1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik > Daidalos Team discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2017, 04:51 AM
sturmovikfan101 sturmovikfan101 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Default conf highest setting?

is this the highest setting on open gl besides the water?

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

TypeClouds=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=1
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

[DGen]
HistoricalRanks=1
CampaignLength=VeryLong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2017, 10:09 AM
sniperton sniperton is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 253
Default

See post #5 here:

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=9756.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2017, 03:44 PM
Tolwyn Tolwyn is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 201
Default

Change your conf.ini where indicated below in bolded red. I assume you have an nvidia chipset. Post 5 above is incorrect. You want polygon stipple turned off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sturmovikfan101 View Post
is this the highest setting on open gl besides the water?

Check under [window] section and be sure:

[window]
ColourBits=32
StencilBits=8
DepthBits=24



[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

TypeClouds=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=1
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Last edited by Tolwyn; 08-25-2017 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2017, 05:19 PM
Storebror's Avatar
Storebror Storebror is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolwyn View Post
Post 5 above is incorrect. You want polygon stipple turned off.
Post 5 is correct, yours is incorrect.
Post 5 clearly states that
Code:
[window]
StencilBits=8
should be set.
Polygon stippling only applies when there is no stencil buffer, so this setting is just a fallback solution for those who have a graphics card or driver which, for whatever reason, does not allow stencil buffering.
With all settings from Post 5 applied and active, stencil buffering is enabled and therefore polygon stippling is (internally) deactivated regardless the conf.ini setting.

This was exactly the intention of the conf.ini settings shown in Post 5 and Post 5 absolutely, 100% correct and demonstrates the highest possible OpenGL settings for both Nvidia and ATI cards.

Best regards - Mike
__________________
'Armor' is a fantasy invented by your C.O. to make you feel better.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2017, 10:54 PM
Music Music is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 51
Default

I notice the last two lines are the default setting when loading game. I have been using Crix's config for a decade, his is for best frame rates, and his last two lines are
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

In <u>Post 5</u> link, yours are
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0
which I think are the default settings when I load "custom card" on a fresh install.

I probably won't understand the answer, but it would be interesting to know what the difference is. How much we can manipulate this, if there is any advantage visually or in FPS.

Last edited by Music; 11-16-2017 at 03:53 AM. Reason: Post 5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2017, 01:51 PM
shelby shelby is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 263
Default

why some options in the render gl section are different for the ati and the nvdia cards?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2017, 08:40 PM
Tolwyn Tolwyn is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 201
Default

They are different chipsets that handle the OpenGL implementation differently. Kinda like... AT&T vs. Verizon in how Cellular is handled (maybe a bad example).



Quote:
Originally Posted by shelby View Post
why some options in the render gl section are different for the ati and the nvdia cards?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 07:23 PM
GF_Mastiff's Avatar
GF_Mastiff GF_Mastiff is offline
71st_Mastiff
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: EL Centro
Posts: 885
Default

I don't know what they changed, nut I used to be able to see across the channel and see the other airfields out at least 50k, now there seems to be a visibility bubble. where I can't even see the building past 10k.
__________________
71st Eagle Squadron
www.anon6.com - Blogger on DCS Series
71st Mastiff's You-Tube
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater come back "
Asus||i7x5930k||16gb3200||GTX10808gb||ATX1200Corsa ir||CBTitanium7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr4Pro/ir||gladiator pro mkII||siatekpedals||X52Throttle||G15Keyboard/RazerMouse||
32"LCD||2x7" lilliputs,1x9inc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.