1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2011, 01:45 PM
kgwanchos kgwanchos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default Damm you Luther and youre Q6700 !

Just kidding its all my fault ! .... I saw he was using an Intel Q6700 Quad in the video last week and I went ahead and got one as an upgrade as I currently have an E5400 dual over clocked to 3.2ghz. I paid 95 pounds for a second hand one. I did a little more research however and realised that I could have got a Q6600 for quite a bit less 60ish second hand or maybe an E8400 for not much more.

Im on an Asus P5QL PRO .... what makes more sence for COD Dual or Quad ?



Any advice appreciated !

Last edited by kgwanchos; 02-11-2011 at 04:42 PM. Reason: misinterpretation of topic title !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2011, 01:52 PM
JAMF JAMF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgwanchos View Post
what makes more sence for COD Dual or Quad ?
Assuming it is written so that it uses 2 cores, I'd say 3 or more cores. That's 2 cores for the game and any additional core for the OS and other programmes to run in the background (Windows, drivers, Fraps, Ventrilo/Teamspeak, etc.).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2011, 02:58 PM
speculum jockey
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgwanchos View Post
Any advice appreciated !
Wait until the game is released before spending money.
Wait for solid review and discussion on what hardware works best before buyng a product.
Research your intended purpose and any similar products before you make a mistake.
Look at current benchmarks, ranking guides, and product reviews before clicking "buy now".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2011, 03:25 PM
leggit leggit is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 108
Default

fouls rush in where angels fear to tread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2011, 03:47 PM
sorak's Avatar
sorak sorak is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgwanchos View Post
Ok so I saw you he was using an Intel Q6700 Quad in the video last week and I went ahead and got one at an upgrade as I currently have an E5400 dual over clocked to 3.2ghz. I paid 95 pounds for a second hand one. I did a little more research however and realised that I could have got a Q6600 for quite a bit less 60ish second hand or maybe an E8400 for not much more.

Im on an Asus P5QL PRO .... what makes more sence for COD Dual or Quad ?



Any advice appreciated !

This isnt really rocket science. Just use your brain for a second.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:09 PM
#402FOX #402FOX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorak View Post
This isnt really rocket science. Just use your brain for a second.
Its worse than science, Its witchcraft
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:20 PM
kgwanchos kgwanchos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorak View Post
This isnt really rocket science. Just use your brain for a second.
Hmmm just thought we where here to share knowledge and such and I dont know very much about Quads and Duals so I dont see the point in you wasting your time and mine to be unpleasent ....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:20 PM
Biggs [CV] Biggs [CV] is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 84
Default

More power is always better. Quad will always be better than Dual, 4 gig of ram will always be better than 2. If you feel the need to upgrade, RESEARCH. I upgraded 2 months ago and could not be happier. I built an entire new system and it runs great. Why? I asked my gaming buddies for advice and then made some tough choices. In the end I got a great rig for about $1200.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:23 PM
kgwanchos kgwanchos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leggit View Post
fouls rush in where angels fear to tread.
hee hee ..... dont remember saying I was a duck .... anyhow dont worry guys looks like this has just annoyed people so forget it .... I usually do research this stuff alot , I just ran a bit short on time this week.

Last edited by kgwanchos; 02-11-2011 at 04:24 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-12-2011, 01:32 AM
camel24hrs camel24hrs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 66
Default

Running a Q9550 stepping C1 on a Asus P5K deluxe. Originally 2.83ghz, overclocked on stock voltage to 3.9ghz. For an older Asus board it is an excellent performer, but a bit pricey for an old cpu. I guess because the darn thing performs so well and overclocks so easily. I hear fo guys getting 4.0 + with the E0 stepping.

I had a core 2 duo cpu back in 08 (it was a 2.66, I dont remember the cpu model number). I saw a dramitic jump in perfomance when I made the upgrade to the q9550.

I think it is best to wait on COD and see how everyone else is doing. I think we need to start a thread when the game come out just to report our system specs and note on how the game plays on it, just so people can take a look and see what makes sense for them with regards to upgrades.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.