1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: The Legend > Technical problems and solutions

Technical problems and solutions Questions and solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2009, 08:45 PM
kelderos kelderos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Steam: Lockup, forced to restart computer

Every now and then Kings Bounty locks up to the point where I can't ctrl +alt +delete to get out of the game and back to my desktop, I am forced to restart. Usually before this happens the game graphics seem to glitch out. I see shadows of light (in the second starting trial, the circle of candles for instance. when I moved my camera around the light from the circle of candles stayed in place)

Recently, it's taken to just locking up for no reason. Usually after I click to move around or pick something up. Anyone know what's up?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2009, 09:37 AM
katrazy katrazy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have actually just started having the same graphics glitch myself. although the timing is different. my game is fine up until i enter into any battle and then at random it will have the aforementioned graphical malfunction followed by a complete lockup.

I checked the hardware for overheat and functionality, i checked the OS and ran it on vista 64 as well as xp sp2, i checked drivers, the install and direct x. none of it made a difference.

however while i was troubleshooting i checked the patch vers. and noticed that i wasnt having this problem until "steam" auto updated my game with vers. 1.7. the timing and freezes match up perfectly and prior to that patch the game worked perfectly, and we arnt the only ones reporting this problem.

if your a steam user i hoped this helped. if not then please let me know so we can keep looking for things to fix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2009, 04:25 PM
StatMax StatMax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Same problem here

Yes! Same thing happening to me. It's not predictable, but every 5-10 minutes (usually in battles) the screen starts totally freaking out, images flickering and lights flashing, tearing, all sorts of problems. And then it's a hard crash, can't even Ctrl-Alt-Delete. I even got a blue screen of death once. Have updated drivers, etc., no help. It's a software problem of some kind, and this thread makes me confident I'm not alone.

This is most unfortunate. Seems like a cool game, but it's completely unplayable like this. I purchased off Steam and am using version 1.7 (never had an earlier version, so I have no basis for comparison). If it helps, I'm using 32-bit Vista, nVidia 8600 series card. Please, please fix!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2009, 09:50 PM
Hypatian Hypatian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Default

I've been having the same problem, and I've never run any version of the game but 1.7, which I installed via Steam. Sometimes I can go a while without a lockup, but sometimes it happens very quickly. It's happened in every area I've visited so far (around the starting castle, to the east and west), both in and out of combat.

I'm running Vista 64 Home Premium SP1 on a quad core Intel Core 2 with 4GB of memory, graphics card is a 512MB GeForce 9800 GTX. All of my drivers are up to date--I upgraded them when I began having this issue, and the problem has not gone away.

I'm somewhat surprised that it's causing such a hard lockup, since my experience with most games in Vista has been that the system restarts the video driver and recovers in the rare case that something goes horribly wrong.

I'm really liking this game, but the locking up makes it pretty much impossible to play. Even when I save after every battle, periodically rebooting and restarting the game is a bit much.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2009, 01:21 AM
Houdani Houdani is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Ditto, same problem here.

Bought from Steam on 3 May 09. Crashes every 10 minutes or less. Entire computer freezes and requires a hard reset to recover. Am unable to ALT+TAB or ALT+F4 or CTRL+ALT+DEL to escape the game.

So far, it's only been happening outside of combat. It seems to freeze most often when there is a dialog window open such as when I pick up loose gold on the map or when talking to a vendor/quest giver.

I first thought it was related to overheating my video card, but I manually set all fans in my rig to 100% (case, CPU, GPU) and the problem did not go away.

I have not encountered any crashes like this in any other game.

System Specs:
WinXP Home SP3
AMD Athlon 64 XP 4400+ socket 939 @ stock speeds
2GB DDR RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 7800GT
Shuttle SN25P case (with their custom power supply and motherboard)
On board audio with Via Envy24 codec

Yeah, I know. It's way past time to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:23 AM
Hypatian Hypatian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Aha!

I remembered last night just before I was going to bed that I had a similar lockup problem to this when I attempted to run World of Warcraft under Steam to get the Steam in-game overlay.

Today I'm playing with defaults settings, but the Steam overlay disabled in Steam config. It seems to be working so far with no mishaps. I will report back later this evening and let you know if it's still working.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:54 AM
Hypatian Hypatian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Update: Nope. It lasted a good long while, but finally locked up in the usual way while I was in the middle of targeting an evil shoal. Bleah.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2009, 06:18 PM
duh duh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Suggested Fix:

Re-release patch 1.6.5 as patch 1.7.1 (steam only) and send that to the people at steam.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:54 PM
duh duh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

I downloaded a cracked version (dont get mad, i did this only after the version i paid for wouldnt work) And I experienced the same problem, it was patched to 1.6. Im thinking the problem isnt with steam or the 1.7 patch, but rather with the games own CD authentication, whatever steam is doing to bypass it isnt working.

System Specs:

Vista 32bit
Foxconn g33m motherboard
Intel e8400 3.0ghz
4gb 667mhz ddr2 ram
Nvidia 8600 256mb

Last edited by duh; 05-13-2009 at 08:59 PM. Reason: adding system specs to post
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2009, 01:17 AM
Houdani Houdani is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypatian View Post
Update: Nope. It lasted a good long while, but finally locked up in the usual way while I was in the middle of targeting an evil shoal. Bleah.
Ditto. Tried the same and was met with more computer locking fun.

As an addendum, I'm now locking up in all areas of the game. In and out of combat, with or without dialog boxes on screen. Phooey.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.