1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey Famous title comes to consoles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2011, 04:24 PM
5776am 5776am is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Is BOP multiplayer region locked?

Hi all, I just joined the forum and posted this in the welcome new pilots section, but my question may be missed so here goes...

Just purchased the game in USA and will be back to Oz in a week, wondering whether the multiplayer's servers are region locked and buying abroad will cause a problem? I still have time to return it

Cheers and thanks!
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2011, 04:32 PM
vdomini vdomini is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5776am View Post
Hi all, I just joined the forum and posted this in the welcome new pilots section, but my question may be missed so here goes...

Just purchased the game in USA and will be back to Oz in a week, wondering whether the multiplayer's servers are region locked and buying abroad will cause a problem? I still have time to return it

Cheers and thanks!
Chris
As far as i know it is not.

I play from italy and i've been able to play with people from usa, russia and many more...

Oh i forgot, i play on PS3. But i think on XBOX shall be the same

Last edited by vdomini; 06-23-2011 at 04:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2011, 04:43 PM
olife olife is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: france
Posts: 972
Default

welcome here 5776am!

same opinion that my friend vdomini,i' m from france and able to play with all nationalities at all times.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2011, 05:33 PM
Robotic Pope's Avatar
Robotic Pope Robotic Pope is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hertfordshire,England,UK
Posts: 1,520
Default

Do you mean you want to play a US copy of BoP on a US xbox from Aus? I'm pretty sure thats fine and online will not be affected. A US game on a Aus xbox probably won't work though.
__________________


XBL GT: - Robotic Pope
HyperLobby CS: - Robot_Pope
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2011, 07:05 PM
Gilly Gilly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 30,000ft+
Posts: 996
Default

I'd also take a look at the PAL/ NTSC as well. Dunno what you have downunder but I'd make sure that you have the same disk as your console.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2011, 07:34 PM
Akula Akula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Posts: 78
Default

Welcome to the forum.

The multiplayer for the game isn't region locked, i often see people from England, Japan & Europe all playing together. As for compatibility with the game itself with different region PS3s, you should be fine. (Don't quote me on this).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2011, 08:09 PM
Robotic Pope's Avatar
Robotic Pope Robotic Pope is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hertfordshire,England,UK
Posts: 1,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akula View Post
Welcome to the forum.

The multiplayer for the game isn't region locked, i often see people from England, Japan & Europe all playing together. As for compatibility with the game itself with different region PS3s, you should be fine. (Don't quote me on this).
He's on xbox not PS3, which is why I think he will have a problem if he wants to play a US game on a AUS console. Xbox isn't region free while PS3 is.

The online side isn't an issue. If your game works with your console in one country then you can take them both anywhere in the world where xboxlive is available and be able to play everybody else. Of course you might need a power converter.
__________________


XBL GT: - Robotic Pope
HyperLobby CS: - Robot_Pope
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2011, 02:07 AM
5776am 5776am is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks all! I forgot to mention it's PS3, but yes that's great see you on the airfield.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2011, 03:22 PM
Robotic Pope's Avatar
Robotic Pope Robotic Pope is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hertfordshire,England,UK
Posts: 1,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5776am View Post
Thanks all! I forgot to mention it's PS3, but yes that's great see you on the airfield.
Opps sorry, I got you confused with someone else. You might be lucky with PS3, if the game is region free (which I don't know) it will play on any PS3.
__________________


XBL GT: - Robotic Pope
HyperLobby CS: - Robot_Pope
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.