1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Men of War > Technical issues

Technical issues Technical problems and solutions

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2012, 03:40 AM
Gaerman With a Kar98k Gaerman With a Kar98k is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Default Number expected! (esdlreader .cpp, 259)


I just patched my Men of war Assault squad copy to ver. 1.98.8 and I get this error when I try to start the game (note the GEM editor works fine)

I've tried all the dumb stuff.. (rebooting, deleting the "options.set" file), that the error message is pointing to...

any suggestions?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Error!.jpg (74.7 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by Gaerman With a Kar98k; 01-31-2012 at 03:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:04 PM
oberon900 oberon900 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2

did you get it working?
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:14 PM
Jaybee Jaybee is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4

I'd like to know how to get this damn thing to work too. For mine, the clip distance was set to 0.8. I don't understand these bloody variables, but it seems that I've got to change them somehow. How, exactly, I haven't the slightest clue.

In my order of operations, I'm going to test this little option settings menu by deleting the 20-24 variables, and see where that takes me.

If it doesn't work, I'll dig into the vietnam or original men of war file to figure something out. Maybe patch 2.00 will fix it. Wish me luck.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________

"Quick, wasn't it?" (commandos 2 reference. Props?)

It worked perfectly. I simply went into the *options.SET* file and opened with *Notepad*

I scrolled until I found the following:
{clip_distance 0.8}
{gamma 1}
{brightness 1}
{contrast 1}

I highlighted them, and deleted them.

When I re-opened Assault Squad, it worked perfectly. Didn't get any number exception. 'Easy as pie.'

Just do the same thing and it should work for you.

Last edited by Jaybee; 06-12-2012 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 05:43 AM
KnightFandragon KnightFandragon is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: KRL HQ, Ontario Canada
Posts: 740

Lol, you didnt try putting a number in there did you? I mean, the <<< pointing at the bloom...so follow suit, put lik 0.5 there and load the game up....
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:06 PM
pkedu pkedu is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Default Men Of War Assault Squad Exception problem!

i have that same problem it says PLEASE HELP!!!!

Number expected(esdlreader.cpp,259)

20: {bloom}<<
21: {clip_distance 1}
22: {gamma 1}
23: {brightness 1}
24: {contrast 1}
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:51 AM
djsatane djsatane is offline
Approved Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 282

In that picture your version still was showing 1.81 and not 1.9x..... bad patching could be causing problem, oh and latest version of the patch is 2.5.15

Skirmishes/Missions by DJSatane
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:51 PM
pkedu pkedu is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Default Men Of War Assault Squad Exception problem!

Ok so at start up it asks me for a serial number and i don't have one, what do i do?

Last edited by pkedu; 06-05-2013 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.