1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik > Daidalos Team discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2012, 05:57 PM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default 4.11 Stationery Plane Spawning (Dogfight)

Hi TD,

on BF1 we have encountered the following problem.

If a static plane that is set as a spawn plane gets destroyed its wreck will remain on the spawn position, which results in new players spawning on top of it and being destroyed in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2012, 06:55 PM
EJGr.Ost_Caspar EJGr.Ost_Caspar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 939
Default

Thats strange. It must be something in the settings, as it is well possible, that damaged static planes get deleted/despawn, when the same static plane spawns again at the same place. I just tried it in FMB. Or was it static plane, that was destroyed on the position of a second static plane?

Can you pls post the mission?
__________________

----------------------------------------------
For bugreports, help and support contact:
daidalos.team@googlemail.com

For modelers - The IL-2 standard modeling specifications:
IL-Modeling Bible
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2012, 03:44 AM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJGr.Ost_Caspar View Post
Thats strange. It must be something in the settings, as it is well possible, that damaged static planes get deleted/despawn, when the same static plane spawns again at the same place. I just tried it in FMB. Or was it static plane, that was destroyed on the position of a second static plane?

Can you pls post the mission?
Well, I did not encounter the problem personally, but the test team on the server did. In my offline testing it worked just fine. Though one has to keep in mind, and that should also be noted down in the guide, that if all player placed static planes get destroyed that the regular airfield spawn points will be used and therefor should be free of any other static object.

This is also true if, like me, one has build an auxillary airfield with freely placed static planes for spawning and the test runway just being invisible and not used for spawning that that will end up being used if all static planes have been destroyed as well.

Perhaps you guys could find a work around that would prevent that and rather allow for the static spawn planes being reused rather than the spawn points?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2012, 05:52 AM
EJGr.Ost_Caspar EJGr.Ost_Caspar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorin View Post
Though one has to keep in mind, and that should also be noted down in the guide, that if all player placed static planes get destroyed that the regular airfield spawn points will be used and therefor should be free of any other static object.
Well, in fact I think, this is much obviously. The game gives to the players those planes first, that are nearest to runway/taxyway (this has always been this way) and - if static spawn is allowed - then statics before airfield spawnpoints, which are now to be made visible in FMB.

Quote:
This is also true if, like me, one has build an auxillary airfield with freely placed static planes for spawning and the test runway just being invisible and not used for spawning that that will end up being used if all static planes have been destroyed as well.
You can disable general spawning from an airfield and only leave static spawning available (FMB). Is it that what you mean?

Quote:
Perhaps you guys could find a work around that would prevent that and rather allow for the static spawn planes being reused rather than the spawn points?
This is possible already, as long as you don't count damaged static planes are 'removed' from available planes. Check homebase AND individual static plane settings!
__________________

----------------------------------------------
For bugreports, help and support contact:
daidalos.team@googlemail.com

For modelers - The IL-2 standard modeling specifications:
IL-Modeling Bible
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2012, 07:10 AM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJGr.Ost_Caspar View Post
Well, in fact I think, this is much obviously. The game gives to the players those planes first, that are nearest to runway/taxyway (this has always been this way) and - if static spawn is allowed - then statics before airfield spawnpoints, which are now to be made visible in FMB.

You can disable general spawning from an airfield and only leave static spawning available (FMB). Is it that what you mean?

This is possible already, as long as you don't count damaged static planes are 'removed' from available planes. Check homebase AND individual static plane settings!
Ok, so if I tick the box that says "always replace" for a static plane the result will be that if it gets destroyed, in the air or on the ground, a replacement will be created in its place and placed in the orginial position as defined by me? Therefor the hardcoded airfield spawn points will never be used, correct?

Edit: Apparently not. I just ended up on the testrunway spawn after all static planes had been destroyed.

This is definitely not as straight forward as I had hoped.

Last edited by Zorin; 01-19-2012 at 07:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2012, 10:29 AM
EJGr.Ost_Caspar EJGr.Ost_Caspar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 939
Default

I see the problem now myself. I will forward it to the programmers and see, if I miss something.
__________________

----------------------------------------------
For bugreports, help and support contact:
daidalos.team@googlemail.com

For modelers - The IL-2 standard modeling specifications:
IL-Modeling Bible
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2012, 10:39 AM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJGr.Ost_Caspar View Post
I see the problem now myself. I will forward it to the programmers and see, if I miss something.
Thanks for that
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2012, 04:04 PM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJGr.Ost_Caspar View Post
I see the problem now myself. I will forward it to the programmers and see, if I miss something.
There are also cases when the static plane is shown as destroyed, but will not disappear when a player spawns on its position, which leads to instant explosion due to a collision of wreck and spawning plane.

Last edited by Zorin; 01-19-2012 at 08:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-19-2012, 08:07 PM
JtD JtD is offline
Il-2 enthusiast & Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 903
Default

Spawn points created with the stationary plane have priority over standard base spawn points, but do not replace them. If you have a base with 20 standard spawn points and add 4 stationary P-51B for stationary plane spawning, the base can support 20 planes of whatever type plus 4 P-51B.

If a stationary plane gets destroyed while it is a stationary plane, it gets destroyed and the spawn point with it.
If a stationary plane gets destroyed while it is being used, the stationary plane will be restored, and the spawn point will still be there.
Standard base spawn points are not effected at all.

That's how I think it is supposed to work and how I checked it is working.

How do you get AI into a stationary plane on a DF server? If things were as I think they are, would your problems still exist? Do you have the mission and a track showing the problem?

Edit: I think I've replied in the proper topic on B-F's, hope it helps.

Last edited by JtD; 01-19-2012 at 08:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-19-2012, 08:50 PM
Zorin Zorin is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JtD View Post
Spawn points created with the stationary plane have priority over standard base spawn points, but do not replace them. If you have a base with 20 standard spawn points and add 4 stationary P-51B for stationary plane spawning, the base can support 20 planes of whatever type plus 4 P-51B.

If a stationary plane gets destroyed while it is a stationary plane, it gets destroyed and the spawn point with it.
If a stationary plane gets destroyed while it is being used, the stationary plane will be restored, and the spawn point will still be there.
Standard base spawn points are not effected at all.

That's how I think it is supposed to work and how I checked it is working.

How do you get AI into a stationary plane on a DF server? If things were as I think they are, would your problems still exist? Do you have the mission and a track showing the problem?

Edit: I think I've replied in the proper topic on B-F's, hope it helps.
But what does the option for the static plane "always replace" do then??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.