1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey Famous title comes to consoles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:37 PM
Tudorp15 Tudorp15 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 189
Default

I went archade through the game first, and now going through realistic. I find realistic is fun, simply because it is more.. well.. realistic.. lol..

I am through allot of the single player now on realistic. I actually did some of it on realistic at first two on a few of the battles. I was having a hard time on archade, switched to realistic, and beat it the forst or second try. Cant figure that out, but I did that a handfull of times, then decided to go ahead and do the entire game on realistic off line..

I have a couple of you sim guys on my friends list, just hadn't seen ya on line when I was yet. I went into a couple sim matches, but one or two guys just used me as a target drone, lol.. Which is ok I guess, but I been doing some off line sim stuff trying to get better at spotting targets. That seems to be my weakness. I gone through the training and all in sim, and did "ok" I guess, but on line seems to be much more aggressive that I am not intimidated by, but seem to not be ready for quite yet, lol.. But, If I see you guys, I will jump in...



Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywinner View Post
ha, yeah people here seem friendly. i could def see people looking at arcade as the weakest link in the game. my idea was to beat through it on arcade and move up. i tried the realistic tutorial and even that was tough for me. especally the stalling, i couldnt seem to pull out of a spin. i would definitely like to eventually move up to Realistic. maaaaaaaaybe Sim, but i'll worry about that at another time lol.
so when you guys play can you generally get full rooms or what, the most ive ever had was 3-3 with a guy leaving like 30 seconds in.

i kind of wish they made it like CoD where you can just join on the fly.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:39 PM
House MD 221B House MD 221B is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 478
Default

I think the trick with sim is to just plow through it. I suck my first couple of games, but eventually I get into it and get my situaitonal awareness back and then start kicking it. I find it HELPS when people play AXIS on team A, and Allies on team B, so that you can look for plane shapes and not just colours.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:43 PM
Chips86 Chips86 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 153
Default

Yeah thats always a great help, i find with sim i just generally suck at it ninety percent of the time, but that awesome feeling of sending two or three pilots to the ground in a matter of a thirty seconds just totally surpasses the feeling of being awful at a video game...personally i just love being as immersed into a game as i can, and you dont get much more immersive than sim with the cockpit view..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:22 AM
Ancient Seraph Ancient Seraph is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dutchman in Spain
Posts: 788
Default

Finally, someone that wants to introduce himself does it in a proper way, instead of a 'I'm new to the forums' in a random thread.

Welcome to the forums . Adjusting your sensitivity helps a lot when you stall too much.

P.S. My way of introducing myself to the forums was just starting to post 15 posts a day in any thread (useful posts, mind you) .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:54 AM
dazz1971 dazz1971 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth
Posts: 455
Default

hi mate welcome feel free to add me on xbox live tag is same as forum

cant go wrong with house and his gang great bunch of guys and sim is the way to go
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-07-2009, 02:42 AM
jaywinner jaywinner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Default

i wouldnt say im AWEFUL with stalling. i understand the basics, cant pull in a differnt direction too fast because of loss of speed and drag. gotta maintain a fast speed, dont climb too fast etc. i am sure i will just need alot more practice as im still not so hot with Arcade, i could imagine what would happen on realistic. lol. as for spinning out. i get to push the rudders in the opposite direction of the spin, but what do you mean the ailerons?

i am on the flight stick. so, for instance, i am spinning clockwise. i would turn the rudders against it. essentally / <position of rudder.
as for the ailerone, i thought i was supposed to lay off of those? i tried alot of crap all ended the same way, with me in the big drink.
its a little strange when you are looking at the on screen commands and they are for the regular controler.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-07-2009, 12:12 PM
Ancient Seraph Ancient Seraph is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dutchman in Spain
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywinner View Post
i wouldnt say im AWEFUL with stalling. i understand the basics, cant pull in a differnt direction too fast because of loss of speed and drag. gotta maintain a fast speed, dont climb too fast etc. i am sure i will just need alot more practice as im still not so hot with Arcade, i could imagine what would happen on realistic. lol. as for spinning out. i get to push the rudders in the opposite direction of the spin, but what do you mean the ailerons?

i am on the flight stick. so, for instance, i am spinning clockwise. i would turn the rudders against it. essentally / <position of rudder.
as for the ailerone, i thought i was supposed to lay off of those? i tried alot of crap all ended the same way, with me in the big drink.
its a little strange when you are looking at the on screen commands and they are for the regular controler.
The game is very sensitive to stalling, especially with some planes. Here are some guidelines to what sensitivity to use for what plane, to reduce the stalling.
As for the spins, in RL you wouldn't touch the ailerons, true, but in-game it says to put rudder in opposite direction and ailerons in spin direction. Not sure why, but it works (in flightstick language: left spin = stick left, twist right, and vice versa). Kind of tricky with the joystick to do, but it's doable, and if not, you can just leave the stick centered and just twist, it should work as well.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-07-2009, 04:12 PM
jaywinner jaywinner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Default

wow, you guys change your sensitivity every time you change planes. is that as important on realistic? i wouldnt mind finding a sensitivity that would work generally decent on all planes, you guys are on a whole nother level lol. i am finally almost done with the 1 player. i just finished bastogne. that plane (P-51?) flys like a buick on a frozen pond. i couldnt control it even on arcade.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-07-2009, 04:42 PM
Ancient Seraph Ancient Seraph is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dutchman in Spain
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywinner View Post
wow, you guys change your sensitivity every time you change planes. is that as important on realistic? i wouldnt mind finding a sensitivity that would work generally decent on all planes, you guys are on a whole nother level lol. i am finally almost done with the 1 player. i just finished bastogne. that plane (P-51?) flys like a buick on a frozen pond. i couldnt control it even on arcade.
Yeah, lots of complaints about the P-51. It'll get fixed in the upcoming update.
And yes, we do change sensitivity for every plane, since it makes a big difference. The La-7 for example can handle just 2 notches down (form the far right), whereas for the Spit you need 6 notches. If you'd fly with 6 notches down with the La-7, it'd turn like a brick.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-07-2009, 05:00 PM
jaywinner jaywinner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Default

wow, is that as pronounced on Realistic as it is on Sim? i think what i might do when i graduate to realistic is find one or 2 planes i like and just work on those for a little bit. then maybe move on to others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.