1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Vehicle and Terrain threads

Vehicle and Terrain threads Discussions about environment and vehicles in CoD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-20-2011, 07:18 PM
Seeker Seeker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seacondor View Post
I'm suprised the first destroyer type ship is a German ship.
I would have thought it was more important that a British ship like a J or K class would have been more needed to escort the channel conveys.
I wonder if this has something to do with the next area of this sim rather than the current one.
However that said I like the model. Made several of these myself for CFS3.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-21-2011, 12:32 AM
speculum jockey
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The guy who made this ship model might not be the same guys who does aircraft models. I'm also pretty sure he doesn't do SLI/XFire support or work on the AI commands or online stability.

They have different people who have different jobs. This guy just finished a new ship that will be released in the game. Stop complaining and tell me if those mines explode when strafed!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-21-2011, 12:42 AM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speculum jockey View Post
The guy who made this ship model might not be the same guys who does aircraft models. I'm also pretty sure he doesn't do SLI/XFire support or work on the AI commands or online stability.

They have different people who have different jobs. This guy just finished a new ship that will be released in the game. Stop complaining and tell me if those mines explode when strafed!
+1

Also, if people complain too much the developer will be stuck fixing the model and not be free to move on to a new model.


Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:01 AM
Al Schlageter Al Schlageter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 657
Default

So the developer has thrown out their 100% perfection when it comes to modeling?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:47 AM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Schlageter View Post
So the developer has thrown out their 100% perfection when it comes to modeling?
You show me where any of the development team said they were going to be 100% perfect in anything.

Even the Mona Lisa has visible brush strokes. It doesn't make it any less a masterpiece.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:23 PM
skouras skouras is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Greece-Athens
Posts: 1,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speculum jockey View Post
The guy who made this ship model might not be the same guys who does aircraft models. I'm also pretty sure he doesn't do SLI/XFire support or work on the AI commands or online stability.

They have different people who have different jobs. This guy just finished a new ship that will be released in the game. Stop complaining and tell me if those mines explode when strafed!
second to that
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-21-2012, 11:12 PM
seacondor seacondor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

It is sad that they haven't given us any more ships. The first phase of the battle was all about the channel. How hard is it to make a couple of British destroyers and a few tramp coastal ships. It is not like you are making Schanhorst, now that is time consumning. Destroyers don't take that much time when you work on them full time. Especially when you already have all the animation done on the existing German minesweeper.The tramp steamer would only take a few days. Also tramp steamers can be used in the Russian front addon. They could have easily contracted them out if they didn't have the in house modelers free to do it.
I wouldn't have minded if they had given us a modeling SDK so we could add our own. Once again it looks like another promise not being kept.
I hope I'm wrong on that and we wil get a SDK.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-22-2012, 03:21 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Wasn't their a questions and answers thing just before christmas where Luthier said something like - "you all complained so much we were stuck fixing those things and didnt have time to do any new models..."?

Something like that...

EDIT 1:

Found it:

Quote:
"Only new modifications of existing planes – of which there are very few left. Completely new aircraft or flyable versions of currently non-flyable planes are not planned for CoD.
New ground or other objects will not happen due to the fact that our previous attempts to add them were met with a universal “we don’t need this crap, why don’t you give us xyz instead” from the community. The ground modeling staff and myself have subsequently made the fully switch that department to the sequel." - Luthier
So basically, if a load of winge bags had been a little quiter, we might have got some...

Last edited by 5./JG27.Farber; 01-22-2012 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-22-2012, 03:36 PM
JG53Frankyboy JG53Frankyboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5./JG27.Farber View Post
......................



So basically, if a load of winge bags had been a little quiter, we might have got some...
yes, sure
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-22-2012, 10:34 PM
seacondor seacondor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

That is an excuse by the developer. Funny they have the time and resources to work on the next phase even when they hadn't completed the current sim. Putting out a BOB sim with only a tanker and a German ship is not right. This is a major phase of the battle which looks so bad it makes the sim look incomplete. (Which it is). Surely they are doing a few more merchant ships for the next phase which they could give us now. As I said before these small ships don't take that much time to make. I know as I have modeled many ships myself in the past. It is the Battleships and cruisers that take the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.