1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King`s Bounty: Warriors of the North

King`s Bounty: Warriors of the North Next game in the award-winning King’s Bounty series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141  
Old 05-12-2018, 12:50 PM
raknefne raknefne is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 361
Default

I'll hand it over to Terroin. Annoying if Windows 10 means it cannot be played... hm...
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 05-17-2018, 01:27 PM
Terroin Terroin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default Windows 10 error

Could you try to run the game, the EXE file in compatible mode?

see link for info - I think this would work!

https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/s...ode-windows-10
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 05-17-2018, 02:30 PM
CarryNL CarryNL is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I tried Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows XP SP3 and even Windows Vista SP2... all attempts crashed
I first set the compatibility level manually and afterwards let Windows determine it with the troubleshooter but there was no difference there.

The error message changed a bit though, see screendump.
I tried running the executable without any compatibility settings, just to see if I would get the previous error message but the error came back as in the latest screenshot.
I guess that must have something to do with the big Windows update that was installed recently.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error starting Bonfire (2).jpg (150.9 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 05-18-2018, 05:05 AM
CarryNL CarryNL is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Quick update: I have it working, sort of.

This is what I did:
I copied the original game folder to KBWotN ORIGINAL and renamed the unzipped Bonfire folder to KBWotN BONFIRE.
That left me with three folders: KBWotN, ORIGINAL and BONFIRE.
I then compared KBWotN and BONFIRE and copied all different/missing files from BONFIRE to KBWotN, one folder at a time, and tried to run the game after each copy.
I have now copied all files except for sessions\addon\loc_ses.kfs and sessions\addon\ses.kfs and I can start the Bonfire campaign, create a new game and pick a hero, walk around, pick up the rune and leadership flag and talk to the characters in the game. I even had the wizard make a rage fountain and the game keeper sold me a unicorn

I have to go to work now but I hope to experiment later today when I get back.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 05-19-2018, 06:40 AM
CarryNL CarryNL is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Default

It works!
I added the last two files (loc_ses.kfs and ses.kfs) and the game worked when I started it.
I guess it's some increased security in Windows 10 that blocked the unzipped game from working, but if you only unzip the data, sessions and sourcemedia folders as well as binkw32.dll, Bonfire Sets Guide.docx, GameuxInstallHelper.dll, Patch info.txt, steam_appid.txt and Trooptalk.txt from the downloaded Bonfire zipfile and copy those over the existing files, it works like a charm

I'm off to explore an entirely new perspective on Olaf

Last edited by CarryNL; 05-19-2018 at 09:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 05-23-2018, 01:28 PM
raknefne raknefne is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 361
Default

Good to hear. Did u copy ontop of existing wotn original game? That will bring problems if u did...

Seems we should find a way for easy installing in windows 10 ...
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 05-23-2018, 07:15 PM
CarryNL CarryNL is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I copied on top of an existing WotN + Ice and Fire game.
I'm just a casual gamer and I don't play that often, so I haven't had any problems yet... but I'll make sure to save often.

If you need someone to test out a new way of installing, I'm more than happy to help
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 05-27-2018, 07:52 AM
raknefne raknefne is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 361
Default

I'm surprised it worked copied ontop of existing. We probably won't do more about Bonfire, working on Bonfire 2. But seems Terroin don't have much time, therefor I'm onto making a complete new campaing for the Chrossworld game (new story, new maps).

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=230150
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 05-30-2018, 10:34 PM
Indoctrine Indoctrine is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Default

What about my problem? I have message "You are not allowed to play this game" after choosing difficult level and clicking continue.
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 06-05-2018, 05:01 AM
raknefne raknefne is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 361
Default

I don't understand. Can u say more. Do u have windows 10?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.