1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Gameplay questions threads

Gameplay questions threads Everything about playing CoD (missions, tactics, how to... and etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-19-2012, 01:46 PM
notimejeff notimejeff is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cardiff, Wales (Europe)
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks Robo, very helpful post. I have done flight planning with FSX, using a modern aeronautical map of southern England with ruler, protractor, old-fashioned wizz wheel flight computer. I then compared results by planning the same flights again with a computerized flight planner. Very instructive exercise.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-19-2012, 01:55 PM
Sokol1's Avatar
Sokol1 Sokol1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo. View Post
Mind you that has been taken from my Tiger Moth flight as the compass is not hidden inconveniently behind your control stick like in a Spitfire or Hurricane. Mind you the visibility of the instrument was much much better in real life than it is in game.
Using JoyToKey is more easy check compass in Spit/Hurri than in real life (well I dont try this).



Just look down, press a key for "Hold to offset POV or something"... + POV HAT left.

Sokol1

Last edited by Sokol1; 11-19-2012 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:27 PM
Robo.'s Avatar
Robo. Robo. is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sokol1 View Post
Using JoyToKey is more easy check compass in Spit/Hurri than in real life (well I dont try this).

Just look down, press a key for "Hold to offset POV or something"... + POV HAT left.

Sokol1
That is not a problem, I have TrackIR and can lean around the control coulmn alright - I ment more the fact that in a real Spitfire (or Hurricane) the compass was slightly offset to the left and more or less in the line of sight when flying normally, see here:

http://www.shockwaveproductions.com/...5541&view=next
__________________
Bobika.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:35 PM
Robo.'s Avatar
Robo. Robo. is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by notimejeff View Post
I have done flight planning with FSX, using a modern aeronautical map of southern England with ruler, protractor, old-fashioned wizz wheel flight computer. I then compared results by planning the same flights again with a computerized flight planner. Very instructive exercise.
That's the way to do it, Sir! Nice one. Thanks for your comment, I didn't realise I made a mistake in there.
__________________
Bobika.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:46 PM
VO101_Tom's Avatar
VO101_Tom VO101_Tom is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo. View Post
In other words, if you fly straight North as shown on your compass you are actually flying 350° geographic.
Hi. The magnetic declination is 10° West (or -10° with other words). The compass show -10° compared to map direction.
So, if you fly to 360° compass direction, you fly to 10° on the map. Not 350°!
__________________
| AFBs of CloD 2[/URL] |www.pumaszallas.hu

i7 7700K 4.8GHz, 32GB Ram 3GHz, MSI GTX 1070 8GB, 27' 1920x1080, W10/64, TrackIR 4Pro, G940
Cliffs of Dover Bugtracker site: share and vote issues here
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-19-2012, 04:14 PM
Robo.'s Avatar
Robo. Robo. is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VO101_Tom View Post
Hi. The magnetic declination is 10° West (or -10° with other words). The compass show -10° compared to map direction.
So, if you fly to 360° compass direction, you fly to 10° on the map. Not 350°!
Yes, that's what I thought, see post 7. Then I thought I made a mistake when reading jeffs post and 'fixed' it on the mission description without thinking too much (just woke up ) I thought he was saying same thing like me and I did wrong math somehow as I actually added 10 in one leg of my original post. Will edit it back and fix it to avoid confusion, cheers Tom.
__________________
Bobika.

Last edited by Robo.; 11-19-2012 at 04:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-19-2012, 05:21 PM
VO101_Tom's Avatar
VO101_Tom VO101_Tom is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo. View Post
Yes, that's what I thought, see post 7. Then I thought I made a mistake when reading jeffs post and 'fixed' it on the mission description without thinking too much (just woke up ) I thought he was saying same thing like me and I did wrong math somehow as I actually added 10 in one leg of my original post. Will edit it back and fix it to avoid confusion, cheers Tom.
Ok
__________________
| AFBs of CloD 2[/URL] |www.pumaszallas.hu

i7 7700K 4.8GHz, 32GB Ram 3GHz, MSI GTX 1070 8GB, 27' 1920x1080, W10/64, TrackIR 4Pro, G940
Cliffs of Dover Bugtracker site: share and vote issues here
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-19-2012, 10:31 PM
MB_Avro_UK MB_Avro_UK is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, England (Not European!).
Posts: 749
Default

What about wind direction and speed? 'Still air' navigation is easy.

But wind is not a navigational factor in the game.

Wind Finding anyone?

If a wind takes you one degree off track, after 60 miles you'll miss your target by one mile. After 60 kms you'll miss your target by one km.

Best Regards,
MB_Avro.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:06 AM
Robo.'s Avatar
Robo. Robo. is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MB_Avro_UK View Post
What about wind direction and speed? 'Still air' navigation is easy.

But wind is not a navigational factor in the game.

Wind Finding anyone?

If a wind takes you one degree off track, after 60 miles you'll miss your target by one mile. After 60 kms you'll miss your target by one km.

Best Regards,
MB_Avro.
Well the mission above is something for beginners, I mention that the wind is off to make things easier. I remember IvanK did some testing on speed and fuel consumption (iirc) and flew between Cap Grez Nes and Dungerness and he found there is some ambient wind on the Channel Map but I forgot what it was. It is possible to add some insanely strong wind in the mission, like in the default 'Cross Country' one. It is very interesting but I think that most players will be happy to set their compass and know what their HDG is at normal circumstances (= flying on ATAG)
__________________
Bobika.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-20-2012, 07:58 PM
raaaid raaaid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,329
Default

i think bomber navigator should be able to use sextants with the sun and solve full problems with nautic almanachs of the time, it could be interesting for those who want to get into sailing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.