1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #671  
Old 01-13-2013, 10:09 AM
stndbfrgrn stndbfrgrn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws2002 View Post
Ah ok. I have the same version. It does look really good. That downsamling you got there is a rather interesting animal. So basically your game runs at higher resolution and then is being showed on the monitor at your native one. That way you eliminate the jagged edges without the need for antialiase. Interesting.
What kind of performance hit do you get from that?
Yep. The very first release version would crash upon start up. Anyways, this was rendered at 2560x1440, and downsampled to my monitor's resolution of 1920x1080. The screenshot was then downsampled again so aliased edges received a double treatment there; while in-game, on the final official patch I use a post-process antialiasing injector, it's not so greatly effective but it gets the job done. I've tried the same injector on the 1.0.0 etc. version without success, but I have to say that the built-in antialiasing does seem to work a little, although it misses smaller meshes here and there...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlipBall View Post
Just beautiful!

I wish I understood what you are saying...BTW how does that vershion run on your beefy system
It is!
I wish someone could figure out a way to get that shadow map resolution back!

Although I have to agree with MB_Avro_UK, the light haze looks so good and the atmospheric lighting is great, it really gives the feeling of aerial perspective... that's from one of the latest patches, right? Nice screenshots, by the way!

As for the downsampling technique it simply consists in allowing your game to run at a resolution that is higher than the highest resolution supported by your monitor, and then to shrink the picture back (downsampling) into your monitor's actual resolution. This kind of allows a lot more pixels to fill the same space, making details look sharper and helping to reduce the jaggyness around edges.
Depending on your hardware, Ati or Nvidia, there are different but very simple ways to achieve that, if you're interested...

To reply to both, my system isn't "beefy" at all, I'm running both versions on an HD 6950 with six (not of any cool brand or speed) gigs of RAM on a second-hand Q9550 that I've recently purchased. Resolution is set to 2560x1440 downsampled to 1920x1080, settings are at their highest value, with in-game anti-aliasing set at 2x I get a smooth gameplay, averaging 30 FPS. This is for the final official, the earlier version does have the infamous stutters at ground level but I can happily live with those! Everything is playable smoothly enough for me, when up in the air...
Performance hit is variable, around 10-15 FPS.

Last edited by stndbfrgrn; 01-13-2013 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #672  
Old 01-13-2013, 04:39 PM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

I see thanks...but the game has 3 possibilities, highest being 1920x1080 my monitor's highest setting is the same and is the native.
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
  #673  
Old 01-13-2013, 04:57 PM
stndbfrgrn stndbfrgrn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 42
Default

I know, a higher resolution would appear to be available only after a driver-level passage that needs to be done, which differs from Ati/AMD to Nvidia cards. I'm using an AMD here, which needs an external utility (all details here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=366244); I don't know about Nvidia, but I think it should be possible to achive through the Forceware (if that's still their name, I'm outdated there) control panel.

Last edited by stndbfrgrn; 01-13-2013 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #674  
Old 01-13-2013, 08:42 PM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stndbfrgrn View Post
I know, a higher resolution would appear to be available only after a driver-level passage that needs to be done, which differs from Ati/AMD to Nvidia cards. I'm using an AMD here, which needs an external utility (all details here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=366244); I don't know about Nvidia, but I think it should be possible to achive through the Forceware (if that's still their name, I'm outdated there) control panel.

Thanks again stndbfrgrn I'll see what I can find...again those shots of yours are amazing.
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
  #675  
Old 01-13-2013, 09:49 PM
stndbfrgrn stndbfrgrn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlipBall View Post
Thanks again stndbfrgrn I'll see what I can find...again those shots of yours are amazing.
Thank you! And I'm glad I could be of help, if you need anything just ask straight away and I'll see what I can do.

Out!
Reply With Quote
  #676  
Old 01-13-2013, 10:24 PM
stndbfrgrn stndbfrgrn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 42
Default

That leak coming from the right engine has to be one of my favourite effects!

Reply With Quote
  #677  
Old 01-14-2013, 12:44 AM
nacy nacy is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Default

aircraft human in CoD 24
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bf 109-E1.jpg (462.6 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg Bf 109-E3 B.jpg (282.4 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg Bf 109-E3.jpg (235.9 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg Bf 109-E4 B.jpg (207.7 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg Bf 109-E4.jpg (486.1 KB, 51 views)
Reply With Quote
  #678  
Old 01-14-2013, 12:50 AM
nacy nacy is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Default

aircraft human in CoD 24
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bf 110 C-7.jpg (391.5 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg Bf 110 C-4.jpg (386.0 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg Blenheim IV.jpg (339.4 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg G.50.jpg (309.4 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg He 111 H-2.jpg (387.0 KB, 56 views)
Reply With Quote
  #679  
Old 01-14-2013, 12:56 AM
nacy nacy is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Default

aircraft human in CoD 24
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BR.20M.jpg (395.2 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg He 111 P-2.jpg (301.7 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg Heartbreaker.jpg (371.1 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg Hurricane (DH 5-20).jpg (336.4 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg Hurricane (Rotol).jpg (453.4 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
  #680  
Old 01-14-2013, 01:04 AM
nacy nacy is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Default

aircraft human in CoD. 24
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Spitfire IIa.jpg (136.9 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpg SpitfireMkIa_100oct.jpg (160.7 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg Sukhoi Su-26M.jpg (160.6 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg Tiger Moth.jpg (141.8 KB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.