1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Performance threads

Performance threads All discussions about CoD performnce

View Poll Results: Do you think Heliofly's idea would be a good solution?
yes 38 43.68%
no 37 42.53%
maybe, but.. 12 13.79%
Voters: 87. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2011, 01:33 PM
Sternjaeger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default A good idea on the performance issues

Dear friends, I will post Heliofly's brilliant idea below here, with the hope that you might find it a good idea and that somehow our devs will see this one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG4_Helofly View Post
Maybe it would help if there would be a performance difference of about + or - 3% for every plane every time you fly. So even if the enemy flys a slightly faster plane, you don't know if he has a good production model or not. You might even be equally fast with a very well build slower plane. In fact, that's what happened in RL.
if you have ideas on how to further improve the idea please post below.

LINK to the original thread

Last edited by Sternjaeger; 06-13-2011 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 01:44 PM
JG52Krupi's Avatar
JG52Krupi JG52Krupi is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,124
Default

I voted no.

This could lead to an even worse situation than we have atm, some of us don't even have the time to become competent at flying an aircraft that doesn't change everytime you fly it.

This idea could deter future customers, the sim is already complex enough as it is.

Good idea and realistic but not something I would like to see.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
Its a glass half full/half empty scenario, we all know the problems, we all know what needs to be fixed it just some people focus on the water they have and some focus on the water that isnt there....
Gigabyte X58A-UD5 | Intel i7 930 | Corsair H70 | ATI 5970 | 6GB Kingston DDR3 | Intel 160GB G2 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit |
MONITOR: Acer S243HL.
CASE: Thermaltake LEVEL 10.
INPUTS: KG13 Warthog, Saitek Pedals, Track IR 4.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2011, 01:48 PM
Ze-Jamz Ze-Jamz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On your six!!
Posts: 2,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG52Krupi View Post
I voted no.

This could lead to an even worse situation than we have atm, some of us don't even have the time to become competent at flying an aircraft that doesn't change everytime you fly it.

This idea could deter future customers, the sim is already complex enough as it is.

Good idea and realistic but not something I would like to see.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:04 PM
pupo162 pupo162 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,183
Default

i voted yes.

a small balance in fms wont change much, on the overall picture, a 109 will still outrun a hurri, but wont be able to relly on those 2kmh extra against a spit.

Then again, liek everithing in this sim, it should be put as a difficulty option. people who dont want to use it, simple go to servers where its not used.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:13 PM
JG52Krupi's Avatar
JG52Krupi JG52Krupi is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,124
Default

If this goes ahead were going to see 9 times the theads that we currently see , three threads for the max, middle and lowest performance for each aircraft.

Dear oh dear if I were working at MG I would be grabbing my coat after reading this thread...

Seriously we cant agree on one fm for an aircraft how are we going to agree on three per aircraft and how often we get each one......
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
Its a glass half full/half empty scenario, we all know the problems, we all know what needs to be fixed it just some people focus on the water they have and some focus on the water that isnt there....
Gigabyte X58A-UD5 | Intel i7 930 | Corsair H70 | ATI 5970 | 6GB Kingston DDR3 | Intel 160GB G2 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit |
MONITOR: Acer S243HL.
CASE: Thermaltake LEVEL 10.
INPUTS: KG13 Warthog, Saitek Pedals, Track IR 4.

Last edited by JG52Krupi; 06-13-2011 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:26 PM
louisv's Avatar
louisv louisv is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 287
Default

This would be interesting if aircrafts were persistent.

I mean that from one gaming session to the next the plane keeps the same condition (as in A2A's Spitfire), so that in a campaign, you really have your own aircraft. You take care of it with your trusted crew chief...or lone mechanic, and it could be tweaked.

Then it would be interesting. But as it is it would be only frustrating and create situations. So I voted no. Maybe in a year, but only in campaign mode and switchable on or off.

Louisv
__________________
EVGA X58 FTW3 motherboard
Intel 980X CPU, not OC'd yet, 3.46 Mhz
Crucial Tracer memory 8-8-8-24 12GB
Crucial M4 256GB SSD, WD Raptor 600 GB hard disk
EVGA GTX580 graphics card
HP ZR24W Monitor 1900 X 1200 24"
Thrustmaster Warthog joystick
Saitek Combat rudder pedals
TrackIr 5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:29 PM
Sternjaeger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG52Krupi View Post
If this goes ahead were going to see 9 times the theads that we currently see , three threads for the max, middle and lowest performance for each aircraft.

Dear oh dear if I were working at MG I would be grabbing my coat after reading this thread...
I think you are completely missing the point.

The idea, which is a good reflection of what happened in REAL LIFE, could address a lot of the alleged unfairness, by adding a random, unbeknown to the player, performance increase or decrease of a minor percentage.

If anything it could be deactivated as an option, I think you're being too dramatic man
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:37 PM
JG52Krupi's Avatar
JG52Krupi JG52Krupi is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,124
Default

I am not being dramatic I am looking at the big picture. We can't agree on anything in this community thus this will just lead to more arguments.

Also if you do get a rubbish aircraft you will find ppl will turn around and land and keep on doing this until they have the best version, come on we KNOW that this will happen.

Don't get me wrong I like the idea but in practice ppl will try to take advantage of this, I'm just trying to be realistic but I fear I am coming off a pessimist
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
Its a glass half full/half empty scenario, we all know the problems, we all know what needs to be fixed it just some people focus on the water they have and some focus on the water that isnt there....
Gigabyte X58A-UD5 | Intel i7 930 | Corsair H70 | ATI 5970 | 6GB Kingston DDR3 | Intel 160GB G2 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit |
MONITOR: Acer S243HL.
CASE: Thermaltake LEVEL 10.
INPUTS: KG13 Warthog, Saitek Pedals, Track IR 4.

Last edited by JG52Krupi; 06-13-2011 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:39 PM
Vengeanze Vengeanze is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG52Krupi View Post
Also if you do get a rubbish aircraft you will find ppl will turn around and land and keep on doing this until they have the best version, come on we KNOW that this will happen.
I would NEVER do that!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:41 PM
Wolf_Rider Wolf_Rider is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,677
Default

no, none of us would
__________________
Intel 980x | eVGA X58 FTW | Intel 180Gb 520 SSD x 2 | eVGA GTX 580 | Corsair Vengeance 1600 x 12Gb | Windows 7 Ultimate (SP1) 64 bit | Corsair 550D | Corsair HX 1000 PSU | Eaton 1500va UPS | Warthog HOTAS w/- Saitek rudders | Samsung PX2370 Monitor | Deathadder 3500 mouse | MS X6 Keyboard | TIR4

Stand alone Collector's Edition
DCS Series



Even duct tape can't fix stupid... but it can muffle the sound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:51 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.