1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Star Wolves

Star Wolves 3D space RPG with deep strategy and tactical elements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:07 PM
Nanaki Nanaki is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 338
Default

It looks like they decided to overhaul the graphics.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:21 PM
Goblin Wizard Goblin Wizard is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 508
Default

Yesss. At last. Added bloom/hdr? Textures resolution looks the same.
I'd like to see new GUI too.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:26 PM
Trucidation
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

While better graphics is always a nice thing, imo that's just icing on the cake. Putting more stuff as FILETYPE STANDART instead of DYNAMIC would be nice Also, I still don't know enough of LUA to suggest script improvements, but I'm sure guys like Nanaki and Goblin Wizard may have something to say about that.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:27 PM
Rastix Rastix is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 79
Default

Think some more screenshots http://www.strategyinformer.com/pc/s...reenshots.html
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:28 PM
Rastix Rastix is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trucidation View Post
Putting more stuff as FILETYPE STANDART instead of DYNAMIC would be nice
Explain please
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:42 PM
Goblin Wizard Goblin Wizard is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trucidation View Post
While better graphics is always a nice thing, imo that's just icing on the cake. Putting more stuff as FILETYPE STANDART instead of DYNAMIC would be nice Also, I still don't know enough of LUA to suggest script improvements, but I'm sure guys like Nanaki and Goblin Wizard may have something to say about that.
I can give only one suggestion: Release as much part of the code as you can (form the exe) and put it into editable script files. We'll take care of the rest.

I like the new light effects.

Last edited by Goblin Wizard; 06-06-2010 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-06-2010, 03:05 PM
Trucidation
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@Rastix:
DYNAMIC type seems to be some sort of encoding, for example look at the text in \Data\LocData\English\Locations\Aurora\text.loc. Line 8 is something like "#L_nav_Alex=<some numbers>".

But in STANDART type files like \Data\LocData\English\ui_windows.loc, definitions like those are in plaintext, e.g. line 11 "#UI_TradeStationWndCaption = Trade station".

I'm sure the devs have their reasons for using different types, but perhaps they can be persuaded to explain how to understand DYNAMIC type files?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-06-2010, 03:33 PM
Rastix Rastix is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goblin Wizard View Post
I can give only one suggestion: Release as much part of the code as you can (form the exe) and put it into editable script files. We'll take care of the rest.
The great decrease of perfomance would be as a result


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trucidation View Post
I'm sure the devs have their reasons for using different types, but perhaps they can be persuaded to explain how to understand DYNAMIC type files?
They have copyrighted decoding tools
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-06-2010, 03:46 PM
Trucidation
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

We don't need their decoding tools if they used STANDART (because the text wouldn't be encoded...). Or did you mean something else?

Btw thanks for the update, nice pictures
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-06-2010, 03:54 PM
Goblin Wizard Goblin Wizard is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trucidation View Post
We don't need their decoding tools if they used STANDART (because the text wouldn't be encoded...).
Exactly! What is the reason of encoding the dialogs? Why don't put them in plain text (like some others loc files)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.