1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Real Warfare: 1242

Real Warfare: 1242 New historical RTS game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2010, 10:27 AM
zaratustra zaratustra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Default Every time game starts it needs to configure

Hi,

Every time I start the game it runs configuration tool and auto detecting video hardware again and again. After auto detected, configurator makes changes to my previous setting, so every time before play I have to manually restore my preferred gfx settings. I try to run RW:1242 as administrator with no effect.

My config is: Windows 7 Ultimate (patched up-to-date), mobo Asus P5Q Deluxe, c2q q9550, 4 GB ram, Radeon 4890 (catalysts 10.6).

Best wishes,
Zaratustra
http://www.tanksim.pl/fire/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2010, 11:56 AM
osn osn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Default

In the beginning, I had that also. But after a while it stopped, dunno what I did
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2010, 12:48 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

The config launch is automatic if the game doesn't found the configs files in the players profile directory (normally in documents and settings\"user"\real warfare 1242 of your PC). Probably in some mode they are deleted each time you stop the game, foricing the game to relaunch the config. Verify after have stopped the game what appears in this directory.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2010, 01:39 PM
zaratustra zaratustra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitra View Post
The config launch is automatic if the game doesn't found the configs files in the players profile directory (normally in documents and settings\"user"\real warfare 1242 of your PC). Probably in some mode they are deleted each time you stop the game, foricing the game to relaunch the config. Verify after have stopped the game what appears in this directory.
The is such directory in documents, and there are few files, but how could I know what is missing? Game ask to "apply" changes, so I do so and next time same situation "You have to configure your video settings..." .

In the documents folder there are files:

<dir>profiles
<dir>screenshots
hardware.info
resource.main.res
video.info

in profiles
<my profile> is profile file
"section.begin
Engine : struct.begin
ScreenResolution : struct.begin
Width = 1680
Height = 1050
Frequency = 60
struct.end
HDRType = htPseudoHDR
DOFEnable = True
AntiAliasing = aaDefault
TextureFilteringQuality = tfNone
WaterReflection = wrmUltra
ShadowMap = 2048
ShadowMapEnabled = True
HorizonRenderEnabled = True
ShaderType = stSM30
CoverEnabled = True
CoverPPLEnabled = False
SelfShadowingTerrain = False
PFX = True
Sound : struct.begin
svgMusic = 0.17
svgAmbient = 0.5
svgSFX = 0.53
svgVoice = 1
svgInterface = 1
Master = 0.65
struct.end
struct.end
[...]"

I can write screenshots, so It means game has access to its directory in documents, but doesn`t remember configuration... It is a little bit frustrating to configure it manually during every start.

Best Wishes,
zaratustra
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2010, 02:58 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

Video and hardware are the files where are put the informations. Try to open them with notepad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2010, 03:39 PM
zaratustra zaratustra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks,

I started game, configurator --> autodetect, like firs time.
I made some modification to setting (effects) then apply and run.
I`ve checked `options` in game, everything ok, like set in configurator.
Then I exited to windows and here is content of:

`hardware` file:

section.begin
Version = 2.0
MMX = True
SSE = True
SSE2 = True
SSE3 = True
SSE4 = True
HTT = True
AMDMMX = False
_3DNow = False
_3DNow2 = False
MaxMhz = 22348040
CurrentMhz = 97820880
NumLogicalProc = 4
NumCores = 2
dwTotalPhys = 4293963776
GLVendor = ATI Technologies Inc.
GLRenderer = ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
GLVersion = 3.3.9901 Compatibility Profile Context
GLFBOSupport = True
GLSLSupport = True
GLShadowSupport = True
GLShadowAmbientSupport = True
section.end

and `video` file:

section.begin
Run = 0
section.end

Then I`ve started the game again, and like the very first time - autodetect "You have to configure your video settings...".

I cannot say if that are proper format and content of those files....

Best Wishes,
zaratustra
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2010, 04:43 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

Can you restart again the game, and paste again the hardware.info after? is important to verify if exist differences or not between the two versions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:00 AM
Dllfile Dllfile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Same exact issue here: Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)

Game is installed in C:\Games\Real Warfare 1242\

Anyhow, it is annoying, but seems the game loads your profile settings after launch regardless. Files appear to be identical after redetect (Winmerge)

Think the game is simply not reading the "run" var in the config and does not know the game was already run and setup for the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2010, 02:01 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

The programmer is making some tests about this problem; I think soon will be out a solution
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.