1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > NecroVisioN > Technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2009, 12:08 AM
XIII XIII is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default Demo not working

Hi,
I’ve installed the demo and when I double click
the desktop icon to run it nothing happens (it´s the same if I go to the game folder and click on the .exe file).

If I open the task manager I can´t see any task related to the game or stalled.

Runing XP Sp3 with AMD 64 3500, GF 7900 gs, 1gb ram.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2009, 03:18 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

-Download&install PAINKILLER singleplayer demo, see if it works.
-Disable all antiviruses&firewalls&security junkwares, we never know what those could misunderstand.
-In the nvidia control pannel, did you happen to force some settings (like antialiasing or anisotropic filtering, etc...)? If so, try restoring default settings.
-Did you disable the page file? (madness with 1gb ram only, yet...)
-Just in case: you're sure your DirectX is up to date?
-Last I can think of atm: corrupt setup.exe (unlikely though)

Last edited by Gniarf; 06-21-2009 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2009, 09:28 AM
XIII XIII is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for your help Gniarf.
I’ve tried what you said but no luck. I currently have painkiller (full game) installed and running fine.
I updated my gfx drivers and direct x.
I installed yesterday Fallout 3 without problems and running smoothly...

The thing that´s odd is that it gives me no error message. It just does nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:07 AM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XIII View Post
The thing that´s odd is that it gives me no error message. It just does nothing.
Yes I know, that's what puzzles me most.

1-Ok, next test: replace the content of necrovision/bin with the one of painkiller/bin. It WILL NOT work, but:
1.1-if it spams you with lots of error, then the problem comes from the .exe/dlls
1.2-if it says nothing the problem is elsewhere (too long path, corrupt or bugged .pak files...)
2-Have you thought about Data Execution Prevention? (if you don't know what it is, forget I even mentionned it)
3-(I'm desperate there)....Compatibility mode?
4-Download Shadermark, run it, click "run", and run a benchmark (p). Does it say "pixel shader version: Pixel Shader 3_0" (along with tons of "ps_3_0") in shadermark_results.txt?

BTW: which version (langage) of the demo are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:37 AM
XIII XIII is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks.
The demo is in english.
I will try your solutions when I get home tonight and let you know how it went.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2009, 06:24 PM
XIII XIII is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Gniarf, you’re a very resourceful guy
I completely uninstalled my drivers, direct X and the demo then runned a registry clean up with TuneUp utilities and then reinstalled everything. Whatever the problem was it´s gone. The demo runs fine now.

Maybe it was directX or a setting in the nvidia panel...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:05 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.