1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2012, 04:50 PM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Red face Windows 8 and CloD (Merged Threads)

It does NOT work.
I did install Windows 8 X64 beta on a pc that did acept and play COD at a not to low graphic level and when I did change my OS to windows 8 x64 Steam had a little problem to install itself and COD does never launch itself.
Maybe with a x32 version maybe I shall try next week if no one trie before me. Sorry for this bad news.



Does now work download the fix as below.



http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=36078




.

Last edited by KG26_Alpha; 11-20-2012 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2012, 05:03 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by senseispcc View Post
It does NOT work.
I did install Windows 8 X64 beta on a pc that did acept and play COD at a not to low graphic level and when I did change my OS to windows 8 x64 Steam had a little problem to install itself and COD does never launch itself.
Maybe with a x32 version maybe I shall try next week if no one trie before me. Sorry for this bad news.
Well, hardly bad news as the first beta for all previous Windows versions have also been very unstable... And this is the first beta. Wait until RC3 before you get worried
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2012, 05:28 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Which version do you run by the way? They only call the Server 8 Beta, but the consumer version is still called "Preview" (which is m$ lingo for alpha ).

Anyway, thanks for the heads up that there is a new version out. I'm downloading this version now from MSDN to try out:

Windows 8 Consumer Preview with Apps (x64)
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2012, 05:42 PM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazex View Post
Which version do you run by the way? They only call the Server 8 Beta, but the consumer version is still called "Preview" (which is m$ lingo for alpha ).

Anyway, thanks for the heads up that there is a new version out. I'm downloading this version now from MSDN to try out:

Windows 8 Consumer Preview with Apps (x64)
Windows8-ConsumerPreview-64bit-English is my version all the other games (non steam) and application do work. For the little time I used this version of windows 8 and my previous exprience of it from November 2011 I find it a fine OS not easy to master but nice. And it is only a preview. I did post this only to advertise so that other should not try and make the same mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2012, 05:48 PM
Raggz's Avatar
Raggz Raggz is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 350
Default

Run it in win7 compatibility mode and elevate its rights / run it as admin.
__________________

I7-3930K CPU w/ Corsair H60 liquid cooling.
16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz.
Asus P9X79 Deluxe Motherboard.
Asus GTX680 2Gb SLI
Auzentech Home theater 3D Soundcard.
Corsair HX850 Modular PSU.
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
TM Warthog HOTAS.
TM Cougar MFD's.
Saitek Flight Pro pedals.
TrackIr 5.
Samsung Syncmaster 2770FH LCD.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2012, 07:49 PM
louisv's Avatar
louisv louisv is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 287
Default

Wait...is the problem with Steam or with CoD itself ?

Or both ?
__________________
EVGA X58 FTW3 motherboard
Intel 980X CPU, not OC'd yet, 3.46 Mhz
Crucial Tracer memory 8-8-8-24 12GB
Crucial M4 256GB SSD, WD Raptor 600 GB hard disk
EVGA GTX580 graphics card
HP ZR24W Monitor 1900 X 1200 24"
Thrustmaster Warthog joystick
Saitek Combat rudder pedals
TrackIr 5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2012, 08:56 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by louisv View Post
Wait...is the problem with Steam or with CoD itself ?

Or both ?
The problem is in Windows 8 Preview... It's an alpha, and very far from finished so what works and does not work is really not that interesting? Lots of stuff don't work in it.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2012, 12:34 AM
priller26 priller26 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 266
Default

I can't understand why anyone would jump to Win 8. Windows xp worked rather well for me, Vista, as I understand, was an unmitigated disaster, ( I never used it) and Win 7 gets very high praises. Granted, Microsoft does always have to reinvent the wheel to earn revenue, but sometimes the "newest" is not necessarily the best.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2012, 05:12 AM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by priller26 View Post
I can't understand why anyone would jump to Win 8. Windows xp worked rather well for me, Vista, as I understand, was an unmitigated disaster, ( I never used it) and Win 7 gets very high praises. Granted, Microsoft does always have to reinvent the wheel to earn revenue, but sometimes the "newest" is not necessarily the best.
If you do not try how do you know it works or not? stupid is it?

Last edited by senseispcc; 03-03-2012 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-02-2012, 05:34 AM
Ailantd's Avatar
Ailantd Ailantd is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 290
Default

I have it instaled in a VM for testing and while I think it may rule the tablet world, it feels no so good for desktop machines and completely fails with more than one screen IMO. You need to move too much the mouse for simple tasks, it feels annoying. I hope they fix that big usabily problem before final release. Other than that you can like the new interface or not, I personally don´t like it very much and I think I will not use metro apps in desktop.
__________________
Win 7 64
Quad core
4Gb ram
GTX 560
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.