1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Gameplay questions threads

Gameplay questions threads Everything about playing CoD (missions, tactics, how to... and etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-28-2011, 08:32 PM
Asheshouse Asheshouse is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 271
Default

Little snippets of detail and realism like this are just brilliant.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-28-2011, 09:44 PM
BadAim BadAim is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 984
Default

Wow an actual conversation about the actual game, be careful guys, people will think this is a forum! Seriously though, nice info, it'll come in handy. I can't believe the workload on these planes, I feel like I'm really getting the feel for what these guy's had to do to survive (much less get any kills).
__________________
I'm pretty much just here for comic relief.
Q6600@3.02 GHz, 4gig DDR2, GTX470, Win7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-29-2011, 11:49 AM
Blackdog_kt Blackdog_kt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,711
Default

Aye, the amount of detail on all instruments is insane, from the spinning whiskey compass and the RPM needles oscillating as the prop governor tries to keep the RPM steady, to the airspeed indicator shaking in turbulence and/or terminal speed dives.


By the way, artificial horizons tumble as well during maneuvers. Watch around the 1:00 minute mark here:

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feathered_IV View Post
It's now a race to see if any one of the other moderators can put a lock on this thread before Blackdog can finish his fourteen paragraphs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foo'bar View Post
Only bad things will be commented. Good things are expected.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oktoberfest View Post
War is usually the massacre of young people that don't know each other for the sake of old people who don't fight and know each other.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-29-2011, 12:31 PM
PE_Tigar PE_Tigar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazex View Post
Sure true, my flying career IRL started in a Bergfalke II/55 built in 1959 before the GPS era with instruments that looked like they where taken from scrapped 109:s Behaved just that way - while turning they go nuts... Go on straight course a while and they wobble to a stable state
LOL, I've flown my CPL practical exam in heavy turbulence in a C-172RG from 1970's - it did have a gyro, but it was drifting so much I needed to realign it every five minutes! BTW, most (or all? at least all I've seen) whiskey compass mounts turn contrary to the turn you're making, so if you need to fly based on that only your brain has to work that out too. Well, all in the name of reality .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-29-2011, 12:38 PM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,196
Default

I thought while in England you just followed the train lines to the nearest recognisable pub, Then made your back to your airfield as per normal!

Navigation accross the channel is anyones guess?

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-29-2011, 01:27 PM
kashwashwa kashwashwa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default

One thing I noticed that had amazing detail, was seeing the red fluid in one of the gauges in the training plane shift around from plane movement. (press delete for zoomed in fov of 30 degrees to have a good look)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-29-2011, 05:35 PM
Blackdog_kt Blackdog_kt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoshi Tiger View Post
I thought while in England you just followed the train lines to the nearest recognisable pub, Then made your back to your airfield as per normal!

Navigation accross the channel is anyones guess?

Cheers!
According to the manual there's some sort of electronic equipment available. It wouldn't surprise me at all to see wartime electronics making an appearance in CoD, since there's ground-based radar modeled in the sim to begin with.

I don't know if we'll get beacons like the ones introduced by the TD patches for IL2 (maybe they were a later development and not present during the BoB), but the manual clearly states that we can use the German blind bombing system. If i'm not mistaken it was called knickebein (excuse my guess at spelling as i don't speak German) and i think it means "limp leg" or something like that.

The way it worked was that the bomber "rode" one beam to target via instruments and/or audio cues. The main beam was intersected along 2-3 points by secondary beams identified by separate audio cues, marking the "x minutes to target" points as well as the actual bomb release point. I think it even featured automatic bomb release.

The catch? In order for it to be accurate, you had to fly a very specific altitude and speed, which i presume would be TAS (maybe even ground speed to account for wind) and not IAS.

The way it works in-game (according to the manual at least) is that the beams are placed from within the FMB, just like the radio beacons in IL2.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feathered_IV View Post
It's now a race to see if any one of the other moderators can put a lock on this thread before Blackdog can finish his fourteen paragraphs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foo'bar View Post
Only bad things will be commented. Good things are expected.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oktoberfest View Post
War is usually the massacre of young people that don't know each other for the sake of old people who don't fight and know each other.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:21 PM
6S.Maraz's Avatar
6S.Maraz 6S.Maraz is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdog_kt View Post
I don't know if we'll get beacons like the ones introduced by the TD patches for IL2 (maybe they were a later development and not present during the BoB), but the manual clearly states that we can use the German blind bombing system.
There are beacons in the FMB (of course they did exist in 1940) you can set their frequency, army and nation. But I was unable to make them work in mission (tried with Heinkel and the AFN indicator did not move).

Maraz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.