibility so I can only assume it is.

Last edited by I say; 11-29-2009 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2009, 04:49 PM
leicestersq leicestersq is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hey,

I just bought the game, and I wanted to check. I cannot make it run on Win XP 64.

So you are saying that I am just stuck and I will never be able to get it to run?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2009, 04:05 PM
I say I say is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Probably, unfortunately.
I had the game running fine until I patched it, so the old version seemed to run with some 64 bit setups. After one of the patches it started crashing in the same way you see described in many threads here. I tried uninstalling and installing again, but it seems it comes prepatched now in the downloadable version, so there's no way I'll get it to play, unless 1C starts recognizing that up to more than 20% of their paying customers won't be able to enjoy what they paid for. Which is a bit unethical and disappointing. And the game is really, really good too, which makes the whole thing even worse.

But write to customer support, they are really helpful and deserve credit, they do try getting it working for you. There's just a big risk it won't ever work, sorry.

Last edited by I say; 12-08-2009 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.