1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: Armored Princess > Technical problems and solutions

Technical problems and solutions Armored Princess questions and solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:23 AM
Setanta Setanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default kb.exe has stopped working on startup

Hi there,

I just bought the game through Direct2Drive. Having installed it and run it, the game loads to a black window and then I get a windows message "kb.exe has stopped working". I can run other games such as Borderlands, Dragon Age, Arkham Asylum without and problems - I can even run the original King's Bounty (which I purchased with Armored Princess) without an issue. I've gone through the support page and tried all the workarounds/suggestions to no avail. I've tried running as administrator, DEP is off etc.

I've included a truncated copy of dxdiag below:

Thank you

Quote:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 12/12/2009, 14:56:01
Machine name: xxxx
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.090803-2339)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Acer
System Model: Aspire 5738
BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P7450 @ 2.13GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
Memory: 3066MB RAM
Page File: 1088MB used, 14382MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce G 105M
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce G 105M
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_06EC&SUBSYS_02051025&REV_A1
Display Memory: 1776 MB
Dedicated Memory: 499 MB
Shared Memory: 1277 MB
Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
Driver Name: nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll
Driver Version: 7.15.0011.7930 (English)
DDI Version: 10
BGRA Supported: Yes
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 12/17/2008 10:03:00, 5971968 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-45AC-11CF-6F6D-0E2201C2CA35}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x06EC
SubSys ID: 0x02051025
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeVC1_C ModeWMV9_C

Last edited by Setanta; 12-12-2009 at 04:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:53 PM
Setanta Setanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Just as an update, I downloaded the demo and it runs fine. Direct 2 Drive corrupt file on the game download?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:59 AM
Coin-coin le Canapin's Avatar
Coin-coin le Canapin Coin-coin le Canapin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 68
Default

Did you try to re download it?
Maybe your file was corrupted.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 01:48 AM
Setanta Setanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I'm an Aussie and have to watch out that I don't get capped (we have monthly download limits set by our ISPs). When it installed the file-checker it all came up as ok - but I guess that I might have to bite the bullet and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:27 PM
rattaplan rattaplan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I've got exactly the same problem.
Downloaded the game from Direct2Drive and after a brief black screen I get a "kb.exe has stopped working" error. Tried running it as an administrator, as well, to no avail. I'm on Win 7.

FYI, the Zip file unzipped without a problem so it's doubtful that the file was corrupted during download.

Here's some extra information about the error (in case it's useful).
Quote:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: kb.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4a51a438
Fault Module Name: kb.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a51a438
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0023b051
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1043
Additional Information 1: b856
Additional Information 2: b85601dbefe83727fb9d28848a0ac799
Additional Information 3: 7b15
Additional Information 4: 7b156abb17e114d87a57441eb6c74993

Last edited by rattaplan; 12-13-2009 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2009, 11:44 PM
gtcjr1 gtcjr1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Same Problem

I'm having the same problem, anyone have any idea on how to fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2009, 11:36 AM
rattaplan rattaplan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Anything known about this issue yet?
I've tried Direct2Drive technical support but all I got from them was the suggestion to go and ask support from the game developers..

P.S. I've tried the demo and that worked fine for some reason.

Last edited by rattaplan; 12-15-2009 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2009, 11:41 AM
Nike-it's Avatar
Nike-it Nike-it is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 3,390
Default

This issue is forwarded to the devs. I'll post the answer, when I get one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2009, 11:54 AM
Nike-it's Avatar
Nike-it Nike-it is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 3,390
Default

Guys, please post the size of the KB.exe please.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:33 PM
rattaplan rattaplan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

The size of my "kb.exe" is 19.022 kb.

Incidentally, I've got some more information that may perhaps prove useful for the devs.
As an experiment I just installed the game on one of my older PC's (with WinXP) and the game booted up without a hitch.
So it looks like this issue is concentrated to Vista and Win7 only.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.