1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Gameplay questions threads

Gameplay questions threads Everything about playing CoD (missions, tactics, how to... and etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:02 PM
Freycinet Freycinet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 696
Default How do start up from a cold start in realistic mode?

It seems we have a lot of aces in here, so I'd love if some would just tell me how to start up the planes, from the ground, cold.

I put mixture to rich, open throttle a bit, set prop pitch to fine, switch on the magnetos, and... nothing. Can't find any starter button. Tried with the Hurri, the Bf-109...

1C ought to have added an explanation to the sim, somewhere.

Any help much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:05 PM
scorpac scorpac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 115
Default

everything you did was right. when you got all settings press I to start the engine. when it begins to run you must play with the throttle to keep it running
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:16 PM
kashwashwa kashwashwa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpac View Post
everything you did was right. when you got all settings press I to start the engine. when it begins to run you must play with the throttle to keep it running
Yeah, I couldn't figure out how to click the motor starter either - I think you still have to press "I".

Also, don't you have to turn on the fuel?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:27 PM
Azimech's Avatar
Azimech Azimech is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Leerdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 428
Default

Don't forget battery switch and electric fuel pump switch, if present.
__________________
Insuber said: 1% of facts, 35% of passion, 19% of testosterone, 50% of intellectual speculation = Il2 fan cocktail is served, better with a drop of Tobasco ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2011, 05:12 PM
Freycinet Freycinet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 696
Default

Ok, I was a bit fast in my first posting...

I open the fuel cock.
I put mixture to rich
I choose fine prop pitch
I turn on the magnetos
I set the throttle to around 20%
I switch on the engine with "I"
...But then the engine just gives a little puff, the prop turns a few times and then nothing...

- Play the throttle? How?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2011, 05:31 PM
TeeJay82 TeeJay82 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Siljan, Norway
Posts: 233
Default

use Max pitch (highest Rpm) on engine startup

the lower your pitch is on startup, the more air the propeller has to move, the harder it is for the engine to turn..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2011, 09:06 PM
Blackdog_kt Blackdog_kt is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,711
Default

I guess some planes have more controls than others. Fuel supply, electric system, master switch, magnetos, etc, turn on the whole lot if it's present. Then crack the throttle a bit and go to full RPM prop pitch.

The important thing to remember is that apparently the game models the entire sequence/checklist apart from individual starter characteristics, which are triggered by the "I" key. That's a good compromise, since some aircraft had onboard starters while others depended on external sources (eg, the mechanics turning the intertia starter's flywheel with the crank as we see in many wartime videos).

Mind you i haven't finished installing it just yet, but that's what i managed to gather from the posts around here. Also, this is very interesting and it tells me they did model it the correct way, similar to what A2A does in their accusim add-ons for FSX:

Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpac View Post
everything you did was right. when you got all settings press I to start the engine. when it begins to run you must play with the throttle to keep it running
This is realistic, not every start attempt should be successful and engines will sputter and stall if not taken care of, at least until they are sufficiently warmed up.

There are two effects i'm curious about and would like to know if they are present.

a) Has anyone tried a start in really cold weather? It should be much more difficult to start the engine, at least when temperature effects are enabled in the realism options.

b) Damage from excessive torque, is it modeled? The easiest way to test this would be to go full throttle, pick up some speed and then adjust pitch to obtain the lowest RPM value possible (ie, full coarse pitch). In most cases like this something should probably break and/or the manifold pressure gauge should indicate a big rise, as the engine is trying to run full tilt but is held back by the prop turning too slow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.