1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Cryostasis > Technical issues

Technical issues Everything about technical problems and issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2009, 02:28 PM
john2 john2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default Cryostasis uses only one CPU core

This explains the performance issues most gamers are having. Cryostasis (as you can see here) uses only one CPU core. I'm sure the devs already know that (and if they don't... well... now they do know ) so hopefully they will fix it

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:37 AM
thales100 thales100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 66
Default

Thats true, ive also noticed it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:24 PM
EvilInside EvilInside is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Use "CPU Control"
A simple tool allow you full control over your cpu cores usages.
http://www.overclockers.ru/softnews/27878.shtml

0 - not used core for that application
1 - used core for that application

example:
1111 - this application use 4 cores
0011 - this application use 2 out of 4 cores
and so on...

enjoy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:02 PM
john2 john2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

The game doesn't support multicores so you don't get any performance boost at all by enabling 2 or 4 CPUs (you are just wasting one CPU which isn't doing anything as it doesn't have any data to process). Already tried that after all and still the CPU usage is around 30-50% with my Core2Duo. It needs to be patched to take advantage of the multicores
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2009, 12:08 AM
EvilInside EvilInside is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Yes... i did mention this too with my core2quad.
It seams its engine issue which can't take advantage of the multiple core systems.
WE NEED PATCH!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2009, 08:36 AM
BAXTER STOCKMAN BAXTER STOCKMAN is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece
Posts: 443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilInside View Post
Yes... i did mention this too with my core2quad.
It seams its engine issue which can't take advantage of the multiple core systems.
WE NEED PATCH!
Υeah i have atlon x2 4400 and it doesnt use more than 50%!! Now i understanf why it is so slow!! Please someone fix it!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2009, 11:08 AM
malautomedonte malautomedonte is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Cryostasis: The Sleep of Cores.

Anyway, really please fix this game! I have a q9450@3.6, 4gb of RAM and a overclocked gtx260. The game sometimes runs really slow, when there are a lot of dynamic shadows and intensive particle effects.

It's really annoying because the story is great!

Didn't you say that with the european-american version a patch would be published?

Everytime a only PC game goes out it's always heavy and unbearable for most configurations (like Crysis)...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2009, 07:50 PM
thales100 thales100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john2 View Post
It needs to be patched to take advantage of the multicores

Im afraid no patch will be able to make it "multi core optimized", Cryostasis is very similar to STALKER Clear Sky in this aspect, just a new engine could make this happen.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2009, 08:36 PM
zwiebl zwiebl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default

u guys really have performance problems?
i use e6600 overclocked to 3ghz with an 8800gts 640 mb and i can play it with everything max @ 1152 * 864 with ~26 fps.
i'm quite happy it runs that well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2009, 10:01 PM
thales100 thales100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 66
Default

Well at this low res 1152 x 864 it shouldnt be a problem, but 1680 x 1050+ yes, a multi core optimization wouldnt hurt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.