1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Pilot's Lounge

Pilot's Lounge Members meetup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:46 PM
ATAG_MajorBorris's Avatar
ATAG_MajorBorris ATAG_MajorBorris is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 342
Default

CoD is a must have for any ww2 combat sim pilot. "The fix" is on the way but bare in mind the sim is still is being worked on so it will only improve.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth MB--Intel 2600k@4.7--EVGA GTX580 3GB--Corasir 1200 watt psu--Corsair 16gb 1866--Corsair H70 cooler--Corsair 650d case--OCZ Vertex 3--Track IR5--CH Eclipse Yoke--CH Trottle Quadrant--CH MFP--CH Rudders-MSFF2
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:50 PM
jamesdietz's Avatar
jamesdietz jamesdietz is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle,WashingtonUSA
Posts: 758
Default

Yes...but its like dating a very beautiful woman...high maintanence is required
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:23 PM
CWMV's Avatar
CWMV CWMV is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 758
Default

No, not as is.
Only thing it does well is airquake. And that only until the launcher crash.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:51 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlipBall View Post
Go for it dan!
+1
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:08 PM
Chivas Chivas is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,769
Default

If your a combat flight sim fan, I'm surprised you haven't supported the sim already. The price is miniscule compared to the system your going to buy to run it. With the upgoming patch even average systems should be able to run the sim with few problems.
__________________
Intel core I7 950 @ 3.8
Asus PT6 Motherboard
6 gigs OCZ DDR3 1600
Asus GTX580 Direct CU II
60gigSSD with only Windows7 64bit, Hotas Peripherals, and COD running on it
500gig HD Dual Boot
Samsung 32"LG 120hz
MSFF2 Joystick
Cougar Throttle
Saitek Pro Rudder pedals
Voice Activation Controls
Track IR 5 ProClip
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:14 PM
EvilJoven
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

CLOD works perfectly on my computer. I have all the joysticks and fiddly bits and a massive monitor and it runs like a dream.

Despite that I haven't played it in months. There's just no content. The online community is terrible, there's only 1 game mode (basically Air Quake) and there's to high a percentage of online players who are outright hostile to you if you so much as hint at not knowing how to do everything.

As far as realism goes, they tried too hard to make it realistic to the point where in a lot of ways it's less realistic than IL-2 or even Wings of Prey. When writing CLOD they focused so much on visuals and button switching that they forgot to make any compromises based on the fact that everyone playing this game is doing so while sitting at a desk viewing the world through a computer monitor.

Spend your money on something else.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:19 PM
Tigertooo Tigertooo is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 140
Default

Yes it is worth getting it, but imho only to support the Devs to improve lots of things.
For your personal interest, you could be dissapointed getting it at this moment as many things don't work ( for me that is)
But The Tangmere Pilots are a very patient Wing, we waited years for this, so we can wait some more
20 of our Chaps have it and we flew together some 1400 hours (i counted it on Steam) to test things
So far we stopped testing and waiting for the next patch
Just buy it and support the team, but be patient for the results
good luck
No43_Tigertooo
Tangmere Pilots
www.tangmerepilots.co.uk

Last edited by Tigertooo; 02-20-2012 at 07:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:19 PM
danjama danjama is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: london
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACE-OF-ACES View Post
Dan long time no type buddy!

Your timing is off by a week!

There is a big patch due out soon (next friday?) so I would wait for that and than ask this question!
Hey ace, definitely been a while! You still flying 46? Mods?

Will take another week+ to get this system set up so looking forward to this mystical patch! :]

Im agreeing with those saying its so cheap that It's worth buying, even if it just sits there while i play '46, RoF, FS9 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-20-2012, 08:04 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjama View Post
Hey ace, definitely been a while! You still flying 46? Mods?
Yupper!

Been playing alot of RoF too.. That WWI kind of got under my skin in the last month.. Funny, my 1st big PC sim was Red Barron by Dynamix back around 1991.. So kind of having some old time flashbacks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjama View Post
Will take another week+ to get this system set up so looking forward to this mystical patch! :]
Yup, if it does HALF the things they say it will do it will be great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjama View Post
Im agreeing with those saying its so cheap that It's worth buying, even if it just sits there while i play '46, RoF, FS9 etc.
So true.. On that note have you seen the recent CoD news? As for the planned russian front sequal(s) and manable AAA and drivable ground vehicals (tanks, trucks, etc). That should draw in alot of targe... I mean 'new players' to the sim!!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-20-2012, 08:33 PM
ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
ATAG_Snapper ATAG_Snapper is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilJoven View Post
CLOD works perfectly on my computer. I have all the joysticks and fiddly bits and a massive monitor and it runs like a dream.

Despite that I haven't played it in months. There's just no content. The online community is terrible, there's only 1 game mode (basically Air Quake) and there's to high a percentage of online players who are outright hostile to you if you so much as hint at not knowing how to do everything.

As far as realism goes, they tried too hard to make it realistic to the point where in a lot of ways it's less realistic than IL-2 or even Wings of Prey. When writing CLOD they focused so much on visuals and button switching that they forgot to make any compromises based on the fact that everyone playing this game is doing so while sitting at a desk viewing the world through a computer monitor.

Spend your money on something else.
EvilJoven, sorry to read about your bad experiences online -- I can't blame you for being bitter, who wouldn't be? Doubtless you've read my earlier post in this thread to Danjama. Please take this as a hearty invitation to join us anytime on the ATAG Server. Teamspeak 3 is a major plus, and I guarantee you a much better experience this time out. Newcomers are warmly welcomed -- just watch out the bomber guys don't entice you away from flying the fighters! LOL

As you pointed out above, there's always the potential for an Airquake scenario, but by and large our two servers now have options for everyone, including bomber escort, fighter sweeps ahead of the bombers, bomber aircrew, etc etc. As AoA mentioned, there is a patch onthe radar screen that will hopefully address many of the concerns we all share about CoD

Things are evolving over at the ATAG Servers and we have a good online community, including 19 of us ATAG guys flying online pretty much 'round the clock (at different times, obviously LOL) monitoring the Chat windows for any probs or player abuse/swearing (very rare). With the coding optimized and finalized, many projects currently on ice will be introduced by the ATAG project crew to keep things fresh and revitalized.

This reminds me of the old car commercial, "Have you driven a Ford......lately?" Take ATAG out for a spin. We want to know what YOU think!

Snapper
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:46 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.