1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:29 PM
SharpeXB's Avatar
SharpeXB SharpeXB is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 136
Default Instructions for assigning zoom view to a single axis

Step by step instructions to create a custom zoom view axis on the controller of your choice.

This uses a program called JoyToKey, it allows you to map a button press to a joystick axis. This is needed because CoDs zoom axis command requires holding down a button (Hold to Adjust FOV) while moving the mouse on it’s Y-axis, the axis is also not assignable in the controls menu. The assignments I made here are for the CH throttle thumb stick to zoom in when pushed forward and out when pulled back. This results in the zoom view being assigned to a single axis and no extra button press is needed. It doesn't interfere with the mouse being used in the game or cockpit.

Download the program from here:
http://www-en.jtksoft.net/

1. Create a profile by clicking “Create” at the bottom right corner.

2. Pull down “Preferences” and click “Associate Profiles with Applications”. Click Add and paste in the path to the Cliffs of Dover .exe (Launcher.exe) So the program will only run when you’re running CoD. Associate the new profile you created with this path using the pulldown.

3. Click the Options Tab, then configure button and then “Advanced setting for each device” tab. On this screen you can pull down which stick you want to set up and assign it a number “Joystick 2” in this example. Then move a stick to see which axis JTK assigns it or you can change that here.

4. Back on the main page under the tab for the stick you want, the arrows indicate axis assignments. In this example assign left to mouse up and right to mouse down on the next page. Double click on the arrow to bring up the assigning page. Click the Mouse tab and move the Y-axis slider under “Mouse emulation Cursor movement” up and click the Wheel (middle) mouse button assuming that is the modifier button you have assigned in CoD. Repeat the same process for the next arrow.

6. If you want an analog stick to use an acceleration ie zoom faster when moved far and zoom slow when moved a little, move the slider in "analog acceleration"

7 .Pull down File and Save

6.Run JTK when playing CoD and zoom away!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg JTK01.jpg (56.6 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg JTK02.jpg (65.0 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg JTK03.jpg (98.5 KB, 70 views)
File Type: jpg JTK05.jpg (92.1 KB, 47 views)

Last edited by SharpeXB; 01-13-2013 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2013, 06:17 AM
Bearcat Bearcat is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern Va. by way of Da Bronx
Posts: 992
Default

Thanks Sharpe.. Does this conflict with the CH SW?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2013, 01:57 PM
Attila's Avatar
Attila Attila is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 110
Default

Hi!
I have just a question....
Is it possible to configure 2 buttons on the joystick, 1 to zoom in and another to zoom out if i´m putting on the button? (like the zoombutton in ROF)
And if it´s possible how can i do the settings?!

Thx for your efforts!
__________________
i7 920 @ 2.67 MHz
12.0 GB RAM Kingston KHX1600
WIN 7 64 bit
SSD OCZ Vertex 3 120Gb
ASUS HD 6950 DirectCU II
Catalyst 12.6
Saitek Evo Force+Rudder pedals
TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2013, 02:54 PM
Sokol1's Avatar
Sokol1 Sokol1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 727
Default

Atila,

Yes, is possible assign "Zoom in" and "Zoom out" to two buttons.

Or to HAT up, HAT down if you use a TRACK IR or similar to control FOV, or using a key to momentary modify HAT function.

To assign ZOOM in two buttons, follow SharpeXB tutorial, but instead click in axis in JoyToKey interface, click in the desired buttons.

BTW - For user of joysticks with advanced programming, like CH, Thrustmaster, Saitek, Logiteck use JoyToKey is not necessary, unless one is not used to manipulate these softwares (TARGET, Mannager...).

Related topic: http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthr...ewpost&t=27603

FIY - Notice that excessive ZOOM OUT observed is not JoyToKey (or other soft ) fault, is CloD fault, since if you hold a button and move mouse (Y movement) the same exaggerated degree of ZOMM OUT is allowed.

Sokol1

Last edited by Sokol1; 01-12-2013 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2013, 04:54 PM
Roblex Roblex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 87
Default

It looks very complicated the way you have described it. Here is how to assign to hat up & down

Start a new profile called VarZoom (or whatever you want)
Go to the line marked POV (up arrow symbol) and highlight
Click 'Edit Button Assignment'; This brings up a new box.
Click the 'Mouse' tab
Pull the 'wheel rotation' slider from its centre position down to the bottom.
Click OK
Do the same for 'POV (down arrow symbol)' but pull slider to top
click OK
Save


Go into the settings for CLOD and tell it that both UpHat & DownHat are the 'Hold to Zoom' key (Yes you can assign the same function to two separate keys)
Save.

That's it; You now get Zoom In just by pushing forward the hat and Zoom Out by pulling back the hat. No other keys need to be pushed at the same time.
If you don't like the speed at which it zooms in or out then go back into JoyToKey and move the tab off the top & bottom of the slider to taste but I am happy with full speed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2013, 05:09 PM
SharpeXB's Avatar
SharpeXB SharpeXB is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearcat View Post
Thanks Sharpe.. Does this conflict with the CH SW?
I don't think it conflicts with anything in CH, although I haven't used the CH software to do anything except calibrate. I haven't experimented with CH much.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2013, 05:42 PM
Attila's Avatar
Attila Attila is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 110
Default

@Roblex
Pfffffffffffffff, don´t works for me!
I did it like you said in your post, except that i changed the buttons! I used button 8 and 11 on the joystick and on joytokey i editet on the button 8 and 11 too!
Is this wrong?!
In game the only thing that is happening:
the cursor runs up and down, no in and out zooming!
__________________
i7 920 @ 2.67 MHz
12.0 GB RAM Kingston KHX1600
WIN 7 64 bit
SSD OCZ Vertex 3 120Gb
ASUS HD 6950 DirectCU II
Catalyst 12.6
Saitek Evo Force+Rudder pedals
TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2013, 10:21 PM
Roblex Roblex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Attila View Post
@Roblex
Pfffffffffffffff, don´t works for me!
I did it like you said in your post, except that i changed the buttons! I used button 8 and 11 on the joystick and on joytokey i editet on the button 8 and 11 too!
Is this wrong?!
In game the only thing that is happening:
the cursor runs up and down, no in and out zooming!
If the cursor is running up and down then JoyToKey is working as that is what you told it to do; simulate the mouse being moved. The thing that makes this work though is that you then tell COD 'That button I am using to simulate moving my mouse is also the 'Hold To Zoom' key' so now COD sees the mouse being moved while the 'Hold To Zoom' key is engaged and you get Zoom.

Check you configured COD to show buttons 8 & 11 are both the 'Hold To Zoom' key.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2013, 01:05 AM
Bearcat Bearcat is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern Va. by way of Da Bronx
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SharpeXB View Post
I don't think it conflicts with anything in CH, although I haven't used the CH software to do anything except calibrate. I haven't experimented with CH much.
You might be able to actually do this with the CH SW... I have not had the time since last night to try to work this out with the Saitek SW but when I do I will post my results here. I will take Sokol's advice.. it hasn't let me down yet..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2013, 04:03 PM
Sokol1's Avatar
Sokol1 Sokol1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roblex View Post
That button I am using to simulate moving my mouse is also the 'Hold To Zoom' key'[/I] so now COD sees the mouse being moved while the 'Hold To Zoom' key is engaged and you get Zoom.

Check you configured COD to show buttons 8 & 11 are both the 'Hold To Zoom' key.
Roblex,

You use "Hold to ZOOM Camera" instead "Hold to Adjust Field of View" command?

Here I notice that "ZOOM Camera" zoom only inside cockpit, a few degrees.

"Adjust Field of View" zoom IN maybe to 100 degrees or more - that make targets more visible, and OUT to some excessive negative value (totally useless).

Here my JoyToKey setup:

http://i50.tinypic.com/2rrwbbr.jpg

I use a key (Alt) to "Hold to Adjust Field of View", so need hit this key and HAT UP or DOWN to ZOOM.

This is because I use HAT to panning around (mouse view), I buy a TrackIR but dont gotten used to it: years and years of HAT use.

In JoyToKey I assign HAT to do mouse movements (X and Y), and the same HAT movement to press "Mouse Middle" for "Camera Control in Independent Mode" function,
so the mouse cursor dont walk across the screen in game.

In CLoD setup I delete all HAT assignments for Pan and Snap Views since I consider these methods to control view too crude.

I suppose that you use TrackIR to panning view, so need only HAT UP and DOWN to control ZOOM.
You clear Pan View HAT assignments in CLOD setup?

Sokol1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.