1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:16 PM
Extreme_One's Avatar
Extreme_One Extreme_One is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 185
Lightbulb Still an issue is an issue

Actually, even as a long time advocate of the IL2 series and eagerly anticipating the new game, I'm curious to know if this annoying issue is any less annoying in the new engine.

Now that we have the available computing power to be able to run the original game at higher and higher settings I wish there was a way of making this issue less of an issue in the current engine.


Of course this doesn't stop me enjoying IL2 as it is and it won't stop me enjoying the new game but it would make my day if there was any improvement to the current situation.

Oh damn! I just fed the troll.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:23 PM
trumps trumps is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 221
Default

nah mate you didn't feed the troll, if Tree's questions or requests were put forth in the same maner as your post there is a good chance that they would be much better recieved by the devs and general comunity.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:28 PM
JG52Uther's Avatar
JG52Uther JG52Uther is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,352
Default

I think you might need to get a new login name Tree, because no matter what you post the loonies jump on it!
I would suggest Tree_UK2,as it will take them months to realise its you!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:28 PM
Tree_UK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extreme_One View Post
Actually, even as a long time advocate of the IL2 series and eagerly anticipating the new game, I'm curious to know if this annoying issue is any less annoying in the new engine.

Now that we have the available computing power to be able to run the original game at higher and higher settings I wish there was a way of making this issue less of an issue in the current engine.


Of course this doesn't stop me enjoying IL2 as it is and it won't stop me enjoying the new game but it would make my day if there was any improvement to the current situation.

Oh damn! I just fed the troll.
Its not a problem in Wings Of Prey, they have got some kind of fade thing going on which stops the buildings suddenly popping up. I would have asked the question sooner but with 10 days from release its the first time ive seen a plane fly over a city, so I think the question is more than relevant. Hopefully the asnswer will be that it was an old beta copy that was given out for review.

Now try and calm down a bit boys, someone needs to ask the awkward questions.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:35 PM
hashi hashi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree_UK View Post
Its not a problem in Wings Of Prey, they have got some kind of fade thing going on which stops the buildings suddenly popping up. I would have asked the question sooner but with 10 days from release its the first time ive seen a plane fly over a city, so I think the question is more than relevant. Hopefully the asnswer will be that it was an old beta copy that was given out for review.

Now try and calm down a bit boys, someone needs to ask the awkward questions.
Its not an awkward question, its a very, very poorly put question.
Again, the underlying "why the building popup" question is great, it needs to be asked, and idealy answered...but mate, dont use implication by question... you have a rubbish way with words that just makes people want you to have an infarction.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:40 PM
Tree_UK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hashi View Post
Its not an awkward question, its a very, very poorly put question.
Again, the underlying "why the building popup" question is great, it needs to be asked, and idealy answered...but mate, dont use implication by question... you have a rubbish way with words that just makes people want you to have an infarction.
I consider my questions to be more direct than others, I would agree with that, however I have experimented with what you would say 'correctly' asked questions and they usually get zero response, especially if there is some truth to them and the dev's just dont want to talk about it. Remember how many times I politley asked to see a screen shot in DX11, well over a year of asking and getting zero response told me that it had been dropped before the official announcement. The direct approach is best at least it stirs up some interest and gets us talking and who knows even the Dev's might just join in??!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:58 PM
Feuerfalke Feuerfalke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree_UK View Post
I consider my questions to be more direct than others, I would agree with that, however I have experimented with what you would say 'correctly' asked questions and they usually get zero response, especially if there is some truth to them and the dev's just dont want to talk about it. Remember how many times I politley asked to see a screen shot in DX11, well over a year of asking and getting zero response told me that it had been dropped before the official announcement. The direct approach is best at least it stirs up some interest and gets us talking and who knows even the Dev's might just join in??!
Yeah, you're awesome and we really have to thank you.
Here, a t-shirt for you:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-15-2011, 06:59 PM
hashi hashi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree_UK View Post
I consider my questions to be more direct than others, I would agree with that, however I have experimented with what you would say 'correctly' asked questions and they usually get zero response, especially if there is some truth to them and the dev's just dont want to talk about it. Remember how many times I politley asked to see a screen shot in DX11, well over a year of asking and getting zero response told me that it had been dropped before the official announcement. The direct approach is best at least it stirs up some interest and gets us talking and who knows even the Dev's might just join in??!
*shrugs*
Meh, whats the point.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-15-2011, 07:04 PM
Feuerfalke Feuerfalke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,345
Default

Nothing. Just another thread with good old Tree: "I just complain about everything and when something does turn out as planned, I tell them I saw it coming."


Be happy, with Tree we've got our very own Sandbox-Nostradamus.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-15-2011, 07:13 PM
Oldschool61 Oldschool61 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feuerfalke View Post
Nothing. Just another thread with good old Tree: "I just complain about everything and when something does turn out as planned, I tell them I saw it coming."


Be happy, with Tree we've got our very own Sandbox-Nostradamus.
I know lets all pray that the pop ups go away!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.