1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Vehicle and Terrain threads

Vehicle and Terrain threads Discussions about environment and vehicles in CoD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-28-2011, 10:36 AM
IvanK IvanK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 886
Default

Great stuff. What are you using for your altitude information though ?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-28-2011, 10:52 AM
322Sqn_Dusty's Avatar
322Sqn_Dusty 322Sqn_Dusty is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 214
Default

Something like this I guess?

http://www.raf.mod.uk/raflyneham/raf...55130C1227.pdf (opened on 18 May 1940 as Number 33 MU).

They speak of pression regions. This refers to Altimeter Setting Regions (ASRs). The QFE (Field Elevation) is for the field reading only. So indeed VBF-12_Gosling's, Enroute Supplement - Channel, is handy for the fields on approach and operating (thank you for those!). Most of the time (nowadays) the standard pressure setting 1,013.25 [hPa] is used for transits on flightlevel. Imho when running a dedicated server (and for the die-hards) it could be the case that the settings are given in a briefing. On deciding the field the pressures are given and the pilot takes note.

And for those that can't be bothered with setting up the gyro's compasses and altimeters.. ..
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.4
Coolermaster 850w PSu
Sapphire HD6970 2GB
8Gb Ram B.Dragon
Kingston SSD
Win 7 64
Logitech G940
Saitek Quadrant


Last edited by 322Sqn_Dusty; 10-28-2011 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-28-2011, 11:10 AM
Bonkin's Avatar
Bonkin Bonkin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 322Sqn_Dusty View Post
Something like this I guess?

http://www.raf.mod.uk/raflyneham/raf...55130C1227.pdf

They speak of pression regions. This refers to Altimeter Setting Regions (ASRs). The QFE (Field Elevation) is for the field reading only. So indeed VBF-12_Gosling's, Enroute Supplement - Channel, is handy for the fields on approach and operating (thank you for those!). Most of the time (nowadays) the standard pressure setting 1,013.25 [hPa] is used for transits on flightlevel.
You could also have a read on the NATS website... checkout http://www.nats-uk.ead-it.com/public...Itemid=11.html and scroll down the page until you find "Altimeter Setting Procedures". This explains how it should be done today.

Also look at the links on the left hand side. You can select "Aerodrome Index - Specific" and for those airfields still active, i.e. Biggen Hill, pull up the aerodrome chart. Biggen for example, has an elevation of 599ft amsl.
__________________
Intel® Core™ i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
ASUS P8P67 Rev3
EVGA 1280MB GeForce GTX 570 HD Superclocked
8 GB DDR3-1600-Corsair Vengeance
750W Corsair Enthusiast 750TXV2UK PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Microsoft Sidewinder 2 FFB and NaturalPoint TrackIR3
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-28-2011, 11:42 AM
322Sqn_Dusty's Avatar
322Sqn_Dusty 322Sqn_Dusty is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 214
Default

Indeed a good read. I don't know how much the methods differ from the RAF during WW2. Multiple sources give opposite answers (crews pilots). I'm aware that we don't fly software as FSX etc and most won't bother and just spend some ammo on targets, i find it interesting to 'fly' the Cliffs as the original crews and pilots did as far as ingame realism lets me.

How 1C imagined this is one of my questions.
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.4
Coolermaster 850w PSu
Sapphire HD6970 2GB
8Gb Ram B.Dragon
Kingston SSD
Win 7 64
Logitech G940
Saitek Quadrant

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-28-2011, 11:51 AM
Varrattu Varrattu is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 168
Default

For every flight / take off the REICHSWETTERDIENST prepared a weather forecast for start location and destination. Also included was the QFE for departure aerodrome and destination aerodrome. For this they used the form --Vordruck RWD F2--.

Source: Der Flugbetrieb der Luftwaffe, L.Dv.5/1Regards Varrattu
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
_______________
ASUS M4A77TD Pro,
Phenom II X4 @3,4GHz,
2x4gb DDR3-1600
Gainward GTX 560 Ti 2gb
Creative X-FI Titanium YJSB0880
Logitech G15 & G940 (firmware 1.42)
FeeTrack 2.2.0.279

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSix View Post
... We could not make a lot of what we wanted to make for the CloD.

Last edited by Varrattu; 10-28-2011 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-28-2011, 01:57 PM
namroob namroob is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanK View Post
Yep as long as you know the Airfield altitude .... where do you get that from ?

Other option might be the Mission file if Mission pressure is stored in there ?
I haven't got CLOD yet (waiting for a PC that will run it) but one thing that won't have changed in the last 71 years is terrain elevation so I guess I'll check out airfield elevations via any modern map - perhaps Google Maps or something similar will give elevation info for those not resident in the UK? It doesn't need to be exact since baro pressure is constantly changing anyway. I've also got old aviation charts lying around.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-28-2011, 07:51 PM
322Sqn_Dusty's Avatar
322Sqn_Dusty 322Sqn_Dusty is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 214
Default

Interesting test.
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.4
Coolermaster 850w PSu
Sapphire HD6970 2GB
8Gb Ram B.Dragon
Kingston SSD
Win 7 64
Logitech G940
Saitek Quadrant

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-29-2011, 07:09 AM
IvanK IvanK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 886
Default

You can determine the exact elevation in metres using FMB. Place an object on the ground then read the Z co ordinate in the bottom left corner. Using this you can determine each airfields elevation. If you park your aircraft on the ground and set your altimeter to the exact known altitude you then automatically have the correct atmospheric pressure (QNH) for the map.

Here are all the UK airfield elevations obtained from QMB and verified in game. I will compile the whole lot into a single PDF once all the data is in. Apologies to the French if the spelling is a bit off

IL2 STURMOVIK CLIFFS OF DOVER AIRFIELD ELEVATIONS

UK AIRFIELDS
Bembridge 13m 43ft
Biggin Hill 179m 587ft
Boscombe Down 127m 417ft
Canterbury 51m 167ft
Croydon 101m 331ft
Eastchurch 7m 23ft
Farnborough 77m 253ft
Ford 1m 3ft
Gatwick 60m 197ft
Gosport 1m 3ft
Gravesend 63m 207ft <<< Edit
Hamble 20m 66ft
Harewell 120m 394ft
Hawkinge 158m 518ft
Heathrow 23m 75ft
Hendon 50m 163ft
Heston 30m 98ft
Hornchurch 10m 33ft
Kenley 174m 571ft
Larkhill 114m 374ft
Lee On Solent 10m 33ft
Littlestone 22m 72ft
Lympne 100m 328ft
Maidstone 84m 275ft
Manston 44m 14ft
Netheravon 119m 390ft
North Weald 80m 262ft
Northolt 37m 121ft
Old Sarum 79m 259ft
Portsmouth 1m 3ft
Ramsgate 47m 154ft
Reading 46m 151ft
Redhill 24m 79ft
Rochester 130m 426ft
Rochford 10m 33ft
Ryde 52m 171ft
Salisbury 131m 430ft
Sandown 21m 69ft
Southhampton 9m 30ft
Tangmere 12m 40ft
Thorney Island 1m 3ft
Upavon 147m 482ft
Watchfield 100m 328ft
West Hampnett 21m 69ft
White Waltham 36m 118ft
Willimington 22m 72ft
Yatesbury 170m 558ft

FRENCH AIRFIELDS
Abbeville 61m 200ft
Achiet Grevillers 127m 417ft
Amiens Allonville 89m 292ft
Amiens Glisy 59m 194ft
Aras St Liger 109m 358ft
Arras 98m 321ft
Audembert 42m 138ft
Barly 122m 400ft
Barly 112m 367ft
Beamont Le Roger 139m 456ft
Beauvais Nivllers 120m 394ft
Beauvais Tille 99m 325ft
Berk 1m 3ft
Bernay St Martin 161m 528ft
Bolsjean Ecuires 57m 187ft
Brias 150m 492ft
Brombos 191m 627ft
Bulougne Alperch 69m 226ft
Caen Carpiquet 61m 200ft
Caffiers 112m 367ft
Calms Marck 2m 7ft
Carquebut 20m 197ft
Champ Les Guines 75m 246ft
Colembert 198m 649ft
Coquelles 13m 43ft
Cramont Yurtench 121m 397ft
Crecy 141m 462ft
Creil 101m 331ft
Crepon 59m 194ft
Deanville St Gatien 140m 459ft
Desures 200m 656ft
Dieppe 101m 331ft
Estree 80m 262ft
Grandvilliers 180m 590ft
Guines 46m 151ft
Haute Fontaine 180m 590ft
Horm Elingen 161m 528ft
Hydrequent 78m 256ft
Le Havre Octeville96m 314ft
Le Touquet 1m 3ft
Licescourt 70m 230ft
Marquise West 24m 79ft
Merville calonne 9m 30ft
Monchy Briton 150m 492ft
Montdidier 108m 354ft
Oye- Plage 2m 7ft
Persan Beaumont 42m 138ft
Peuplinguess 101m 331ft
Pihen 96m 315ft
Plumetot 40m 131ft
Poiy Nord 171m 561ft
Querqueville 1m 3ft
Rezy Norrent fontes 94m 308ft
Rosieres En Santifer 82m 269ft
Rouen Boos 140m 459ft
Roye Amy 83m 272ft
Samer 61m 200ft
Sempy 120m 394ft
St Inglewert 129m 423ft
St Omer Arques 29m 95ft
St Omer Clairmarrias 9m 29ft
St Omer Wizennes 78m 256ft
Theville 135m 443ft
Tramecourt 126m 413ft
Wailly Beauchamp 51m 167ft
Wissant 21m 69ft
Yvrench 110m 361ft
Zuterque 36m 118ft

SC/JG_Ivank Oct 2012

PDF of the list in Post #35

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showpos...8&postcount=35

Last edited by IvanK; 10-30-2011 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-29-2011, 04:12 PM
Bonkin's Avatar
Bonkin Bonkin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesehawk View Post
I have made extensive tests on this, and yes, I cannot get radar to report anything at all. I've tried adding AI Actor airports, AA, power on, everything I can think of, including adding radio towers/trucks, etc. If there are no other friendlies in the air, I cannot receive a report. I can get radio messages telling me to join the pattern if I put airport towers up, so its not that there are no messages, just cannot figure out how to make radar ones work.

On the other hand, even removing all radar objects (except the map default ones), I can receive reports when 2 flights of aircraft get within visual range of each other. Even testing from the German side, where there are no map default radars, I can get contact reports as long as German aircraft (AI or Player) get within range of enemy a/c.

I've tried at least 20 times, adding up to 50 radar stations of all types onto the map, and consistently these are the results I get. However, I could still be doing something wrong, (maybe a script or trigger set?), so it might be possible in game to get radar, but neither I nor anyone else I've asked can figure out the method.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanK View Post
You can determine the exact elevation in metres using FMB. Place an object on the ground then read the Z co ordinate in the bottom left corner. Using this you can determine each airfields elevation. If you park your aircraft on the ground and set your altimeter to the exact known altitude you then automatically have the correct atmospheric pressure (QNH) for the map.

Here are all the UK airfield elevations obtained from QMB and verified in game. I will compile the whole lot into a single PDF once all the data is in. Apologies to the French if the spelling is a bit off
Guys (Cheesehawk and IvanK), thanks for the explanation and effort that you've put into this.

When the dynamic weather is fully integrated I'm looking forward to seeing where it takes us. I like to fly full real and am hoping that we'll have to take account of pressure settings for navigation and finding the enemy. I also imagine that knowing the height of an aerodrome above sea level might be useful for high level bombing - but currently that's a whole part of the game I've yet to look into.
__________________
Intel® Core™ i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
ASUS P8P67 Rev3
EVGA 1280MB GeForce GTX 570 HD Superclocked
8 GB DDR3-1600-Corsair Vengeance
750W Corsair Enthusiast 750TXV2UK PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Microsoft Sidewinder 2 FFB and NaturalPoint TrackIR3
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-30-2011, 11:41 AM
Osprey's Avatar
Osprey Osprey is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 1,264
Default

No Gravesend in the list?

Still, I understand it's too risky to bomb, what with No.501 County of Gloucester being stationed there
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.