1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #511  
Old 05-12-2012, 09:37 AM
335th_GRAthos 335th_GRAthos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldschool61 View Post
One minute 25-40+ fps then a couple planes enter the area and drop to 8-14 fps. This is much worse over ground at under 1K but becomes unplayable while others are close by.
Oldschool61 you need to append your signature with the details of your PC in order to help us identify the differences easier.

It could well be that you do not have a SSD drive and the delay is cause due to loading the new graphics when the new planes and/or ground details enter the vicinity.
This is combination of HDD and GPU VRAM.

Just an assumption...

~S~
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 05-12-2012, 10:19 AM
Lurker_71 Lurker_71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adonys View Post
Each player's FM routines are computed on his own computer, and only the flight path data is transmitted to the server, which then broadcasts it to the other connected players.

What you experience is most probably because of the flight path interpolation routines, combined with the networking ones. I haven't tested the alpha/beta/gamma patch yet, but if this is the case, it is very bad. it means the renderer is waiting for the all the networking info of a game tick to arrive first, and only then renders the current frame, and that there are no flight interpolation/prediction routines to provide the renderer with predicted positions of player objects, in order to allot the render an "approximate" frame without having to wait for the other nearby player's network updates.

To check if this is really the case, the FPS must vary with your network latency, and also with other nearby-player's network latency too (the worst one of the rendered players would establish the pace).

Also, it can be caused by nearby player-only rendered effects (for example, the engine exhausts, as it was the case in the months after the release).

To check if this is the case, drop down your effects settings in the game, and watch the online with nearby-players FPS.
Thank you for the input and clarifications.

One question: How are AI controlled ac handled online? Does the server transmit their flight paths to clients, just like human players, or are all AI computations handled client-side? I'm asking this because I do not have the slow-down issue with AI aircraft online, say like when attacking AI bomber formations. I have the slow-down issue only with human players, which leads me to think player-only effects may be the true culprit. I'll test and see.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 05-12-2012, 10:35 AM
adonys adonys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurker_71 View Post
One question: How are AI controlled ac handled online? Does the server transmit their flight paths to clients, just like human players, or are all AI computations handled client-side? I'm asking this because I do not have the slow-down issue with AI aircraft online, say like when attacking AI bomber formations. I have the slow-down issue only with human players, which leads me to think player-only effects may be the true culprit. I'll test and see.
I don't know, it depends on the architecture they've decided to use. But it's either the server doing all the computations for the AI, and then broadcasting AI flights path data to the connected machines, either a distributed computing, in which each connected machine is receives a few AI's to take care of, does the computations for them, then sends their flight path data to the server, which in turn boardcasts them again for all the machines to receive.

Most probably, they haven't bothered with a distributed computing approach, as iti is more complicated, and not really necessary (unless you want a server to can handle hundreds or even thousands of AIs).
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 05-12-2012, 10:44 AM
Rowddy Rowddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David198502 View Post
my game runs worse with every launch of the game...i get continually launchercrashes(even offline now), and stutters and freezes seem to get worse with every gamestart....
its really funny that you are "glad" that after more than a year we still have launcher crashes...
maybe it's ypur PC i have not had a CTD in ages before and after the patch. But i do NOT fly online, only offline.
Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 05-12-2012, 11:51 AM
David198502's Avatar
David198502 David198502 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowddy View Post
maybe it's ypur PC i have not had a CTD in ages before and after the patch. But i do NOT fly online, only offline.


well, in this state of the game, i really doubt that is my pc.look at this forum, im not an exception.
besides, i did not have crashes when playing offline without this so called patch.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 05-12-2012, 12:50 PM
banned banned is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 273
Default Saturday Update?

I may be wrong, but wasn't Blacksix going to provide an update before Saturday. I thought I read that somewhere.
Was there one?
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 05-24-2012, 06:44 PM
jf1981 jf1981 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335th_GRAthos View Post
Oldschool61 you need to append your signature with the details of your PC in order to help us identify the differences easier.

It could well be that you do not have a SSD drive and the delay is cause due to loading the new graphics when the new planes and/or ground details enter the vicinity.
This is combination of HDD and GPU VRAM.

Just an assumption...

~S~
I'm having the exact same issue, it's dropping from times to times from 40 to ~3 fps then back again, but when in a dogfight, it's just saying low.
... despite the fact I have a GTX 560 with 1 Gb of VRAM a Phenom X4 with 6 Gb of RAM, a fast hard drive, Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 05-25-2012, 12:37 AM
PoorMansSniper PoorMansSniper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default

My copy of IL-2 COD just came in the mail today, should I apply the beta patch or no? Note: I haven't played the game yet, just so if I should have the patch installed I wouldn't get used to the fixed bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 05-27-2012, 01:54 PM
Schneeweiss Schneeweiss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default game diidnt start

hi,

i have installed the alpha patch and the core.dll, first i delete the chache file.

My Problem is, that the game try to start and then happens nothing. Under the task manager i can see that the prozess is running but then it dissappeard

i have tried eventhing, as adminastrator, no firewall etc. but it didnt run.

any idea ?


my system

2 4890 crossfire ati
Win 7 64 bit
4X3200mhz
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 05-27-2012, 04:29 PM
Thee_oddball Thee_oddball is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 812
Default

After a windows reinstall and a fresh install of the game I was greeted with a mesage when trying to load a single mession that went some thing like "cant find mesh ()"

Attempted to join server....screeen just went black and i would hit ESC to get back to brief

uninstalled game deleted all folders and reinstalled and ws able to play a single player mission applied hotfix and was greeted with a C++ runtime error when ever i tried to play single player or trak restored original core.dll adn was greeted with the mesh error again , game shows version 1.06?????

luth,black any thoughts?
__________________
Gigabyte Z68
Intel 2500K (@4.3 ghz)212 CM Cooler
8GB Ram
EVGA 660SC (super clocked) 2GB Vram
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
64 GB SSD SATA II HD
WIN7 UL 64BIT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.