1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik

IL-2 Sturmovik The famous combat flight simulator.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2011, 12:22 AM
IceFire IceFire is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,879
Default Bessarabia map bug? FPS issue?

Over on UK-Dedicated we just debuted a new Odessa scenario and during the testing for the scenario I noticed an unusual FPS drop. Long story short I determined that if I look towards Odessa (or in the general direction of) there is a FPS drop.

I can take pictures of where I was flying later but I've determined it's not a online thing. It also seems to affect other people so it's not my system (to my knowledge).

I'm not exactly sure what is causing it but my FPS goes from a normal 90-100fps looking anywhere around on the map down to a stuttery 15fps when looking in the one direction. Key thing is that I'm several grids out (maybe 60 kph) from Odessa so it's not like I'm flying directly over the city. It's not even visible. But something is sucking the FPS up.

Can someone else confirm? Does anyone else know why this is?
__________________
Find my missions and much more at Mission4Today.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2011, 01:55 AM
FlatSpinMan FlatSpinMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Land of the Rising Sun
Posts: 45
Default

I find that map is hard to run, too. In one mission to attack an airfield, sorry, forget where but it's nowhere near Odessa, the game slows right down, even with just a few planes in the air.
In this case I think it's the high level of detail at the base.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2011, 06:37 AM
vpmedia vpmedia is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

The invisible airfield plates which they use to smooth out the runways are a real fps killer...the worst is Burma,Imphal field and Norway,Banf
If you remove them the framerate gets higher but on full real settings the aircraft tends to jump a lot due to lack of these smoothing plates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2011, 01:51 PM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vpmedia View Post
The invisible airfield plates which they use to smooth out the runways are a real fps killer...the worst is Burma,Imphal field and Norway,Banf
If you remove them the framerate gets higher but on full real settings the aircraft tends to jump a lot due to lack of these smoothing plates.
As we now have the ability to set smoothness via FMB, could these not be permanently deleted?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2011, 10:32 PM
IceFire IceFire is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vpmedia View Post
The invisible airfield plates which they use to smooth out the runways are a real fps killer...the worst is Burma,Imphal field and Norway,Banf
If you remove them the framerate gets higher but on full real settings the aircraft tends to jump a lot due to lack of these smoothing plates.
Really? So that's what causes that... There is a very large grass airfield near Odessa so perhaps that is what is causing it. Still this seems worse than usual... I know what you mean about Imphal but my FPS doesn't drop when I'm 3 or 4 grids away. Not unless the effect is somehow exponential?
__________________
Find my missions and much more at Mission4Today.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2011, 05:17 AM
katdogfizzow katdogfizzow is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 296
Default

Yes Ive experienced these "fps sinkholes" too on tc_hawaii and and truk island. However, I believe it can be fixed because new version "truk v3.3" seems to have fixed the sinkhole over the main port. Maybe it was due too some detailed piers/objects...I think the piers were changed. Hard to say. but it was even doing it in the editor if you monitor with fraps
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2011, 07:27 AM
EJGr.Ost_Caspar EJGr.Ost_Caspar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorin View Post
As we now have the ability to set smoothness via FMB, could these not be permanently deleted?

Probably for mission builder, but it should also be usable for 'normal' players, who just want to take a fast ride.
__________________

----------------------------------------------
For bugreports, help and support contact:
daidalos.team@googlemail.com

For modelers - The IL-2 standard modeling specifications:
IL-Modeling Bible
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2011, 08:22 AM
Romanator21 Romanator21 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 505
Default

All I can say on the matter is that I definitely had huge issues running Bessarabia and Slovakia, etc. I wouldn't think about running the Solomons, but even on the small online maps I would encounter occasional, but drastic loss of frame rates. I noticed my laptop was getting really hot, but I dismissed it. Suddenly I got a "Blue Screen of Death".

Doh!

I took it apart and cleaned out 1/2 cm pad of DUST from the heat sink. Now it runs cool and I have no problems, and Bessarabia runs as smoothly as Smolensk. I don't have a top-of-the-line machine either.

Note: This has to be done every couple years or so, but it's recommended to take it to a specialist who knows what he's doing. You take a big risk going in there yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2011, 09:06 AM
yogy yogy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ER.DE
Posts: 19
Default

I am responsible for this map (with several people contributing, incl. Caspar...). So, first of all, thanks for choosing the map! I never saw an Odessa-scenario, so it looks as if I gotta visit your server!

Concerning Bessarabia itelf:
1) The "basic map" has one of the highest numer of objects together with Slovakia, therefore it is only natural that it needs more resources then other maps.
2) If you want to play in the Odessa area, better use the Odessa-Online map which has a significantly lower number of objects.
3)
Quote:
Long story short I determined that if I look towards Odessa
This may also be caused by the concentrated mass of objects in Odessa (as in every city). Please check wether you have a similar effect i.e. if you look towards Berlin (which is located on the Berlin map )
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2011, 09:21 AM
EJGr.Ost_Caspar EJGr.Ost_Caspar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 939
Default

... or Leningrad.
__________________

----------------------------------------------
For bugreports, help and support contact:
daidalos.team@googlemail.com

For modelers - The IL-2 standard modeling specifications:
IL-Modeling Bible
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:45 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.