1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-04-2012, 07:45 PM
trademe900 trademe900 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 186
Default

Don't understand why you guys complain about frame rates, it's no big deal at all. Just turn the bloody slider down one. Just a bit of dust.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-04-2012, 08:22 PM
Dano Dano is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Petersfield UK
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trademe900 View Post
Don't understand why you guys complain about frame rates, it's no big deal at all. Just turn the bloody slider down one. Just a bit of dust.
It's not just the dust that is affected, tracers and canopies look awful on medium.
__________________
i5 2500k - Asus P8P67Pro - Crucial M4 64GB - 8GB DDR3 - Geforce Ti 560 1GB - Xonar DG - W7 X64 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-04-2012, 08:47 PM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dano View Post
You're not alone there.

You may need a 2GB card I think
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-04-2012, 09:05 PM
Tavingon Tavingon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stratford on Avon, England
Posts: 708
Default

I will honestly get one when CLOD's complete and sequal out.. hopefulyl more planes also on the way.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-04-2012, 09:24 PM
Dano Dano is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Petersfield UK
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlipBall View Post
You may need a 2GB card I think

Rubbish, I could load a very memory light mission and I'd still see significant fps drops when the particle system kicks in, it's a rendering issue not memory.
__________________
i5 2500k - Asus P8P67Pro - Crucial M4 64GB - 8GB DDR3 - Geforce Ti 560 1GB - Xonar DG - W7 X64 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-04-2012, 10:24 PM
Ataros Ataros is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USSR
Posts: 2,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dano View Post
not memory.
But video memory. It is not related to a mission, but only to texture and effects quality.

Too high settings for given hardware = reason for poor performance.
I have 2GB vram and always had effects on medium in 1680x1050. As well as land shading and some other settings. Always solved stutters and low FPS for me.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-04-2012, 10:25 PM
Devastat Devastat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 154
Default

So this is it, is the game finally finished?? If I update to the new beta, will the enemy planes finally try to shoot me down in single mission dogfights?

Last edited by Devastat; 08-04-2012 at 10:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-04-2012, 11:03 PM
Zappatime Zappatime is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wakefield UK
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GOA_Potenz View Post
Smoke particles has been a pain in the arse in every sim, I remember when we were working on the plutonium effects patch for 1946, smokes particles was terrible problem to get the right balance between quality and performance
I remember your early versions and how your enhanced smoke effects hit frame rates, but in fairly quick succession and no doubt after much hard work each version improved and you ended up with brilliant smoke and particle effects with very little hit on fps ( compared with what you started with) - its that sort of improvement I'm sure everyone expected MG to achieve, but its not happened yet. I still marvel at what you 3 achieved with the 4.09 effects mods, so much so, its the reason it still gets plenty of play on my pc. Pity youre not able to work your magic on COD's smoke particle issues.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ________________________________
W7 64Bit/Q9650 @ 3.7Ghz/8Gb Ram/Gigabyte SuperOverClocked GTX580/Creative X-Fi/Dell Ultrascan 24" @ 1920x1200
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-04-2012, 11:12 PM
Dano Dano is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Petersfield UK
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ataros View Post
But video memory. It is not related to a mission, but only to texture and effects quality.

Too high settings for given hardware = reason for poor performance.
I have 2GB vram and always had effects on medium in 1680x1050. As well as land shading and some other settings. Always solved stutters and low FPS for me.
Sigh...
__________________
i5 2500k - Asus P8P67Pro - Crucial M4 64GB - 8GB DDR3 - Geforce Ti 560 1GB - Xonar DG - W7 X64 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-04-2012, 11:17 PM
flyingblind flyingblind is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devastat View Post
So this is it, is the game finally finished?? If I update to the new beta, will the enemy planes finally try to shoot me down in single mission dogfights?

Nobody is saying the game is finished. It will always be WIP just like the original IL2. This is just a good step towards sorting out the major issues that stopped many from getting acceptable performance and is still a beta. I am sure there is plenty more to come from the developers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.