1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-12-2012, 11:47 AM
tintifaxl tintifaxl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpang788 View Post
whats a good cpu to get?
I am very content with mine, see my sig.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-12-2012, 12:04 PM
Talbot Talbot is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335th_GRAthos View Post
Congrats!

Looking forward to hear what these 4Gb bring!

~S~
Nothing more than GTX 670 2GB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-12-2012, 12:24 PM
Rince Rince is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canary Islands, Fuerteventura
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintifaxl View Post
I am very content with mine, see my sig.
+1 ihave the same one. I am running the cpu with stock speed, and it's ok for Il-2 cod. Good thing: you can overclock the cpu very easy up to 4 mhz and just need to buy an quality fan for cooling. With a water cooled system you can screw it up to 5 ghz.

When i am going to try this ( with a bigger gpu card,right now it fits together quite well), i'll write down my experience. I can recommend my board aswell. You can go sli and its very easy to overclock (i gave it a try, but didn't dare to leave it like this...) aaaaand the price is good.
I have the z68 asrock 3 gen.

Last edited by Rince; 10-12-2012 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-12-2012, 01:40 PM
335th_GRAthos 335th_GRAthos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talbot View Post
Nothing more than GTX 670 2GB

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-12-2012, 01:56 PM
Mysticpuma's Avatar
Mysticpuma Mysticpuma is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 1,047
Default

Well the extra 2Gb came at a price of £25 more than the 2Gb version....so no reason not to have the headroom.

I realise on a dual card the Memory would be split 2GBx2GB for each processor.....but as I only have a single card I thought it'd be nice to have the headroom available

It's a step up from my previous card which only had 1GB memory onboard....but worked brilliantly in everything (bar CloD!).

http://uk.msi.com/product/vga/N560GT...ozr-II-OC.html

Just a few clips of video to render.....and then I'm going in
__________________
http://i41.tinypic.com/2yjr679.png
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-12-2012, 07:26 PM
Jaws2002 Jaws2002 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 851
Default

Congrats. It's always fun to play with new hardware. you should see a solid improvement going from one gig of video memory to four gigs. CLOD doesn't like less then 1.5GB.
I wish you luck with the overclocking. Just be more careful than I was.. I had the 2600k running smooth at 4.5GHz for a year and a half and one morning when I started the computer, it just told me to pi$$ off. After a solid inspection I saw the one inch whole it burned into the motherboard. . The cpu was fried as well of course. I got myself a new Asus Sabertooth Z77 and a new i7 3770k and got it running again. Now I'll be a bit more conservative with the overclocking.
__________________
----------------------------------------
Asus Sabertooth Z77
i7 3770k@4.3GHz+ Noctua NH D14 cooler
EVGA GTX 780 Superclocked+ACX cooler.
8GB G.Skill ripjaws DDR3-1600
Crucial M4 128GB SSD+Crucial M4 256GB SSD
Seagate 750GB HDD
CH Fighterstick+CH Pro pedals+Saitek X45
Win7 64bit

Last edited by Jaws2002; 10-12-2012 at 07:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-12-2012, 07:31 PM
gpang788 gpang788 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintifaxl View Post
I am very content with mine, see my sig.
What fps are you getting?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-12-2012, 09:59 PM
Sokol1's Avatar
Sokol1 Sokol1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335th_GRAthos View Post
Congrats!

Looking forward to hear what these 4Gb bring!

~S~
Review:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/gra...x-670-4gb.html

Sokol1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-13-2012, 07:17 AM
r0bc r0bc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freycinet View Post
I have a 580 with 4gb ram, would it make a big difference to get a 680? - Or 670? - What's the difference between those two btw?

My specs:
Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
Memory (RAM) 6.00 GB
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
SSD

OC that CPU...it's got lots of life left in it.
I wouldn't upgrade the GPU yet, wait for next gen unless your rich ... If you are upgrade everything who gives a shit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.