1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-02-2012, 05:42 AM
machoo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's taken them a year to get the next patch ready . Imagine how long it will take for them to code a new OS.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-02-2012, 06:15 AM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ailantd View Post
I have it instaled in a VM for testing and while I think it may rule the tablet world, it feels no so good for desktop machines and completely fails with more than one screen IMO. You need to move too much the mouse for simple tasks, it feels annoying. I hope they fix that big usabily problem before final release. Other than that you can like the new interface or not, I personally don´t like it very much and I think I will not use metro apps in desktop.
+ 1

Metro will be nice for tablets, for PC users I see no use for it. They will for sure do a "classic" mode where you get the menu button back and Metro becomes an "app" you can choose to start at boot time like Media Centre. They will never get corporate users to ditch W7 otherwise...

/mazex
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-02-2012, 09:53 AM
Blackdog_kt Blackdog_kt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by machoo View Post
It's taken them a year to get the next patch ready . Imagine how long it will take for them to code a new OS.
So now it's 1C's responsibility to fix windows?

It's strange this kind of logic, sort of what people say that "when you don't like someone, everything they do annoys you no matter what".
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feathered_IV View Post
It's now a race to see if any one of the other moderators can put a lock on this thread before Blackdog can finish his fourteen paragraphs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foo'bar View Post
Only bad things will be commented. Good things are expected.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oktoberfest View Post
War is usually the massacre of young people that don't know each other for the sake of old people who don't fight and know each other.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2012, 01:27 PM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by machoo View Post
It's taken them a year to get the next patch ready . Imagine how long it will take for them to code a new OS.
There is no patch for COD and I only posted this news so no one has to try it also not so it is corrected by someone it is of no interest to no me to play COD on my little PC I have my first line PC for that. I wantred only to launch it and to see it work under or with this new not yet finished OS. At the end of this year Windows shall be in the shops. It is part of my job to ibnstall the OS of choise on PC's of clients thus I tried this one and also all applications I could.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:19 AM
DroopSnoot DroopSnoot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 211
Default

Win 8 looks more like a tablet os or phone os. I think it will have 1 major change before it gets to RC so i wouldnt worry too much if you miss the start menu.
Upside is its fast as lightning, hopefully staying that way when the updates come.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:19 AM
Auger73 Auger73 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazex View Post
Which version do you run by the way? They only call the Server 8 Beta, but the consumer version is still called "Preview" (which is m$ lingo for alpha ).

Anyway, thanks for the heads up that there is a new version out. I'm downloading this version now from MSDN to try out:

Windows 8 Consumer Preview with Apps (x64)
I guess you haven't used their alpha builds...

Stuff that worked in earlier builds was broken in this latest release. So don't blame the devs. You should also give Microsoft some slack since the OS isn't nailed down yet.

Unless you are a techie who needs to keep up on OS development (not gaming), I wouldn't recommend installing Windows 8 yet. Even if you are one, I can't recommend installing it on your main machine, unless you have drive trays to swap out.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:39 AM
Auger73 Auger73 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DroopSnoot View Post
Win 8 looks more like a tablet os or phone os. I think it will have 1 major change before it gets to RC so i wouldnt worry too much if you miss the start menu.
Upside is its fast as lightning, hopefully staying that way when the updates come.
Sounds like you are having a better experience than me. I haven't used it on a hard machine yet, though.

I sorely miss the Start button. I would expect someone to make a utility to replace the Start button if MS doesn't. It's great when you have a lot of apps installed, so you don't have to see every icon on the shortcut bar or desktop.

Has MS never heard of the phrase "if it isn't broke, don't fix it?" It just seems like a big mistake. You may not use it 95% of the time (I'm paraphrasing their justification), but that 5% REALLY stings.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:48 AM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auger73 View Post
I sorely miss the Start button. .
I have found a solution to the removal of the START button is leaving the desk menu on so it can be used like the start button it has nearly the same functions.

Last edited by senseispcc; 06-04-2012 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-04-2012, 06:04 AM
Ailantd's Avatar
Ailantd Ailantd is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 290
Default

Just tryed to run CoD in the new win8 Release Candidate, but it still doesn´t work. Telling you so you can avoid testing yourselves.
__________________
Win 7 64
Quad core
4Gb ram
GTX 560
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-04-2012, 07:12 AM
FG28_Kodiak FG28_Kodiak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Swabia->Bavaria->Germany
Posts: 884
Default

Windows 8 Aka Wait for Windows 9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.