1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > NecroVisioN > Technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2009, 12:41 AM
Devoldo Devoldo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 6
Exclamation Script errors/crosshair not showing

So far, I like this game, although I loathe the voice actor for the main character and the cheesy things he says, but the game play, reminds me of Painkiller.

First off, I came across this error randomly while playing the DX10 version:

Friday, May 22, 2009 19:31:32:
./Data/LScripts/Main/GObjects.lua:197:TickT
./Data/LScripts/Main/GObjects.lua:231:Tick
./Data/LScripts/Main/Game.lua:687:Tick
./Data/LScripts/Main/Game.lua:2100:Game_Tick

Tried hitting debug with no luck. The only other thing that seems to be a problem is upon loading a game, the crosshair does not always show up. This is usually fixed by swapping to another weapon, then back, but it does get annoying when the auto-save saves me in a spot where theres 4234324324 enemies and im guessing where to shoot.

CPU: Intel E8600 @ 4.2ghz
GPU: Evga GTX280 SSC edition - 185.85 WHQL drivers
Mobo: Asus Rampage Formula - 902 BIOS
RAM:4 gigs corsair dominator ddr2-1066
Hard Drive:WD Raptor 300gig 10,000 rpm for OS
WD Caviar 1TB for games
Operating System:Windows Vista ultimate 32-bit SP1

Obviously my computer isnt like all the others posting here complaining the game isnt working properly (integrated graphics.....lmao).

Last edited by Devoldo; 05-23-2009 at 02:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2009, 09:35 AM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
First off, I came across this error randomly while playing the DX10 version:
You're ABSOLUTELY sure you can't give me something more accurate than "randomly"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Friday, May 22, 2009 19:31:32:
./Data/LScripts/Main/GObjects.lua:197:TickT
./Data/LScripts/Main/GObjects.lua:231:Tick
./Data/LScripts/Main/Game.lua:687:Tick
./Data/LScripts/Main/Game.lua:2100:Game_Tick
In the NecroVisioN\Bin directory you have a file named script_error.log from which you can copy-paste the error, maybe that's what you already did, but are you sure that's the COMPLETE error message? I looked up the code you mentionned above but couldn't find a clue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Tried hitting debug with no luck.
Lol, give up on that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
The only other thing that seems to be a problem is upon loading a game, the crosshair does not always show up.
Can you see the rest of the hud, particularly the health bar? What about the ammo indicator?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
it does get annoying when the auto-save saves me in a spot where theres 4234324324 enemies and im guessing where to shoot.
How I'd love to toss a geballte in there....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Hard Drive:WD Raptor 300gig 10,000 rpm for OS
300Gb just for for Vista? If you care about my point of view,that's 250+Gb of wasted 10k rmp space (unless you also have the "my documents" folder on that hdd too, but it doesn't need 10k rpm though).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2009, 09:12 PM
Devoldo Devoldo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gniarf View Post
You're ABSOLUTELY sure you can't give me something more accurate than "randomly"?
Happened once upon gaining access to the labotory on top of "the hill". Havent tried to reproduce this error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gniarf View Post
In the NecroVisioN\Bin directory you have a file named script_error.log from which you can copy-paste the error, maybe that's what you already did, but are you sure that's the COMPLETE error message? I looked up the code you mentionned above but couldn't find a clue.
Thats precisely the message that was in the log. cntrl+V cntrl+c exactly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gniarf View Post
Lol, give up on that.
Oh I did, one of those options that never works like some other applications Ive used before (Windows in general actually).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gniarf View Post
Can you see the rest of the hud, particularly the health bar? What about the ammo indicator?
Everything else shows up the way it should, minus the FOV being absolutely horrid with a 1920X1200 resolution, why cant they make true 16:10 games?!?!? WHYYYYYYYY, but I digress. This error can be reproduced usually upon loading from one save to anther in a relatively quick manner.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gniarf View Post
How I'd love to toss a geballte in there....
Pardon my ignorance, but wtf is a "geballte"? Wait, is that the cluster of grenades in the game? I dont know if you are from the U.S. (if not, your lucky) but figure it might have been a misinterpretation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gniarf View Post
300Gb just for for Vista? If you care about my point of view,that's 250+Gb of wasted 10k rmp space (unless you also have the "my documents" folder on that hdd too, but it doesn't need 10k rpm though).
Yes my documents are in there, the 10,000rpm just excludes Vista from being the blame for any lag, especially if people do not know how to turn off the indexing service. Games are run off of two 1tb hard drives, both with 32 mb cache's. I know hard drives read and write performance tend to decrease when large amounts of data are being stored on them, but the HD with Necrovision has 800 gigs free; 949 after format of course.

Last edited by Devoldo; 05-24-2009 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:28 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Happened once upon gaining access to the labotory on top of "the hill". Havent tried to reproduce this error.
If it happened only once, then let's forget it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Oh I did, one of those options that never works like some other applications Ive used before (Windows in general actually).
I beg to differ, Windows does its job perfectly. I mean, did it ever fail at displaying a BSOD?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Everything else shows up the way it should, minus the FOV being absolutely horrid with a 1920X1200 resolution, why cant they make true 16:10 games?!?!? WHYYYYYYYY, but I digress.
Go to the mod section, there is a fov fix.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
This error can be reproduced usually upon loading from one save to anther in a relatively quick manner.
I might have a look at it - once I've dealt with th s***load of other thing I've to do, but did you fiddle with "Cfg.CrosshairTrans"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Pardon my ignorance, but wtf is a "geballte"? Wait, is that the cluster of grenades in the game? I dont know if you are from the U.S. (if not, your lucky) but figure it might have been a misinterpretation
yep geballte=7grenades strapped together, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Model_24_grenade they mention the geballte.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devoldo View Post
Games are run off of two 1tb hard drives, both with 32 mb cache's. I know hard drives read and write performance tend to decrease when large amounts of data are being stored on them, but the HD with Necrovision has 800 gigs free; 949 after format of course.
Those are details: just put those 1tb drives in raid0 and head seeking times will be neglectables. Besides if you want to scrounge this additional little bit of perf, then there are defragmentation softs that allow you to move some files on outer hdd tracks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.