1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:02 PM
jamesdietz's Avatar
jamesdietz jamesdietz is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle,WashingtonUSA
Posts: 758
Default Bit the bullet & boy am I glad!!!!

See orginal post:
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthr...4&goto=newpost
Could wait no longer so went out & purchased a reasonably priced Graphics card upgrade,GeForceGTX560, & after a small glitch in power hook up & this & that getting Steam recognized again ,all I can say is WOW!!!! I was hooked even at slow FPS with old 9800GT card , but now....Fast smooth at all levels with clouds,lean forward & gunsight telephoto,dust ,and get this highest settings!!!! Trees & dust still make a difference , but I can live with them.Hell I even did a head to head firing past with a Hurricane with my 109 & I believe I even got some hits!!! I could never do that at 14 fps before!
Got to go back and try a Stuka mission or two...what fun!

(Not my screenie but all of this now shows & how!!!)

Last edited by jamesdietz; 08-11-2012 at 12:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:22 PM
skouras skouras is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Greece-Athens
Posts: 1,171
Default

hats off to GTX 500 series
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2012, 02:16 AM
Meusli Meusli is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skouras View Post
hats off to GTX 500 series
I was able to play with my 4870x2 at good settings since the last patch, but the other day I put in my new 670 and now have everything maxed out apart from effects which are on medium.

It looks stunning. Now I want the old shiny new planes back.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 2.66Ghz (Nehalem) @ 3.33Ghz
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R Intel X58
OCZ 6GB DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Gold (3x2GB) Triple Channel DDR3
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670 Windforce 3X 2048MB GDDR5
Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2012, 02:17 AM
Freycinet Freycinet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 696
Default

Great to hear James!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2012, 09:12 AM
regen70 regen70 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skouras View Post
hats off to GTX 500 series
I'll second that. I've just changed my HD 5870 for a GTX 580 (1.5gb version).

FPS at mainly medium settings and grass off has shot up from 25-30 to 65-70. I wasn't expecting that

Time now to start experimenting with max settings I think.

On the negative side, the 580 does run a lot hotter. 5870 was low 60s; 580 is mid 70s
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2012, 09:33 AM
ATAG_Septic ATAG_Septic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by regen70 View Post
I'll second that. I've just changed my HD 5870 for a GTX 580 (1.5gb version).

FPS at mainly medium settings and grass off has shot up from 25-30 to 65-70. I wasn't expecting that

Time now to start experimenting with max settings I think.

On the negative side, the 580 does run a lot hotter. 5870 was low 60s; 580 is mid 70s
My 590 runs a bit too hot for my liking on the stock fan settings. It will go to 80c, which isn't excessive but I do worry a bit about solder-melt on these dual GPU cards so use a program such as MSI Afterburner to just up the fans a bit. They never go over 61c now and I don't experience any troublesome noise levels.

Septic.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2012, 03:22 PM
Stiboo Stiboo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Torquay UK
Posts: 145
Default

Yes - did the exact same swap in April !

( and lots more RAM as so cheap..)

enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2012, 04:02 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Good!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2012, 04:09 PM
jamesdietz's Avatar
jamesdietz jamesdietz is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle,WashingtonUSA
Posts: 758
Default

After a day- still happy ,although playing with settings.I've noticed with buildings on max , I don't get clouds-I wonder why?Also in esp busy 3rd party campaign missions( one in 32ns Squadron has lots & lots of aircraft..) fps drops considerably.So maybe I'll ease back on some of the things I don't see at 10,000 ft.Still as they say on Twenty Twelve-"All Good!"

Last edited by jamesdietz; 08-14-2012 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2012, 02:55 PM
kyletiernan kyletiernan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Default

my 570 runs this great aswell, cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:13 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.