1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Performance threads

Performance threads All discussions about CoD performnce

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2012, 03:49 PM
Robdd1 Robdd1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default Alienware m17x R4

I have the above laptop on order with a 2gb 7970m card, i3720, 8gb ram ......

What's the odds on running COD in a playable format?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2012, 06:04 PM
Robdd1 Robdd1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Well should be with me next week - I shall report my findings!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:37 AM
Codex Codex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hoppers Crossing, Vic, Australia
Posts: 624
Default

A lot of people have reporting good frame rates with that video card, don't know much else about the laptop, usually Alienware are decent gaming rigs, but they're way overpriced for what you get.

Last edited by Codex; 05-28-2012 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2012, 04:24 PM
Robdd1 Robdd1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Hopefully we shall see .... Arrived a week early today!

Yes a little overpriced but when you get 25% discount it does not hurt that much

Time will tell, once going I shall try and report on here.

Quick update - downloaded from steam and it seems perfectly playable, stuck with download and no patching done. No joystick plugged in so using keys but managed to get around over London ok. Did freeze for a second when I took out an oil tank but flew back through smoke no hiccups.

The buildings seemed to take on textures at fairly close distance.

Most settings on high, medium with low forest and no shadows. Not had enough time to tweak settings but should be able to get some flights in now!

Will settle for medium on most settings I think ..... And go from there.

Can I check frame rates via key press?

Last edited by Robdd1; 05-28-2012 at 09:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-31-2012, 02:42 PM
Robdd1 Robdd1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Time for another update -

I have tried some free flight and single missions. I still have a mix of high/medium settings I will update fully later. The game runs at a steady playable rate with the fps running around 30-40 mark, explosions and smoke causes the odd slow down when first going off. Flying low over London and the coastal areas causes no problems. Multiple aircraft again seems not to get in the way of some playable fps.

Hopefully when the next patch arrives the game should run even better.

Happy though as the first time in months I can play the game.

Dcs a10 & blackshark smooth as silk too!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2012, 04:20 AM
Codex Codex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hoppers Crossing, Vic, Australia
Posts: 624
Default

25% off is good in anyone's language. Glad you're liking it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:07 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.