1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Performance threads

Performance threads All discussions about CoD performnce

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2011, 09:09 PM
TheEditor TheEditor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 221
Default AMD/ATI stuck at 400HMz in game

I've tried getting these 5770's to run at full speed but they would do it in game. I try other games and my cards run at full speed. Anybody have a fix for this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2011, 09:20 PM
Orpheus Orpheus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEditor View Post
I've tried getting these 5770's to run at full speed but they would do it in game. I try other games and my cards run at full speed. Anybody have a fix for this?
Delete or rename the ubisoft logo (logo.wmv) found in steam/steamapps/common/il2 sturmovik cliffs of dover/parts/core/gui

that should sort it out. For me though, it's not done this since the second patch - I hope they're not accidentally reintroducing it somehow.

also http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=19807
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2011, 09:29 PM
TheEditor TheEditor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 221
Default

Thanks man, that fixed it. My fps are back up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2011, 12:44 AM
JZG_Con JZG_Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Posts: 88
Default

same problem ill try this ..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2011, 01:54 AM
Phazon Phazon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 270
Default

Yup, the Ubisoft logo tricks the ATI card into thinking its running a flash game essentially because the movie is played by a flash player which is not usual for games which normally use a video decoder such as Bink instead. Deleting it lets the card detect the game properly, as well as giving you a much quicker menu loading time.

The file might be redownloaded with future updates through Steam so you will have to delete it each time.

As for questions to whether the bug is still around or not, I no longer use my old HD4870 which did get it so I can't confirm. The newer HD6000 series cards don't seem to suffer from this issue but I delete the logo anyway just to be sure.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2011, 09:59 AM
Orpheus Orpheus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 235
Default

Yeah I've not had it with my 5770's since the second patch or so. I do rename it, but as the update always restores the file I get one try with it before renaming again to remove it, just to see.

@ The Editor - how's your crossfire working? Mine is still terrible, framerate's up & down like a midget on a trampoline and around half of what I get with a single card, terrible stutter etc. Just wondering if I'm the only who can't get xfire working now

Last edited by Orpheus; 06-27-2011 at 10:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2011, 09:05 PM
IAF_Phantom IAF_Phantom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Cool! it works! amazing! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2012, 09:58 AM
broken pixel broken pixel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: KDWH
Posts: 73
Default

I sold my 6990 and now I'm using my 6970. The problem with the horrid FPS drops are gone with just running a single card rather than the 6990 & 6970. I'm switching back to Nvidia going for a GTX 680 4GB. I installed my my old 8800 ultra and was able to play IL2 COD with a GPU from 2006, lol! It looked like crap but I was able to play. I hope the devs are able to fix the issue because I would like to get another 680 once the price drops after the GTX685 is released sometime in Oct, Dec.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.