1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > FMB, Mission & Campaign builder Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2012, 01:19 PM
Hveding Hveding is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 120
Default Add clouds and rain

Hey guy's!
I REALLY need to know how to add clouds and rain..
I know how do ADD cloud, but can only choice between light and medium clouds, i want MORE.
And to make it rain, i have not yet discovered.

So plz give me some help how to do this

-Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2012, 05:34 PM
bolox bolox is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 351
Default

first off, weather is not really working/ unsupported at this time

that said you can get more than the 3 'easy' options of clear/light/medium,- but you'll need to go into fmb and look for the 'Local Weather' type in Object Properties. you have a choice of 5 types, cumulus, flat overcast, overcast, overcast with breaks and thunder(default),

Place these as you would any other object on the map.

You should see a cloud symbol on the map with a dotted ring around it. By default this will be 1000m radius.
You should also notice the object properties has gained 2 tabs, configuration and properties.

Configuration:- the 3 sections with '1000' in can be altered, 1st is radius in X direction, 2nd is radius in Y direction and the 3rd has to do with height.
Enter whatever figures you find suitable.

there are also 2 tick boxes, rain and dynamic.
Rain doesn't appear to have any rain associated with it. but dynamic can be interesting.

Properties:- the boxes and their labels are messed up so it's hard to tell what is meant to do what but feel free to play around with the sliders- it can only cause a ctd
Thermal intencity seems to be the icing level

Different cloud types have different boxes.

If you look in the .mis file created there are some other variables which you could play with using notepad- you're completely on your own here

This is based on 1.5.... not the alpha patch, which sort of makes clouds a bit redundant as they only draw out a short distance from player.

Good luck, and if you make any discoveries, please report back
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2012, 12:39 AM
hc_wolf hc_wolf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 439
Default Weather mis.

Here you go. No pont in trying for the fact its not working yet. But if you would like to see how slow your PC can run then try these.
Attached Files
File Type: zip weather.zip (4.9 KB, 70 views)
__________________
__________________
Win7, 64bit Ultra
Asus P8P67Pro MB
Intel i7-2600K
Coursair 16GB (4x 4GB), DDR3-1600MHz
Gainward Nvidia 580GTX 3GB DDR5
850-Watt Modular Power Supply
WIN7 and COD on Gskill SSD 240GB
40" Panasonic LCD
TrackIR5 +
Thrustmaster Warthog stick, throttle & pedals
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2012, 07:48 AM
U505's Avatar
U505 U505 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: France
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolox View Post
first off, weather is not really working/ unsupported at this time

that said you can get more than the 3 'easy' options of clear/light/medium,- but you'll need to go into fmb and look for the 'Local Weather' type in Object Properties. you have a choice of 5 types, cumulus, flat overcast, overcast, overcast with breaks and thunder(default),

Place these as you would any other object on the map.

You should see a cloud symbol on the map with a dotted ring around it. By default this will be 1000m radius.
You should also notice the object properties has gained 2 tabs, configuration and properties.

Configuration:- the 3 sections with '1000' in can be altered, 1st is radius in X direction, 2nd is radius in Y direction and the 3rd has to do with height.
Enter whatever figures you find suitable.

there are also 2 tick boxes, rain and dynamic.
Rain doesn't appear to have any rain associated with it. but dynamic can be interesting.

Properties:- the boxes and their labels are messed up so it's hard to tell what is meant to do what but feel free to play around with the sliders- it can only cause a ctd
Thermal intencity seems to be the icing level

Different cloud types have different boxes.

If you look in the .mis file created there are some other variables which you could play with using notepad- you're completely on your own here

This is based on 1.5.... not the alpha patch, which sort of makes clouds a bit redundant as they only draw out a short distance from player.

Good luck, and if you make any discoveries, please report back
Good explained nothing more to say
__________________
Core i7 3930k @ stock, asus rampage IV Extreme, 16 GB ram GSkill 2133 MHz, SSD vertex 3 max iops 120 GB, Noctua NH-D14, 1 x GTX 580 Point of view (overclocked) 3 GB, HAF 942, G 940, silent pro gold 1000 w, track IR 5, SAMSUNG SyncMaster 245 B.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2012, 01:37 PM
Hveding Hveding is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 120
Default

Thank u! I really appreciate that
I will skip that file, and do what U505 says.
But only one thing remains, do u know how good quality the weather have ? Or is it crap ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2012, 03:32 PM
bolox bolox is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 351
Default

how good quality is subjective- i'd suggest trying the above d/l as a quick way to look.

Basically it has potential- when it gets 'finished' in BO? (the sequel whatever it's to be called) -and it no longer causes frame rates to fall through the floor

atm it only draws out a certain distance from player's plane so that it works quite well with a small height difference. However if you are at 20,000 feet and the clouds are at 2000 feet then it looks like a patch of cloud following you.
There is also some flickering of cloud textures at times.

Like I said in previous post this is not a supported feature,

While we're talking weather there is also wind to consider:- found in 'mission parameters' Flow tab(s)- you can create your own with different winds at different heights.
Just to be difficult the orientation isn't logical- ) deg=west and + degrees is anticlockwise
This is apparently on a list of things to be corrected at some point by the devs.

Oh yeah, AI can see through clouds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2012, 07:10 PM
Bonkin's Avatar
Bonkin Bonkin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 55
Default

Have a look at these links:

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=25717

and

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthr...t=25791&page=2

Might be useful?
__________________
Intel® Core™ i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
ASUS P8P67 Rev3
EVGA 1280MB GeForce GTX 570 HD Superclocked
8 GB DDR3-1600-Corsair Vengeance
750W Corsair Enthusiast 750TXV2UK PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Microsoft Sidewinder 2 FFB and NaturalPoint TrackIR3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:17 AM
salmo salmo is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 632
Default

Here's an annotated example from the weather section of a mission file.

[LocalWeather_0]
EllipticA 20000 // size of weather zone in X-axis
EllipticB 5000 // size of weather zone in Y-axis
RotAngle 0 // rotation vector for weather zone elipse
ShiftX 0 // unknown (?could be an elipse tilt vector)
ShiftY 0 // unknown (?could be an elipse tilt vector)
BaseHeight 700 // height (metres) of weather elipse
IsRain 0 // 1=rain (but not working yet)
IsDynamicEnabled 1 // Unknown
ParticipType 1 // Unknown (?not working)
DropSize 0 // Unknown (?not working)
RainPower 0 // unknown (?not working)
ThermalIntensity 10 // ?alter degree of temperature gradient/'icing'- 10 =full icing
CloudsDensity 5 // set dense of coud formations
MidSize 5 // ?alter size of 'blocks' making cloud formation, more apparent as CloudDensity is reduced
EvenLayers 5 // a parameter to define how evenly weather layers are spaced
TotalLayers 15 // number of definable layers in the weather elipse
IsThunder True // set audible thunder (but not working)
FrontThickness 3500 // front thickness
FrontWindMaxHorSpeedNear 15 // maximum wind speed
FrontWindMaxVertSpeedUp 30 // maximum updraft wind speed
FrontWindMaxVertSpeedDown 20 // maximum downdraft wind speed
FrontWindMaxTurbInClouds 15 // maximum wind turbulance
FrontWindMaxTurbInSquallZone 20 // maximum wind turbulance in squals (?not working)
__________________
When one engine fails on a two engine bomber, you will always have enough power left to get to the scene of the crash.

Get the latest COD Team Fusion patch info HERE

Last edited by salmo; 07-30-2012 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:40 AM
bolox bolox is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 351
Default

thermal intensity seems to alter the degree of temperature gradient/'icing'- 10 =full icing (default setting!- 0-1 would be a more realistic setting for a summer BoB scenario. Thunder clouds seem to have a higher gradient to other cloud types, to me at least )

MidSize seems to alter the size of the 'blocks' making up a cloud formation- as you reduce CloudDensity these become more apparent.

This is how it appears to work for me at least
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:45 AM
salmo salmo is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 632
Default

Thanks Bolox, edited post above with your info
__________________
When one engine fails on a two engine bomber, you will always have enough power left to get to the scene of the crash.

Get the latest COD Team Fusion patch info HERE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.