1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #111  
Old 02-17-2013, 06:33 PM
zahnartz62's Avatar
zahnartz62 zahnartz62 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Allen,TX
Posts: 101
Default

I tired again to add CloDer.exe to exception list but removed before completed by trend micro. I will call them tomorrow and discuss problem. Since I can't pretype name but must browes to file, open it, I get 28% open then deleted. I had it removed, as started above, by a page from WIN 8..stating unregistered app so deleted. It may be MS gets money from each app so outsiders removed. Believe me, I know nothing I am talking about except to describe results...of my blundering. John
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 02-17-2013, 07:28 PM
TonyD TonyD is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Jozi, SA
Posts: 263
Default

No, the installed games folder - typically 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover'.

You should be able to type the file name into TrendMicro's exclusion list according to their website. The file name I suggested contains a 'wild card' description so it will exclude all files beginning with 'CloDer', including the original compressed file you downloaded.
__________________
I'd rather be flying ...

Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 | AMD FX-8350 | MSI HD7970 TFOC-BE | 8GB Corsair DDR-III 1866 | Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 03-03-2013, 06:51 PM
NightsEye NightsEye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Anyone know how to get mods working with the win8 fix?
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 03-07-2013, 01:23 AM
JM_Fernandez JM_Fernandez is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Unhappy Virus

How come nobody talks about the virus the antivirus detects on this fix???
hijacker.gen
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 03-09-2013, 12:15 PM
sYk0 sYk0 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JM_Fernandez View Post
How come nobody talks about the virus the antivirus detects on this fix???
hijacker.gen
That question could be followed with...
How come nobody reads the readme included in the archive?

Extracted from CloDer_Readme.txt
Quote:
It is possible that your Anti-Virus might go postal and kill "CloDer.exe" and/or "CloDer.dll", you can ignore this (perhaps add "CloDer.exe" and "CloDer.dll" to the white-list).
Please see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hooking

Quote:
Hooking is used for many purposes, including debugging and extending functionality. Examples might include intercepting keyboard or mouse event messages before they reach an application, or intercepting operating system calls in order to monitor behavior or modify the function of an application or other component.
Quote:
Hooking can also be used by malicious code. For example, rootkits, pieces of software that try to make themselves invisible by faking the output of API calls that would otherwise reveal their existence, often use hooking techniques.
For further clarification:
CloDer uses the better part of API Hooking, thus meaning it extends (or rather fixes) the code within CloD, in order to make it work under Windows 8.

Unfortunately, the hooking library used is freeware (the fix is freeware and therefore I will not spend money on a commercial product, nor do I have the time to make my own library) and thus has been used for malicious code in the past, this is why your anti-virus product goes mental.

Last edited by sYk0; 03-09-2013 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 03-09-2013, 12:17 PM
sYk0 sYk0 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightsEye View Post
Anyone know how to get mods working with the win8 fix?
I will release an update of CloDer when I have some spare time, this will have various enhancements (including the ability to start a CloD server, possibly also Mods).
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 03-11-2013, 12:15 PM
NightsEye NightsEye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks sYkO, that's great news!
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 03-11-2013, 08:53 PM
sYk0 sYk0 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

See first post for update (v 0.0.0.2).

Regards,
sYk0.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 03-12-2013, 01:24 PM
zahnartz62's Avatar
zahnartz62 zahnartz62 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Allen,TX
Posts: 101
Default

Trend Micro was chewing up CloDer.exe and I was about to call them and decided to quit sims for last few weeks. All worked fine this AM except my out of practice landing. Many thanks for you gracious help.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 03-15-2013, 05:59 PM
NightsEye NightsEye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks sYkO
new version works a treat with mods
You're a star!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:48 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.