1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Performance threads

Performance threads All discussions about CoD performnce

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2013, 01:17 PM
mavers92 mavers92 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 26
Default upgrading GTX560 query

Hi all, I was thinking to upgrade my (non TI) gtx560 1gb and was wondering if what I can afford is worth doing.
I use the TF mod and my screen resolution is a max of 1440x900@60hz
Most of my settings are on mdium to high, grass roads and shadows on and ik getting a rough 50-55 fps over water dropping to 25-30 over land.

I like the high settings as it does look wonderful when that high.

My options are HD6870 new or a used gtx660 / hd7850

Would the 2gb that the newer cards have be of any benefit as my screen resolution isn't that demanding (I don't think but not too sure if that)?
And is a hd6870 actually an improvement?

Don't mind about changing from nvidia to amd as I've used both, my last card was HD5770, also if I go amd I won't get that annoying "%1 isn't a valid window application" when trying to install new drivers.

I have looked at some other posts but the everybody had better specs than mine so the difference would be greater I think.
Other specs are--
I5 2500k @3.3 / 8gb ram / 120gb SSD / 750W psu /

Any helpful suggestion appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2013, 01:33 PM
vranac vranac is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Hi!
HD6870 isn't significantly stronger then your gtx560, GTX660/7850 are and I'll suggest nvidia beacause ATI generaly have problems with drivers.
In CloD 79xx owners have problems( lines over the see...) but I'm not shure for 78xx cards.

I have the same system as you but with gtx560 Ti and my CPU is OC to 4.5 GHz
and I maxed out almost everything except trees, buildings, building details.
There is no big difference between 560 and 560 Ti.

Try to OC your CPU, 90% of 2500Ks will go on 4-4.3 GHz without voltage increase.Just shot down turbo and put multi on 40-42.
__________________
______________________________
http://www.aircombatgroup.co.uk
http://102nd.org/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2013, 05:47 PM
mavers92 mavers92 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Many thanks, I was doubtful about upgrading with my limited budget and this does make up my mind. I suppose I was looking for comfirmation of what I thought and you have.
Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 09:59 PM
BRIGGBOY BRIGGBOY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brigg in Lincolnshire
Posts: 275
Default

pretty much what vranac said. oc the 2500k to 4.5 and wait and see what happens to the prices when the 760 is released in a couple of weeks as you maybe able to pick up a cheap 670
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2013, 08:51 PM
mavers92 mavers92 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 26
Default

I have now OC to 4.1 (may go higher when I check out the voltage settings) and the gpu is a factory OC edition which I've OC even more to --

gpu clock 940
shader 1880
memory 1020
Will monitor temps but as I only get to play for about 2 hours at most Im hoping this will be OK.

Have run 3DMARK and scores are
icestorm 130970
cloudgate 13337
firestrike 2843

Also set up a simple mission over London, 3 spits vs 3 109s, very low level and getting about 45fps average with FRAPS.

So far so good, will be trying some larger missions I've downloaded and see how it plays.

many thanks again for the help, always appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2013, 09:49 PM
mavers92 mavers92 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Just a quick follow up: played the Black Track and averaged around 40fps dropping to 12 when the hurricane blows up on the runway, very little stuttering so very pleased.
Also my settings.
Once I've got the hang of CEM i'm going to try online, get shot down by some real people for a change.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-06-23_00002.jpg (168.3 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2013, 10:57 AM
vranac vranac is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Nice. You could try to switch SSAO off, and put building amount down a bit.
SSAO is nice when taking close screenshots but i don't think you'll notice it in dogfight.

If you want to go higher with your CPU I hope that you have some aftermarket
cooler.Voltage for 4.5 GHz vary somewhere between 1.28-1.325 V and you got to find it for your CPU.But with 4.2 GHz you'll be fine.
__________________
______________________________
http://www.aircombatgroup.co.uk
http://102nd.org/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2013, 04:17 PM
Jaws2002 Jaws2002 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRIGGBOY View Post
pretty much what vranac said. oc the 2500k to 4.5 and wait and see what happens to the prices when the 760 is released in a couple of weeks as you maybe able to pick up a cheap 670
The 760 comes out tomorow. Evga will have 6 models to chose from. From what i've seen, the prices will be cheaper than gtx660 series, ($250-300) and should over some good advantge over 660 due to the memory bandwidth increase.
this are the evga models coming tomorow:

http://www.techpowerup.com/mobile/18...-detailed.html

Other companies should bring some as well. If you decide to get Evga card, I'd recomend one with the new ACX cooler. I got the 780 superclocked with that cooler and it's a powerhouse. My card came agesively overclocked already and it still gave me decent room for extra overclock:

.

And after I aded an extra 200Mhz on the memory I got this score in 3dmark2013:

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/558452


Just look at the temperature of that card with all that overclock!
__________________
----------------------------------------
Asus Sabertooth Z77
i7 3770k@4.3GHz+ Noctua NH D14 cooler
EVGA GTX 780 Superclocked+ACX cooler.
8GB G.Skill ripjaws DDR3-1600
Crucial M4 128GB SSD+Crucial M4 256GB SSD
Seagate 750GB HDD
CH Fighterstick+CH Pro pedals+Saitek X45
Win7 64bit

Last edited by Jaws2002; 06-24-2013 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2013, 01:35 PM
mavers92 mavers92 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 26
Default

NOW THATS BOASTING

I bet the game plays like a dream with that. Have you tried the Big London Raid missions by Beulenfan on airwarfare?
I'd be interested to know at which point you scale back. The big XXL has 159 planes.
The most I've managed is the medium (60 planes) but will try again now with the improvements and see what happens.

Theres a place im watching and if they get a gtx660 2gb they sell for £110 and I should get £80 for my card. Now that's a price I can afford right now.

Still got my lotto ticket for tonight, heres hoping.....
__________________
i5@4.1 / 8gb RAM / 120SSD / GTX970 / 750W PSU / Saitek cyborg FFB + Saitek x52 throttle + saitek quadrant + Saitek pro rudder pedals
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2013, 05:14 PM
Jaws2002 Jaws2002 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 851
Default

I didn't try that mission. I'm quite bussy and didn't play clod much this days.
I may give it a go some time next week. I'm not expecting too great performance though. I play at 2560x1440 and that resolution is cruel to videocards. My old gtx590 was chocking.

If you can get it, that 660 gtx deal is good and should play the game great at your resolution.

Good luck with the hardware hunting and lotto.
__________________
----------------------------------------
Asus Sabertooth Z77
i7 3770k@4.3GHz+ Noctua NH D14 cooler
EVGA GTX 780 Superclocked+ACX cooler.
8GB G.Skill ripjaws DDR3-1600
Crucial M4 128GB SSD+Crucial M4 256GB SSD
Seagate 750GB HDD
CH Fighterstick+CH Pro pedals+Saitek X45
Win7 64bit

Last edited by Jaws2002; 06-26-2013 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.