1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: The Legend > Technical problems and solutions

Technical problems and solutions Questions and solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2009, 09:44 PM
Annex Annex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default Works before patch, doesnt start after patch

Just picked up the retail Atari published version. Game works great without the patch. However as soon as I apply the 1.65 Atari only patch, the game does not start afterwards. For a split second my cursor changes to a spinning cdrom disc and thats it. The games exe file disappears from task manager and there are no errors or notifications of any sort. System is a XP Pro SP2 with a GeForce 8800 GTS running 180 series drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2009, 09:47 PM
Annex Annex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Actually I can get it to work by ejecting the CD, running the game, getting the "no CD found" prompt, reinserting CD and then clicking retry. Then the game works fine. So its obviously some screwup with the copy protection (why do these games still use this nonsense?). Anyone know how I can fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:44 AM
Gatts's Avatar
Gatts Gatts is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 547
Default

Yep -- the copy protection is too strong, and does collide and even collapse with some other, normal programs. I heard that maybe newer patch should work better, but of course it is not a favored move, to lower the protection... and it is not easy to let the protection level as is, but increase compatibility... hard hard for our dev
__________________
WOK pan? You sure mean WOG...
Equilibrium? You sure mean Equlibris...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2009, 12:52 PM
Annex Annex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Well the copy protection doesnt need to be lowered, it just needs to be fixed. It works fine with the vanilla copy but gets bugged by the patch. No one should ever have to eject and reinsert the disc every time they want to play just to get the game to run at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.