1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Theatre of War series

Theatre of War series The most historically accurate RTS games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2011, 02:24 PM
Ravenbox Ravenbox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default Crash to Desktop (Every Time)

So, I've got a serious problem with ToW 2. I bought the game yesterday and I've installed it today several times on 2 Systems (XP and 7) on the same PC (physical), but it still wont work...

System:
Win XP/7
Nvidia GTX470
i7-860
4GB Ram

Steps to reproduce the Bug:
Start the game.
Start the Campaign or the Tutorial.

Describing the Bug:
The game seems to load, but when it has finished, a black screen appears for about 0.5 seconds. Then is crashes to the desktop. No error message.

Several logs:
The crash report:
[Dec 22, 2011 4:00:07 PM] ------------ BEGIN log session -------------
Sound: Native library (build 1.1, target - P IV) loaded.
Main3D >>> renderer type: DIRECT3D9
Available Texture Memory: 1709Mb
WWThreadPool.create(): Thread pool is created. Threads count = 0
Load gui skin from: Data/Settings/gui.ini
Not exist section "special" in file Data/GUI/Ingame/Indicators/selectmarker/config.xml
=========================== CampaignRecList.updateList() begins ===========================
=========================== CampaignRecList.updateList() ends ===========================
Time overflow (0): speed 0.18718801
ERROR file: File wwrcu not found
Initializing DirectSound playback device...
Primary buffer created.
Playback format is set : sampling rate = 44100, num channels = 2.
Not enought hardware buffers (0), hardware disabled
Buffer caps : Transfer rate = 0, CPU overhead = 0.
Default speaker config is : 1310724.
Direct sound audio device initialized successfully :
DX Version : 7
Hardware - disabled [buffers : 0]
Extensions - enabled :
EAX ver. 1 [X] - enabled
EAX ver. 2 [X] - enabled
EAX ver. 3 [ ] - disabled
I3D ver. 2 [X] - enabled
ZoomFX [ ] - disabled
MacroFX [ ] - disabled
SIMD render [X]
num channels 32

ERROR: invalid parameter in EAX preset
ERROR: invalid parameter in EAX preset

Initializing animator...
Animator was initialized in 2080 milliseconds (2 seconds)
Loaded user music tracks: [Ingame: 0] [Non-Game: 0]
=========================== CampaignRecList.updateList() begins ===========================
=========================== CampaignRecList.updateList() ends ===========================
IniFile load failed: I/O error: users/game.ini
================================================== =================
Last serial num: unknown
Total size in bytes: 0
Number of blocks: 0

VoicesTable.load(): files were scanned in 344 ms
::: setLoading=true
ERROR file: File ww.cmd not found
Selected Decal #0: GROUND, TEX 0, BRIGHTNESS 0
--------------------------- Precache Effects begins ---------------------------
--------------------------- Precache Effects ends ---------------------------
MapsStorage.aiMapAddRoads(): roads where added in 0 ms
LandscapeTrees.recalcTreeVisBlocks() recalculated in 0 ms
PFS recalculate PFSCache failed: initMission for Normal: nodeNum= 33961, availNodeNum=0
PFS recalculate PFSCache failed: initMission for Normal: nodeNum= 33961, availNodeNum=0
--PFSCache created--
================ MissionManager.loadMissionBriefing() missions/tutorial/01_base/briefing.xml ================
================ MissionManager.loadMissionBriefing() ends ================
=== END OF TRIGGER COMPILATION ===
com.maddox.core.GObjException: Mesh Effects\GunFire\010_019mm\mono.sim not created
at com.maddox.core.Mesh.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.core.MeshShared.get(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.initFireMes h(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.init(Unknow n Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.weapons.WeaponStatic.<init>(Unkno wn Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitPartFactory.CreateUnitPart (Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitStructure.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.Unit.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.EntityCreator.createUni t(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createU nit(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roup(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roups(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createM ission(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Mission.loadMissionStart(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.gui.menus.Loading$BackgroundLoader.run(U nknown Source)
at com.maddox.rts.BackgroundTask.doRun(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.loopApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main.exec(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.GameWin3D.main(Unknown Source)
com.maddox.core.GObjException: Mesh Effects\GunFire\020_049mm\mono.sim not created
at com.maddox.core.Mesh.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.core.MeshShared.get(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.initFireMes h(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.init(Unknow n Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.weapons.WeaponStatic.<init>(Unkno wn Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitPartFactory.CreateUnitPart (Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitStructure.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.Unit.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.EntityCreator.createUni t(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createU nit(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roup(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roups(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createM ission(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Mission.loadMissionStart(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.gui.menus.Loading$BackgroundLoader.run(U nknown Source)
at com.maddox.rts.BackgroundTask.doRun(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.loopApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main.exec(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.GameWin3D.main(Unknown Source)
com.maddox.core.GObjException: Mesh Effects\GunFire\020_049mm\mono.sim not created
at com.maddox.core.Mesh.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.core.MeshShared.get(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.initFireMes h(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.init(Unknow n Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.weapons.WeaponStatic.<init>(Unkno wn Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitPartFactory.CreateUnitPart (Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitStructure.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.Unit.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.EntityCreator.createUni t(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createU nit(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roup(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roups(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createM ission(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Mission.loadMissionStart(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.gui.menus.Loading$BackgroundLoader.run(U nknown Source)
at com.maddox.rts.BackgroundTask.doRun(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.loopApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main.exec(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.GameWin3D.main(Unknown Source)
com.maddox.core.GObjException: Mesh Effects\GunFire\020_049mm\mono.sim not created
at com.maddox.core.Mesh.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.core.MeshShared.get(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.initFireMes h(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.bullets.BulletEmitter.init(Unknow n Source)
at com.ic.bc.weapon.weapons.WeaponStatic.<init>(Unkno wn Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitPartFactory.CreateUnitPart (Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.structure.UnitStructure.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.Unit.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.EntityCreator.createUni t(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createU nit(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roup(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createG roups(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.entities.factory.MissionCreator2.createM ission(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Mission.loadMissionStart(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.gui.menus.Loading$BackgroundLoader.run(U nknown Source)
at com.maddox.rts.BackgroundTask.doRun(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.loopApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main.exec(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.GameWin3D.main(Unknown Source)
::: setLoading=false



================== START MISSION missions/tutorial/01_base/mission.xml=====================



*** FAILURE *** [SYSTEM] Main loop: null
java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.maddox.sound.SoundListRegistry.soundPreRender( Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Render3D0.preRender(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.core.Renders.doPaint(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.core.Renders.paint(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.checkFocus(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.loopApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main.exec(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.GameWin3D.main(Unknown Source)



================== DESTROY GAME =====================



*** FAILURE *** [SYSTEM] Main end: null
java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.ic.bc.entities.Unit.destroy(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.game.lists.GameLists.destroyAll(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.bc.game.lists.GameListsServer.destroyAll(Un known Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Mission.destroy(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main3D.endApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.MainWin3D.endApp(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.Main.exec(Unknown Source)
at com.ic.ww.game.GameWin3D.main(Unknown Source)
[Dec 22, 2011 4:00:38 PM] -------------- END log session -------------

The dxdiag log:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 12/22/2011, 16:20:22
Machine name: AUINGER-1FB5573
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.101209-1647)
Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: P55A-UD4
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz (8 CPUs)
Memory: 3576MB RAM
Page File: 682MB used, 4774MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 470
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_06CD&SUBSYS_079F10DE&REV_A3
Display Memory: 1280.0 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug und Play-Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0012.6099 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 10/22/2010 07:23:22, 6359552 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: Nicht zutreffend
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 10/22/2010 07:23:22, 9623680 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-458D-11CF-BD64-932702C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x06CD
SubSys ID: 0x079F10DE
Revision ID: 0x00A3
Revision ID: 0x00A3
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
Deinterlace Caps: {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

I figured out, that there are several quite similar reports in this forum, but the difference, that i noticed first in the ToW 2 log is (quite at the bottom):

*** FAILURE *** [SYSTEM] Main loop: null
java.lang.NullPointerException

Maybe this could be an advise. I hope this helps. PS: I have shortened the dxdiag log, becuase there is a character limitation in this forum.

Thank you for your help,
Ravenbox
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2011, 08:19 AM
Sneaksie Sneaksie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 824
Default

Hi
I see you have 8 cores CPU, is it with HT enabled? I remember some people ran into problems with the game with more than 4 cores available or with HT technology enabled. I would suggest the following:

1) Set game process affinity to 1 or 2 cores in the task manager. To do this run the game, in main menu press Ctrl+Alt+Del, invoke the task manager, find game processess (Kursk1943.bin and Kursk1943.exe or Africa1943.bin and Africa1943.exe since you said you have ToW2), right-click on each and set affinity to cores 0 and 1 or only core 1 (uncheck other cores). Then Alt-Tab back to game and try to load a mission again.

If you bought the game on Steam, you can do this easier (read here).

2) If this doesn't help, temporarily turn off HyperThreading in BIOS to see if this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2011, 10:59 AM
Ravenbox Ravenbox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default Damn...

Nope, sorry, didn't help.
Still getting the same "error" (better said log), BUT maybe I found another hint. I can't change the options while not ingame. So, there is a options.exe in the ToW 2 folder, where you can set things like video mode and so on...you will know.
I can set the options as I want, but when I hit "OK" nothing happens. I can just exit it and all the options won't be saved. I also tried to run it as an Admin, but still no reaction. Maybe this could help you, I hope so.

Btw: My executeable wasn't named africa.exe or .bin, but ToW2.exe.

Greetings,
Ravenbox
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2011, 11:56 AM
Sneaksie Sneaksie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 824
Default

What is the name of your game, ToW2: Africa 1943? Is it Steam version or not?

Try installing it not to 'Progam files' folder, but some another folder you have full access rights to (it doesn't save options because it lacks writing rights to its own folder). For example, try installing it to My Documents\ToW2 folder. Then run options.exe and set stuff like resolution, see if it saves.

Run the game, then exit it and look for users folder inside the game folder (it should be created after first launch). Inside it there should be several config files, one of them should contain string 'Compatibility mode = 0' or something (i don't remember exactly). Set it to 1 and try loading the mission.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2011, 07:15 PM
Ravenbox Ravenbox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default Alright...

I figured out, what the problem was...The copy protection. It was pure luck, because I found a solution to another Problem, caused by the protection and found out, that there was a file missing in my Windows directory, which was used by the protection system. Well, I tryed it out without any copy protection and it works fine... Thanks for the help!

Ravenbox
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2012, 05:43 PM
Feros1 Feros1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 33
Default

Hello, can you please explain what exactly you did to get it to work?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2012, 06:52 PM
Tyroken Tyroken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Germany/Düsseldorf
Posts: 2
Default

Hi all,

i got the same issue as ravenbox. Game ToW2 Africa (version 1.3.0; retail) had been started as admin, but after selecting campaign/tutorial it crashed to desktop.

Options are not available in start menu and while changing options in game it crashes to desktop without saving changes.

I got another issue, too. While installing the game i got the message that microsoft .net framework 2.o could not be installed due to incompatibility with my win 7 64-bit OS.

I downloaded it from the official site, but could not install the 32-bit version and i got the message that the 64-bit version of frameworks is already part of my OS while trying to install the 64-bit version of frameworks.

I tried out both suggestions of Sneaksie without any success.

Anyone knows what Ravenbox had been talking about the missing file needed by the copy protection?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2012, 06:01 AM
Sneaksie Sneaksie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 824
Default

If the game crashes when you alter any options it's definitely an access rights problem.
Sometimes running the game being an admin user is not enough, Windows will still block write access for the game to its folder. What you need to do is right-click on the game executable (Africa1943.exe or ToW2.exe) or on the game shortcut and choose 'Run as Administrator' in context menu.
Another thing that may interfere with the game operation is anti-virus software. Check that it doesn't block the game; add the game folder to list of exceptions in your AV software so it won't interfere.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2012, 05:29 PM
Tyroken Tyroken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Germany/Düsseldorf
Posts: 2
Default

I did both things already. Running the ToW2.exe as admin as you told me and turning off all anti-virus software.

Well, with crash down to desktop i mean following:

I can run the game and select tutorial or campaign.

Then the loading sceen appears and the map is loading (red circle is building up). After the that (red circle is total) screen turns black for 1 sec and i am back on desktop.

For me it seens to be the same problem like Ravenbox had.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:32 AM
Sneaksie Sneaksie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 824
Default

Did you try turning off hyperthreading and setting affinity to 1 core?
Run options.exe and turn off sound completely (uncheck it). Make sure that setting is saved (run options.exe just like the game, 'run as administrator').
Is your copy of ToW2 Africa released by Peter Games? We should receive it soon and we'll try to determine what's up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.