1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Pilot's Lounge

Pilot's Lounge Members meetup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-20-2011, 04:46 PM
addman's Avatar
addman addman is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vasa, Finland
Posts: 1,592
Default

I'm all for CoD on different platforms but if you think about it, CoD is a niché game on the PC platform which most likely means small sales. Now imagine this niché game on a platform that is roughly 90% smaller than the PC market and you have very little to almost non-existing profitability chances. If other platforms are profitable CoD will probably make it there so hold your thumbs but just don't hold them too hard.

P.S Imagine the price tag on the Mac hardware that is needed to run this game, probably get 2 high-end PC's for the same price. Just saying....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-20-2011, 04:59 PM
Victory205 Victory205 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I'd rather see Apple proffer more upgrade paths to cheaper graphics cards than pleading for Mac ports for games. The market isn't there to justify the cost of OSX games.

Same phenomenon that makes Mac viruses rare- small market share is not worth the trouble!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:04 AM
KoD DEAD ON! KoD DEAD ON! is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default Worlds to Conquer!

I´m a Flight SIM FANATIC!, and I have MAC´s at work and at home .... for years I´ve been waiting for a decent WW2 flight SIM to come along, and to my regret .... NO MAC capability!!!!!

I have also been reading a the hustle and arguments about either PLATFORM on other threads and forums....

Goes to show the interest (and maybe envy) there is from one side .... to the other ..... be it ... as you may like to see it!!!!

I agree with FLYING PENCIL ..... as a MAC user ...... THERE´s HUGE POTENTIAL in a under developed market .... especially in the leisure and recreation sector.

13% of something is better than NONE AT ALL!

we NEED games!!!!!!!!! DON´T LET AN OPPORTUNITY GO BY!!!!

( Loved the quote about being surrounded....ROFL! ....must have been CUSTER who said that!!!!!..... lotta foresight .... that one!!!! )

Last edited by KoD DEAD ON!; 09-26-2011 at 12:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:25 AM
ATAG_Doc ATAG_Doc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A brothel in the Mekong Delta
Posts: 1,546
Default

Might consider virtual machine. Probably wont run well though unless you have a really killer machine.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:42 AM
swiss swiss is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Zürich, Swiss Confederation
Posts: 2,263
Default

Currently the most powerful Mac has a 6970Mobile card inside. Not enough for CloD, at least not for a flight nerd.
I also dont believe the devs will ever be capable to tweak that game to a point where you can run it with high settings on that card.
Maybe a 2014 Mac can handle it. (haha)


If a Sim nerd buys a mac as his only system, he may not be the smartest.
And what's with all the other peripherals, wouldn't they need mac drivers too?
Are they available - and if not, why would you think that is?
Why do Mac lovers love their machine? Do you think you can appeal them with a super complex game like Clod(or worse: A10).

Economically this makes as much sense as offering for sand traction optimized tires for a Ferrari - you may find a few customers out there but never enough to justify the investment.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-26-2011, 03:51 AM
AWL_Spinner AWL_Spinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Default

As the game is built around DirectX renderers, and not something like OpenGL which might conceivably be portable, I think such admirable dreams will remain just that, dreams.

Plus the hardware points are valid. I am Mac aficionado, I use one at home, but I also have a home-built PC as a gaming rig.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:23 AM
tintifaxl tintifaxl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 387
Default

No fun flying without TrackIR, a HOTAS and rudder pedals. No need for a port then unless we have these on MacOS. YMMV of course.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-26-2011, 07:58 AM
csThor csThor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: somewhere in Germany
Posts: 1,212
Default

The only other flight sim team I know of that tried (or still is trying) to support Mac and Win systems was Warbirds. And that double-system policy basically ground any development to a halt years ago.

I do agree that a MacOS version is economically not viable and would divert resources away from core development and bugfixing.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-26-2011, 08:00 AM
Vengeanze Vengeanze is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiss View Post
Currently the most powerful Mac has a 6970Mobile card inside. Not enough for CloD, at least not for a flight nerd.
I also dont believe the devs will ever be capable to tweak that game to a point where you can run it with high settings on that card.
Maybe a 2014 Mac can handle it. (haha)


If a Sim nerd buys a mac as his only system, he may not be the smartest.
And what's with all the other peripherals, wouldn't they need mac drivers too?
Are they available - and if not, why would you think that is?
Why do Mac lovers love their machine? Do you think you can appeal them with a super complex game like Clod(or worse: A10).
HEY!!! Wait just a minute.

I can run CloD on MAX SETTINGS with my iMac. But that's at 1920x1280. If I wanna run it at native 2560 then I have to go with medium/high mix.
Ok, I've overclocked the vidcard just a tad.

So with the i5/i7 and 6970M and bootcamp I can have both a beautiful computer AND my sims. Now ain't that smart!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-26-2011, 08:05 AM
addman's Avatar
addman addman is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vasa, Finland
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeanze View Post
HEY!!! Wait just a minute.

I can run CloD on MAX SETTINGS with my iMac. But that's at 1920x1280. If I wanna run it at native 2560 then I have to go with medium/high mix.
Ok, I've overclocked the vidcard just a tad.

So with the i5/i7 and 6970M and bootcamp I can have both a beautiful computer AND my sims. Now ain't that smart!!!!
Exactly! Bootcamp is where it's at.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.