1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > CoD download, installation and activation threads

CoD download, installation and activation threads All discussions about installation, online activation and Steam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:12 PM
aidor aidor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default buy it via Steam or DVD Rom?

Hi Everybody!

I'm new,

First of all, sorry for my poor english speak... I''m from Spain.

So.. I want to buy the game, and I don't know if buying it via Steam or in a store (the collector edition DVD Rom). I prefer the DVD rom option, but I don't want to play with the DVD in the drive, and I don't want to be connected to internet all the time I want to play. It's possible playing "off line" and without the DVD rom in the drive?

Another point is the updates... If I buy the DVD rom version, I just need to install the last patch (27 april) or I need to install all the previous patchs?

The last question is this: I will install the game in my current C: drive. I'll need to install it in the Steam folder or assosiated to my Steam account? That's because in a couple of weeks I'll buy a SSD drive. Will I have any problem to install the game in two diferent drives simultaneously?

My hardware: i5 2500K + 4GB RAM + GTX 570... I hope it will performe decent FPS... it will?

Thanks!

Last edited by aidor; 05-03-2011 at 12:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:23 PM
David198502's Avatar
David198502 David198502 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,535
Default

you dont need the dvd in the harddrive to play it.and it is possible to play offline.
the last official patch was april 18th i think and it will download that patch automatically.
the betapatches are not installed automatically,so you will have to do it by yourself.but you only need to install the latest beta patch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:30 PM
Rattlehead Rattlehead is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidor View Post
Hi Everybody!

I'm new,

First of all, sorry for my poor english speak... I''m from Spain.

So.. I want to buy the game, and I don't know if buying it via Steam or in a store (the collector edition DVD Rom). I prefer the DVD rom option, but I don't want to play with the DVD in the drive, and I don't want to be connected to internet all the time I want to play. It's possible playing "off line" and without the DVD rom in the drive?

Another point is the updates... If I buy the DVD rom version, I just need to install the last patch (27 april) or I need to install all the previous patchs?

The last question is this: I will install the game in my current C: drive. I'll need to install it in the Steam folder or assosiated to my Steam account? That's because in a couple of weeks I'll buy a SSD drive. Will I have any problem to install the game in two diferent drives simultaneously?

My hardware: i5 2500K + 4GB RAM + GTX 570... I hope it will performe decent FPS... it will?

Thanks!
It's possible to play offline without the DVD in the tray. I do it all the time.

Steam will automatically patch you up to the latest version once the game is installed.

I'm not too sure on point three. Maybe someone can answer that?

Your system should be fine...should be. Things are a bit up in the air as far as framerates are concerned, but you have a good system that should run the game very well. (Except maybe over London and Caen.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:31 PM
FAE_Cazador FAE_Cazador is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Altrincham
Posts: 146
Default

I don't have previous experiences with STEAM before, perhaps better read Steam's rules in their website.

IMHO If it is just a matter of a couple of weeks, I would first full install that SSD, and then buy and install the Sim.

You can find DVD Collectors Edition in Spain at "L'Aeroteca" (Barcelona) and in "Game" shops I think. Check their websites, but it is quite more expensive than the Steam version.

Bienvenido al Cliffs of Dover, Aidor. Puedes encontrar más informacion sobre él en español en nuestro foro.

¡Saludos y buena caza!
__________________
FAE_Cazador
"E étan, e épitan..."


www.escuadrilla-fae.com

Last edited by FAE_Cazador; 05-03-2011 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:34 PM
aidor aidor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ok David, Rattlehead and FAE Cazador, thanks for the info, In that case, I'm going to buy the DVD rom version. I found here in Barcelona the collector edition (64'99 euros), only 15 euros more than the Steam version. I can't see the advantage of buying the Steam version.

The last question is not solved yet, but is not a major problem:

any problem if I install the game in two diferent drives simultaneously? Well, If I have to uninstall the first installation and then install in the SSD drive, no problem with that. I'll need to install it in the Steam folder or assosiated to my Steam account?

Thanks once more! Gracias por la bienvenida y saludos... me pasare por el foro español, claro.

Last edited by aidor; 05-03-2011 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2011, 01:03 PM
W0ef W0ef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 148
Default

You can move your steamapps to another hd no problems, just some steps you have to go through to set it up properly.

This is from the Steam support site:

Moving Your Steam Installation
Warning:

It is highly recommended that you create a backup of your SteamApps folder before attempting this process. Neglecting to do so may result in a loss of all of your game content should something go wrong.

If you're low on space on the drive you have Steam installed, you can move the Steam folder to a different location. Here's an example of how to move the Steam installation between two hard drives:

1. Log out and exit Steam
2. Navigate to the folder where Steam is installed (by default: C:\Program Files\Steam\)
3. Delete all of the files and folders except the SteamApps folder and Steam.exe
4. Cut and paste your Steam folder to the new location, for example: D:\Games\Steam\
5. Launch Steam
6. Steam will briefly update and then you will be ready to play
7. All future game content will be downloaded to the new folder D:\Games\Steam\Steamapps\


Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:16 PM
FAE_Cazador FAE_Cazador is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Altrincham
Posts: 146
Default

May be if you ask this question in the Steam Forum can find an answer

http://store.steampowered.com/forums/
__________________
FAE_Cazador
"E étan, e épitan..."


www.escuadrilla-fae.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2011, 04:04 PM
aidor aidor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

OK guys... thanks for the info about moving steam installation. I hope that this game (the DVDRom version) is not installed associated with my Steam account or in the steam folder (I want to run the games in my Steam account only the games I buy via Steam).

Well, so... if somebody knows if this game (the DVD version) runs independently to the Steam program, I'll appreciate the info. This is all because today I'm going to install the game in my HDD. In a couple of weeks I'll buy a SSD (of course, I can't wait two weeks to taste the game), and I hope there is no problem with the new installation in the SSD.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-2011, 04:10 PM
Anvilfolk Anvilfolk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
Default

I'm not sure and haven't installed myself, but it seems that CoD will always have to be associated with a Steam account, and use Steam itself.

I must I've used steam for almost as long as it's existed and never had problems. I personally love it - the only gripe I have with it is that you cannot install games to wherever you want. They go in the steam folder, so make sure to install steam to where you want your games to be!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-03-2011, 04:33 PM
FAE_Cazador FAE_Cazador is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Altrincham
Posts: 146
Default

Aidor, I had no STEAM games in my computer till I bought CloD. I bought a Collector Edition DVD. And the first thing it did when installing, is to force me to open a STEAM account. Then I activated it by the first time, writing a 20 characters code given with the DVD, and started to fly (offline, as at the beginning Multiplayer was so bugged to me that it was impossible to fly).

No need to have the DVD inserted, but I am afraid the Sim is linked forever to your STEAM account.

What I didn't check is what happens if I switch off my Internet connection (always on, because is a ADSL link), and check if I can play or not, but I'll try this evening.

Aidor, I suggest you to wait those 2 weeks (Oleg's Time or Standard Time?) and in the meantime to study the Sim Manual and the Spitfire Pilot's Notes. You can find links to them here or even I can send them both to you.

Edit: STEAM also is required to keep your game up-to-date by downloading automatically the official patches needed. Also it provides a so called "VALVE" stuff wihich prevents cheating online (supposedly).
__________________
FAE_Cazador
"E étan, e épitan..."


www.escuadrilla-fae.com

Last edited by FAE_Cazador; 05-03-2011 at 04:43 PM. Reason: Valve stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.