1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > CoD download, installation and activation threads

CoD download, installation and activation threads All discussions about installation, online activation and Steam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:24 PM
csou csou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default program files(x86)

I have installed w7 64bit. I want to install steam and it is installed by default in program files(x86) which means i think that it will run the game in w7 32bit version. Is this correct? Is there any way that I install steam in program files of 64bit. I believe that if steam is installed in program files(x86) it will run as a 32bit game.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:39 PM
Fjordmonkey Fjordmonkey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Larvik, Norway
Posts: 350
Default

Steam is a 32-bit application, and will always thus install to Program Files (x86). Installing it to your Program Files-folder won't make it a 64-bit application.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:44 PM
csou csou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you very much for your reply! That means that steam will be installed in program files(x86) and thus all of the game(cod). In that way I am running a 32bit cod and not a 64bit cod. Am I correct? And even if that is correct, what is the benefit of having w7 64bit in cod? Bigger RAM?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:51 PM
Fjordmonkey Fjordmonkey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Larvik, Norway
Posts: 350
Default

64-bit applications isn't limited to the 2gb address-space that 32-bit apps are, and is said to be faster under a 64-bit system than a 32-bit under 64-bit system. The last bit isn't something I've been able to verify, though, so I'm not sure if it's correct.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:56 PM
csou csou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Correct me if Iam wrong> Steam is installed in program files(x86). Ok? Then the dvd of cod is installed by default in program files(x86). At i want to know if I am doing something wrong or right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:57 PM
Fjordmonkey Fjordmonkey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Larvik, Norway
Posts: 350
Default

Nah, you're doing things correctly =)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2011, 11:53 PM
csou csou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

what is nah? Is that a yes or no?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2011, 02:34 AM
Wolf_Rider Wolf_Rider is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,677
Default

Steam seems to have some 64bit bits and pieces located within it's folders

?
__________________
Intel 980x | eVGA X58 FTW | Intel 180Gb 520 SSD x 2 | eVGA GTX 580 | Corsair Vengeance 1600 x 12Gb | Windows 7 Ultimate (SP1) 64 bit | Corsair 550D | Corsair HX 1000 PSU | Eaton 1500va UPS | Warthog HOTAS w/- Saitek rudders | Samsung PX2370 Monitor | Deathadder 3500 mouse | MS X6 Keyboard | TIR4

Stand alone Collector's Edition
DCS Series



Even duct tape can't fix stupid... but it can muffle the sound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.