1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #191  
Old 10-19-2011, 12:02 PM
He111's Avatar
He111 He111 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 707
Default

As most PC games released these days are bug cities, I think we should create a new date - PRD - "Playable release date" or RRD etc, usually 6-8 months after.

Of course this is bad news for developers as no-one will buy on the RD, they'll wait for PRD, smashing their profits. Although DLCs will be more valuable?

.
__________________
.
========================================
.
.....--oOo-- --oOo-- HE-111 --oOo-- --oOo--.....
.
========================================
-oOo- Intel i7-2600K (non-clocked) -oOo- GA-P67A
-oOo- DF 85 full tower -oOo- 1000W corsair
-oOo- 8 GB 1600Hz -oOo- 2 x GTX 580 1.5M (295.73)
-oOo- 240 SSD -oOo- W7 64bit
-oOo- PB2700 LED 2560 x 1440 6ms 60Hz -oOo-
========================================
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 10-19-2011, 12:41 PM
justme262 justme262 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 138
Default

The first beta patch would run the black death track at 55-60 fps.
The second beta patch dropped to 25-30fps.
This patch also runs at 25-30fps.

Epilepsy filter was off. driver was 285.27
I rolled back to 280.26 and changed resolution. Now getting 55-60 fps again.
Strange thing is I had the rez really low at 1360x and truned it UP to 1600x and fps went up! Or at least back to normal. Don't know what is causing these big dropps in fps for some of us but try changing your rez and drivers. It got nothing to do with epilepsy filter anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 10-19-2011, 02:38 PM
T}{OR's Avatar
T}{OR T}{OR is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justme262 View Post
The first beta patch would run the black death track at 55-60 fps.
The second beta patch dropped to 25-30fps.
This patch also runs at 25-30fps.

Epilepsy filter was off. driver was 285.27
I rolled back to 280.26 and changed resolution. Now getting 55-60 fps again.
Strange thing is I had the rez really low at 1360x and truned it UP to 1600x and fps went up! Or at least back to normal. Don't know what is causing these big dropps in fps for some of us but try changing your rez and drivers. It got nothing to do with epilepsy filter anyway.
Went from 275.33 to 285.38 and didn't see a difference at all. Minimal, but nothing to write home about.

This patch is for ATI/AMD owners, Nvidia performance is terrible. Back to the shelf with this one and waiting for the next official patch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by T}{OR View Post
Specs:

i52500k @ 4.5 GHz
Asus P8P67 EVO
GTX 580 Lightning (driver v. 275.33)
2x4 GB RAM

Res: 1920x1200

EDIT: And no, I don't have Epilepsy Filter on.
__________________

LEVEL BOMBING MANUAL v2.0 | Dedicated Bomber Squadron
'MUSTANG' - compilation of online air victories

Last edited by T}{OR; 10-19-2011 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 10-19-2011, 02:55 PM
justme262 justme262 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 138
Default

Well it is working with great fps now. usually 50-60fps.

I have everything on high except trees and land lighting and can fly full power at tree tops at 50+fps with almost undetectable stuttering. abet with low rez 1360x768

I really don't know what was causing my fps to drop to around 30 but it sucked bad! And I'm glad it stopped. I couldn't play at that rate.

Anyway the game is now working better than ever and the smoothness is probably worth the cost in pretty graphics. The bf109 cockpit just doesn't look as good IMO. Still over all very happy.
Great game we have here now!
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 10-19-2011, 02:55 PM
Wintergoose Wintergoose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 20
Default

Flying again, just wants to tell you.
The "Verify Integrity of Game Cache" made the download start. (on the game lib-property-local files menu.
Thanks to Tully_
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 10-19-2011, 02:58 PM
justme262 justme262 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T}{OR View Post
Went from 275.33 to 285.33 and didn't see a difference at all. Minimal, but nothing to write home about.

This patch is for ATI/AMD owners, Nvidia performance is terrible. Back to the shelf with this one and waiting for the next official patch.
Did you trying changing your resolution?
Just change it, load a mission and change it back. That's all I did and it seemed to fix the FPS issue I was having.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:14 PM
T}{OR's Avatar
T}{OR T}{OR is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justme262 View Post
Did you trying changing your resolution?
Just change it, load a mission and change it back. That's all I did and it seemed to fix the FPS issue I was having.
Changing resolution down and up helped. Now I can play again. Still not as fast as in the last patch, but playable.
__________________

LEVEL BOMBING MANUAL v2.0 | Dedicated Bomber Squadron
'MUSTANG' - compilation of online air victories
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:22 PM
Vonte Vonte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hinckley Middle England
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torian View Post
Hi Vonte,
Your system is pretty basic for such a demanding game. With a 32bit version of Windows u are limited to how much Ram u can utilise and this game definitely benefits from 8gb of system memory or more under a 64bit windows.
I would definitely turn trees and shadows OFF as both of these will stress your graphics and eat your framerates.
You may benefit from setting Textures to medium as well.
Be careful what u let your nVidia gpu settings do as they may be trying to force settings that also are sucking up your gpu processing power. I would personally set most of them to application controlled and then set whatever want in the game settings.
Hope this helps.
Hi Torian
Hear what you said about GPU settings, but you are contradicted by PC Pilots excellent article on "how to improve fps". Their tests proved that letting the application tell the GPU what 3D settings it required was grossly inefficient. Still I'm, no expert, I just want to fly combat missions. From all the sufferers of Launcher exe failures on forums, I know I'm not alone. My "crap" PC flies Gaijins Beta "World of Planes" just fine!!
Thanks for replying anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:38 PM
T}{OR's Avatar
T}{OR T}{OR is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 833
Default

No luck. It works now, but on a quick mission "Allied column attack" or smth. every time I get on 109's 6 OC I get CTD. At first I thought I might have an unstable OC but the same happens with stock settings.

Shelving it until the next patch. There are other simulations out there to play until this comes out of beta.
__________________

LEVEL BOMBING MANUAL v2.0 | Dedicated Bomber Squadron
'MUSTANG' - compilation of online air victories
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 10-19-2011, 05:06 PM
desigabri desigabri is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Default Ihave the same experience....

about your post, I wrote e long report here some days ago, intended as feedback about driver or bug troubles, but when I was very next to the end of the report, I closed the page for mistake and then warried thinking to rewrite it again

So I take this your post and add my results only:
I get better results at 1920x1080 resolution then 1600x1200, 1372x???, 1024x768.

To semplify it I got at the higher quality settings possible:

17fps for 1920x...
15fps for 1600x...
11fps for 1372x...
7fps for 1024x...

on the London mission flying among 50mt and down to the houses level.

I think it is a problem of COD and not about drivers but I'm not sure. What about it?

I would like to try the acclamated "black death" track, but I can't find it anywhere. could you post a link to download the track?



Quote:
Originally Posted by justme262 View Post
The first beta patch would run the black death track at 55-60 fps.
The second beta patch dropped to 25-30fps.
This patch also runs at 25-30fps.

Epilepsy filter was off. driver was 285.27
I rolled back to 280.26 and changed resolution. Now getting 55-60 fps again.
Strange thing is I had the rez really low at 1360x and truned it UP to 1600x and fps went up! Or at least back to normal. Don't know what is causing these big dropps in fps for some of us but try changing your rez and drivers. It got nothing to do with epilepsy filter anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.